We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not a complainer, don't listen to the complainers!”
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Park
Ranked #130 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is now a timeshare property, but you can also book as a hotel. Maybe because I used timeshare points, and I don't feel like I'm spending tons for the suite I liked it more. We had the 2 bedroom w/ the balcony off the master. Beds were comfortable. Our view was over the parking lot, but I could see water one way, and the park the other way. Living room is HUGE, kitchen is stocked (coffee for 1st morning provided). I could live here. You can walk to all the museums in Balboa park. Joggers paradise! 7-11, Mexican Café w/ happy hour across the street. Yes, occasionally I'd hear a car or truck, ummmmm you're right in the city area. What do you expect? We had a rent a car, so we took in a Padre game, ate in Gaslamp, ate in Hillcrest area (right down the street). We were also able to navigate Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, and took a ferry to Coronado. SD has a great trolley/metro service and the service of the concierge was exceptional. They don't pressure you for the timeshare presentation, but we did it, it's worth the gift! They are currently working on the restaurant, gym etc. It should be done soon. We used valet bc it's convenient, but you can look for parking on the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for your great review of Inn at the Park regarding your most recent visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our 2 bedroom suite with a balcony and enjoyed the amenties that come along with the suite. From the sounds of your review you were able to really enjoy what sunny San Diego has to offer. I will be sure to pass your comments to the entire team. Thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 558 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which gave us lots of space. The room was very nicely furnished and very comfortable. It had a small kitchen which for a family was great. Breakfast is served for a fee on the top floor. Nice views, basic, but pleasant food. The area around the hotel is reasonable and as we had a car, getting around wasn't a problem. It was nice being so close to Balboa Park and a good playground for the kids. This is an older hotel, so creaky floors abound, the hallways are a little dark and there is one small, pretty slow lift. It does have a certain charm though and this I found appealing. It seems to cater for a wide variety of people, which adds to its character. I must compliment Jeff for his help in organising the reservation. He was so efficient, helpful and pleasant to deal with. We would probably try a hotel closer to the centre next time, but for clean, quirky, good priced accommodation, I would recommend Inn at the Park.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you Justine for the kind words. I will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed one of our spacious 2 bedroom suites for you and your family and good to hear you were able to enjoy Balboa Park with your kids at the playground. It was truly my pleasure in assisting you with your reservations. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Have stayed there before, and really love this place. It has changed over to a time-share, so be aware of that (hopefully they will get a partner to manage the restaurant and open it again). I liked it better before as just a typical hotel. Nonetheless, got an amazing room for a fair price. Excellent location for visiting Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park and Gaslamp District. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a lovel two bedroom suite on the fourth floor with a view of the park and a small balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponyboy_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Ponyboy_chicago

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal guest of Inn at the Park. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will be sharing your comments with the entire team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your 2 bedroom suite. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Put room was spacious, functional, and very comfortable. The kitchen has everything but an oven and ice maker. The king bed was on the firm side. I loved the fact that the windows could be opened since the weather is so nice, however they are the old style and and let lots of road noise in even though we were on the 5th floor. We loved walking in Balboa Park every morning.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kfl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Kfl51:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to Inn at the Park. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased to read you enjoyed the spacious room and it was comfortable for you. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy Balboa Park which is adjacant to the hotel. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Inn at The Park is in the process of changing over to Time Shares. There is no longer a restaurant and no longer Continental Breakfast on the top floor veranda. Housekeeping says all they will do is empty the trash and afford new towels on an extended stay. Too bad. Was a great place to stay in SanDiego...now have got to find another.....

Room Tip: rooms at another hotel seems to be the way to go.....
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HWWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable with fully functional kitchens perfect for and extended stay. Our room was clean and recently updated. The location is great if you want to go to the zoo, not exactly walking distance to the zoo if you have small children but a short drive around the corner gets you there. There is a playground across the the street that also helps to entertain and street parking is ample.

The few drawbacks are since it is a old hotel there are only stairs in the front which make it hard to load/unload but a ramp is located in the rear. The hallway carpets could use a little cleaning but the carpets in my room looked a lot newer. The hotel is located very close to the airport so if you are not used to city noise the constant train of airplanes combined with old windows gets a little noisy. The neighbor is full of a lot of small shops and places to eat within walking distance. We would stay here again and you get a great room for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location. across the street from Balboa Park. Short driving distance from other attractions.
Organic grocery about 0,7 miles away. Nice neighborhood.
NY style brick building from the outside, nice look.
Beautiful decor Inside the lobby and also in the rooms, kinda Art Deco mixed with Baroque, lovely.
Warm and welcoming staff, friendly and helpful also, from check-in through check-out.
Very very nice rooms, decorated with taste, comfy, quiet and clean.
The rooms have full kitchens, well equiped. Special mention to the kitchen which is fully equiped compared to all other hotel kitchens we have seen so far from our many trips.
Valet parking is 15$/24 hrs, in & out included. The great thing is that there is also parking available on the streets nearby (free).
We really loved our stay at the Inn at the Park and will be coming back for sure.
I would rate this hotel more than 5 stars if I could.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and rent the 1 bedroom suite with balcony... but make sure to have the suites fro...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Address: 525 Spruce St, San Diego, CA 92103-5814 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $159 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing