We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated, large rooms, excellent location”
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Park
Ranked #125 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Recently renovated, large rooms, excellent location”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and two children stayed at the Inn at the Park. The room is more like an apartment. There is an eat in kitchen, living room area with a very large couch that had double pull-out twin beds, and a separate bedroom with a king bed.

Everything was brand new as the room was recently renovated. (1/2 the hotel was still being renovated, scheduled to complete in October. We were the room closest to the renovations and it was fine.)

The rooms were very, very large and very clean. The staff at the desk was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel location was perfect for us. Across the street is Balboa Park and literally a large playground which was AWESOME for our two young daughters. Just north of the playground is the free tram stop to go to all the museams, science museum, and the zoo. The tram itself is somewhat entertaining for our kids 8 and under... There were two coffee shops within 2 blocks - Bassam and Extraordinary Desserts. If Bassam hasn't opened yet, keep walking to Extraordinary desserts.

If you walk north on 5th street (behind hotel), you walk into Hillcrest where there are LOADS of restaurants and bars.

The airport was a breeze to get to, no interstate. Take 6th down to Laurel and down the hill to the airport. 10 - 15 minutes.

We looked at lots of suite hotels so we can have a room while our kids sleep and this one was priced competitively. Then we got there and it was huge and so close to everything, everyone was nice. The complimentary rooftop breakfast is also nice. Bagels, english muffins, yogurt, fruit, etc.

So for a family with kids, this place rocked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us as well as enjoying what San Diego has to offer around the surrounding area. We are very excited that the last Phase of renovation is nearing and our newly renovated suite was suitable for you and your family. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return to Inn at the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    228
    66
    23
    35
See reviews for
151
205
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights June 12-13, 2012 on a prepaid room 2 nights approx $150 per night through their website. Yes it's a step back in time but has class and style which modern hotels will never have.

Pluses:
-Location - Easy 10 minutes walk to Hillcrest - many cafes, restaurants bars. Also 5 minutes down 5th avenue to "Bertrand at Mister A's" on top of the Financial centre building. A must do for afternoon cocktails/beers/nibbles with amazing views of bay and airport.
-Staff - Can't do enough for you. Recommended brunch at "Hash House a gogo" which is a 5 minutes walk (and an incredible experience never to be forgotten - google it !). Staff called cabs the minute we started asking for one.
-Free breakfast on the roof

Room for improvement:
- Very slow elevator
-Wireless internet coverage and speed
-Renovation of rooms proceeding too slowly. Stayed in an unrenovated room which was fine for the price but not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. For your return visit, i am as well pleased to announce that effective mid July of 2012, all our rentable guest suites are renovated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Arrived to stay for 2 nights at $249/night only to discover no air-conditioning! Staff couldn't have been nicer or tried to be more accommodating - I just would have never booked this hotel if I had known in advance of no air-conditioning. They did put an additional fan in our room, just wasn't enough so we had to sleep with windows open which was a night mare full of unbelievable noise. I called front desk because we were not able to connect to their free wi-fi as advertised, and they told us that they would try to reboot their system or that we could try to use it in the lobby where it might work. To us, that just wasn't very convenient. Also, because of having to keep the windows open -- there was an issue in the bathroom -- window only opened from bottom up and when you sit on the toilet -- your rear end is right smack in the window! That part was really amazing. I spoke with the guest relations manager in the morning and he kindly agreed to let us check out which we did. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly, etc. in every way possible. I think once the rennovation is completed in this hotel it would would be a delightful place to stay. The location is perfect, staff was very accommodating, bartender made the best cosmopolitan I ever had, very charming hotel. Just maybe not so great during July with no air. Would definitely consider another time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay here at Inn at the Park. While we are under going renovation, Phase 1 of 2 phases is now complete, i must apologize this process of renovation affected your overall stay. I am pleased to hear that the Inn at the Park staff was accommodating and you enjoyed one of our famous cosmopolitans located in our 525 Restaurant. We do look forward to your future return to Inn at the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel to be close to the start line of the Rock N Roll San Diego Marathon - and man, what a great location.

Within feet of the start - it was a perfect location for us for the Marathon Weekend.

This place is OLD OLD OLD. The rooms are OLD OLD OLD but very quaint. The styling, while not my taste, is definitely old-school Victorian. Window air conditioner units. Little galley kitchens with small refrigerators. Tall ceilings. Retro television.

The rooms were comfortable, staff excellent, and great location.

The hotel is very gay-friendly - and hosts a "family" event on the top bar on Friday nights. I discovered this by accident - but all good. Remember that this hotel is located in a very trendy, artsy area of San Diego.

They are currently going through a remodel - but that didn't affect us at all.

So, for the money - considering how expensive San Diego is anyway, this place is cool. It's not the W or Holiday Inn Express - definitely more of a boutique hotel without the breakfast. :)

Room Tip: Elevator is slow. Lower room better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNLeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am thrilled to hear that Inn at the Park was a success while you were here in San Diego with the Rock N Roll Marathon. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband booked this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. To summarize quickly: great location, friendly staff, charming rooms, but a little noisy.

I am not typically a fan of old hotels, but they have really done a great job at renovating this one. The rooms were enormous, with full kitchen, full bath, walk in closet and a sitting area. The decoration in the rooms and throughout the hotel were charming. The hotel staff was also extremely pleasant. The amenities were a little inconsistent day to day; for example, breakfast one day included several fruits, yogurts, cold and hot cereal, eggs, bagels, etc but the next day there were only bananas, bagels and cold cereal. Same kind of odd change up in the bathroom towel assortment/ toiletries. However, the staff was quick to respond to any requests (including bringing out additional breakfast food).

The hotel is across from the park, which was great. Walking distance (or free trolley) from museums or the zoo and a very short cab ride to the gaslamp district or the airport. We were very happy with the location.

My only complaint was the noise level at night. The insulation is poor (old building) and we could hear people coming in to the hotel from the main street. There were also ambulances driving by with sirens blaring each night. I am a light sleeper and normally this would turn me off any hotel, but most of the hotels in SD have some amount of street noise and the ambulance sirens are also common in the city. Ask for a room on a high floor, park side (not on 5th).

Room Tip: Ask for a park side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLeigh827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I booked here 2 rooms for 1 night, when i arrived at check in, the guy at the reception was nice, and helpful. I went to the room and iwas really really nice the room and very spacious but.......A LOT OF PROBLEM, No aircontidioned (no warm no cold) out of service.... umbelieveble for 200 USD a Night. Kitchenette, out of order, the light and outlet in the kitchenette, out of order......... Internet works very bad.... the connection on and off..... on 700 square feet, the only place to use internet was on the bed!!!! When somebody walk upstair, a lot of rumor, but this on ei can understand because is old style construction, so is normal. The bathroom nice but really small icompare with the size of the room..... Bedroom: bed very confortable but there is no blackout!!!!! So a lot of sun in the am, cant sleep.
In the morning, we decide to stay in the hotel, because all the hotel as Marriott and hilton were soldout, so we extended both rooms, and we went out when they confirmed that the room were extended.... After 2 hours, they called me that they did a mistake and they had only 1 room available and the other one no. And they said that they will put an extra bed in the room to sleep with my mom.... But if i book 2 room is because i want sleep alone... right? Anyway, at the end i checkout both rooms and went in another hotel. We checked at 3 pm and after 3 hours that i already was in the new hotel, they called me again and said, that all my baggages were in the room........ Really i dont understand how they work if they work... They want keep an hotel open, but they have no idea how to handle all the problem....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bimbumbam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and let me say....valet parking was great; NO PARKING, and having them to park cars in the back with no security,....makes u worry. Checking in Customer Service made it seem like the most pleasant place on earth...but when it came to getting instructions and tourist information, it sucked! Elevators....SLOW, walking up and down the stairs to get to floors was probably the easiest but not when having to carry a 8 month old in a carseat. Cleanliness hmmm let me seeeee.....rooms are looking great but what sucked was having early construction and remodeling in the same hall when u are sleeping was the worst part ever!!! WE WERE NOT AWARE OF THAT, until we got to the fifth floor where our room was at. ROOMS= NO A/C OR HEATER UNIT WORKED SO THEY HAD TO TAKE US A FAN, AND windows were hard to open but we got them to open. Kitchenware let me say the one thing that was working was microwave (thank goodness, or else how would i warm up my babys water for her bottles), and let me say the refrigerator and coffeemaker. One remote to the whole suite. And once accomdated in room they manage to say they are missing a dresser in room, so they take it in. Hmmm makes u wonder their rooms are NOT READY. WIFI DID NOT WORK Cleanliness was great until we had to let valet make the front desk aware that we needed cleaning services in our room while we were out. In at the Roof top for continental breakfast was great. Views from the top were amazing. Overall this was a good stay at "Inn at the Park", but they deffinately need to work on some stuff before someone checks in and making them aware of whats going on =REMODELING, DUST, NOISY, CAUTION!. PRICING WAS GREAT OF COURSE ON PRICEWIRE (:
RATING THIS HOTEL A 3 1/2

Room Tip: ask what works and what doesnt what is going on like construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Property: Inn at the Park
Address: 525 Spruce St, San Diego, CA 92103-5814 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing