We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great property, but weird timeshare sales component”
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Park
Ranked #119 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great property, but weird timeshare sales component”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the tail end of a business trip. We loved the Hillcrest location and the large, stylish suite (complete with separate living room and separate kitchen). Only minus is that after checking in we were sent to the concierge who was actually a time share salesperson. He told us that the hotel was closing as a hotel and would only be time shares. And asked us if we wanted to attend a sales presentation. Seriously? Weirdly, the front desk staff seemed to have different information about the situation. Would probably stay again but definitely an odd and unprofessional experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris711SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. For your next visit, you can expect a one of a kind brand of guest service that keeps Inn at the Park at the forefront of hospitality. Repeat guests like yourself offer the advantage of an informed personal preference. For your next visit, it would be my pleasure to re-format your registration process, as we would have all guests look forward to their arrival date if we could. Thank you for choosing Inn at the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    227
    66
    23
    34
See reviews for
149
204
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful first floor suite but above us on Wednesday night a unbelievably loud party started about 11 pm, yelling, roaring music, stomping, and heaven knows what else. At our first call we were told it was being handled. The next call we made we were told it was taken care of. That was a lie because our ceiling fixtures were rattling while I was speaking to the manager. Finally we heard banging on their door and loud voices, and then banging down the stairs. It got loud again and management called the police. My cousin went to the lobby when the police were there. Finally things settled down and we we're told they women were kicked out. Another lie. We saw five of the women at breakfast on Thursday. I am incredibly disappointed that the Inn at the Park would allow out of control, drunk women to cause a 3 hour nightmare for at least half the guests. We have stayed here before, and my cousins many times, but the way the night crew handled this situation was inexcusable. What is so hard about telling someone to be quiet or leave? It seems they were not concerned at ALL about the other paying guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank rosemary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. For your next visit, It would be my pleasure to personally arrange for nothing less than ideal overnight accommodations. When guests prove cumbersome to the experience of others, the IAP team works ceaselessly until such inconveniences are forgotten. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent five week-days in San Diego on vacation and a friend of ours recommended this hotel. We drove to San Diego from the north and the hotel was very easy to reach. The location is very good: in the neighborhood there are several restaurants and bars, Balboa Park and the Hillcrest area are in walking distance. There is a bus connection to downtown just around the corner. The room was more like a small suite - very spacious and with a separate kitchen - and very clean. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby but we could get connected also in our room. The breakfast was good considering that it was included in the room rate and consisted of bagels, English muffins, some fresh fruit, yogurt, hot and cold beverages... On top of that, you can order other dishes like pancakes, eggs, French toast, … but you have to pay for them. The breakfast restaurant is on the top of the building and the view is really nice. The staff was kind and helpful. The room rate was fair. Definitely a hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caius_Iulius_Caesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting San Diego. Recommendations like yours are what keep the roster of IAP ‘Regulars’ growing. It is a special pleasure to have one successful visit lead to a family of repeat guests. Thanks again for your recommendations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently stayed here for four nights in a 2 bedroom suite located on the first floor with views of Balboa park. The room was spacious,clean, and decorated beautifully. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. Check in was a breeze and the room was ready upon arrival. The concierge Richard was fabulous at recommending great paces to eat and things to do to save us time and money. Inn at the park is only a short walk to lots of great places to eat and Balboa park is amazing. The complimentary breakfast was good and we enjoyed spending every morning eating on the rooftop with views of the bay. Valet parking was quick and convenient. Though we did find parking on the street a few nights. Only suggestion would be that they needed to have more mirrors outside of the bathroom. It would have been nice to have the small tabletop mirror in both bedrooms. Overall, loved Inn at the Park and if ever in San Diego would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyRRT08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for such strong recommendations. It is always a pleasure to hear when all parts of a guest’s stay have proven memorable. The IAP team strives daily to keep Inn at the Park memorable for all the right reasons. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our family of six (2 seniors, 2 parents, 1 infant, 1 toddler) spent Memorial Day weekend at the Inn at the Park. We had a 2 room suite with a large living area and eat in kitchen that was functional, spacious and beautiful. Perfect for our family.

It is located in a busy area near the San Diego Zoo and thus did have all the sounds of the city which our toddler did not like. She did manage to play and sleep well in the suite regardless! The hotel is well situated not only for the zoo but also for the beach at Coronado. We thought it was perfect for us but there were a few issues.
There was only one small. albeit pretty bathroom. However, none of us had any real problem regarding bathroom usage and it was workable for the weekend.
A serious flaw that was puzzling is that it was appointed for two people re towels and coffee supplies. We had to specifically request additional towels and coffee.
Otherwise the Inn provided great, family friendly accommodations close to the beach and the zoo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. You’ll be glad to hear that our Housekeeping services are among many ways that Inn at the Park personalizes guest service. The more we know about your personal preference, the better we can accommodate your stay. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location: Well-situated in Hillcrest, along the west side of Balboa Park (San Diego Zoo and many museums). Convenient to many nearby restaurants, cafes, and bars. 15 minutes drive to the airport. 10 minutes drive to Gaslamp Quarter.

Hotel: 7 floors, 82 suites. Built in the 1920s with Art Deco themes. Artwork and furnishings are stylish and colorful. Has a single slow elevator so try to take the stairs. Walls can be thin and floors can be creaky. Has free continental breakfast (cereal, bagels, English muffins, coffee, juice, fruit) on the rooftop overlooking the harbor, the city, and the park. Can order eggs, waffles, French toast for a fee. Valet parking with unlimited in and out privileges for $15/ day. Some nearby street parking but was harder to find in the summer, so we used the valet.

Rooms: Stayed in a one bedroom suite, 720 sq ft, 1 king bed, 2 twin sofa sleepers. Sleeps 4. Kitchenette (2 burner stove but no oven) with dish ware, dish washer, coffee maker, microwave, full fridge. Comfortable Sealy beds. Clean modern bathroom and kitchen. 2 flat screen TVs. Air-conditioning in the living room and bedroom. Electric picture window shades. Free room wifi with good signal, fast speed. Occasional street noise and creaking from floors above us.

Service: Front desk is friendly and helpful. No room service. Local maps with highlighted recommended restaurants and bars available at front desk. Free computer with printer in hotel lobby.

Overall: Inn at the Park is a lovely, stylish hotel with character. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Inn at the Park. Recommendations like yours are what make Inn at the Park the ‘gem’ that it is today. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at your property last week for 2 nights. From the moment I walked in and Rob at the front desk greeted us, I knew that this was going to be a great stay. He was very friendly and gave us a great suggestion for sushi about 5 minutes away. My room was spotless and had all the amenities I needed along with a beautiful view of city! The continental breakfast was nice, but we like a little more so we ordered from the menu. Rachel was very quick and efficient, but most important, she was friendly and made us feel welcomed. The central location of the property was perfect, and we were able to enjoy our two days without too much driving. Robin at checkout was also very nice, and the Guest Service Manager, Jeff Owens was outstanding! He was super friendly and seemed to care about all the suggestions we had and wanted to make sure that we had a great vacation. Great job to the team at Inn at the Park! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrowneRoyalT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive remarks. The team will be glad to hear about the roles we played in making your stay special. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and thank you for choosing Inn at the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#74 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#145 of 278 in San Diego
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Property: Inn at the Park
Address: 525 Spruce St, San Diego, CA 92103-5814 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing