We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for price”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #10 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Downtown San Diego was easily accessible from the hotel. Old Town was within walking distance. The continental breakfast was more than your average continental breakfast, you can cook your own waffles and it lasted us until the afternoon. I have stayed at top of the line hotel and this room was the same size. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hppygilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2006

My fiancee and i just left the Old Town Inn ater a 4 day stay, and we were very happy with the room. Originally we chose the cheapest "economy" room but found it too small for the both of us and all our luggage. After 20 mins in the room we decided we should upgrade to the deluxe room with the kitchenette, and we were VERY happy we did.

For the price, the hotel is great value, and if and when we are in San Diego again we will certainly be staying there. We didn't have the free breakfast, but i have read on other reviews that is it is great.

The area is industrial but it is only a short walk to Old Town, which is very quaint. One negative thing from Old Town, dring the afternoon we asked at a Cafe what time they shut, as we wanted to come back for dinner. They told us 10pm, so we got back over to the cafe at .8.50pm, only to be told "the kitchen shuts an hour early" The building shut at 10pm. Pretty pissed off about that, even the 1 hour early shutting was wrong, as we were 10 mins early.

Anyway, we drove to the local IHOp and had a fantastic dinner, so that cafe lost our money. Their loss.

Overall, if you're going to be staying in San Diego, we can strongly suggest a stay, just chuck a bit more on the budgetfor the deluxe.

Cheers :)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank mikelfenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We stayed here this past Friday night after desperately searching for a reasonably priced room close to downtown. This one had the best reviews on TripAdvisor so we took the chance. It's true, the location is odd, but it didn't inconvenience us in any way. 2 minute drive to Old Town restaurants. Rooms are big and clean, pool is large, well kept and sunny. Breakfast is simple but nice bonus. Free internet access in lobby was great too. Would definitely stay here again. Liked this better than Westin Horton Plaza which as 3 times as expensive and a lot less clean.

Stayed: September 2006
9  Thank jenbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

My husband and I needed a place to stay for just one night in San Diego and we had an early morning flight the next day. We did not want to spend a lot of money, and we stay in 4 and 5 star hotels often and travel quite frequently. Also, other members of my family were staying 2 nights. We had two rooms - our room was the economy room and my family members' room was a larger room. Both rooms were extremely clean, quiet, and quite nice. It was exactly what we needed. The service upon reception was very friendly and courteous - they were quite helpful. They even helped my family find a rental car the next day and answer other questions about the area. Although I did not have breakfast, my relatives did, and said that it was quite good and more than enough to eat and satisfied them through late in the afternoon. The pool area is very pleasant. If I had stayed longer, I would definitely have spent some time there. All in all, other hotels in San Diego are very expensive, and if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is less money, clean, and good service, I don't think you will find a better option than the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank KC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

Took a chance on this one after reading all the reviews. Wasn't sure what to expect from the "industrial" area supposedly surrounding the Inn. We could not have been happier with our choice. Clean, clean, clean-- and we can be particular about that! Moreover, the Old Town Inn was like an oasis- beautifully landscaped with lush foliage, fountains, and a well-maintained pool area. Convenient to everything, especially Sea World (great for us, since we bought the 5 day pass!). We only used a half-tank of gas for the whole week and probably could have gotten by on much less if not for a foray to the Wild Animal Park. An easy walk into Old Town made this great for late-night dining, too. Breakfast, while not gourmet, managed to fill us up just fine with plenty of good choices-- waffles, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, and oatmeal. That in itself probably saved us an arm and a leg in food costs, doubling the value of this wonderful budget lodging. By the way, we stayed in one of the older economy rooms with a microwave and fridge (they call them "bungalows"), and enjoyed it very much. We were in 141, the end unit, which afforded us plenty of privacy and was away from the noise of the pool. The gentleman at the desk said the bungalows had been renovated recently, and they looked very nice to us. Small, yes, but "cozy" was the word my husband used-- very comfortable, even for a week's stay. We miss the beautiful Old Town Inn already and intend to go back in the future! Who would have guessed that the cheapest option in San Diego would also be the best?!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jjrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This hotel ranked 2nd out of 5 hotels my wife and I stayed at during our honeymoon week in the US.
We decided to stay here based on comments posted below, and were not disappointed. Parking was indeed a bit tight, but there were far more positives than negatives.
On arrival, we were assigned R#144, behind the property and with its own parking spaces. Our room was furthest from the road, so we enjoyed a quiet night. We requested an to stay an extra night, but this required us to move to R#128, which was right beside the road, so was a bit noisy. Also, instead of having a queen bed, the room had two doubles, which meant that 1) the air-con was placed directly next to one bed, freezing the occupant, and 2) the configuration didn’t allow for a fridge in this room (#144 had a fridge). However, the hotel is located along a very quiet road, so there wasn’t much noise. In fact, the whole area looked deserted, which was very off-putting at night, until we were directed to a 10-minute walk behind the hotel where all the shops and restaurants were.
Staff at this hotel are very very friendly, and the breakfast is, indeed, exceptionally above what one would expect. Also very nice was the computer in the lobby with free internet access for guest use.
The hotel is near the airport but far from downtown San Diego; however, it is still easy to reach with the nearby trolley service. A nice hotel which I will be happy to stay at again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank germar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

What a great location for a family stay in San Diego - at a very reasonable price. The room was immaculate, the pool was lovely, the staff were so friendly and helpful, and even the breakfast wasn't too bad. It's not luxurious, but it is definitely clean, quiet, and lovely. The neighborhood gave me pause at first, but turned out to be perfect. Seems somewhat industrial, and it is near the freeway, but you can easily walk to Old Town State Park (about 2 blocks) and the Trolley station. The zoo was a few short miles on the freeway. And when we needed a pharmacy, we found that about a mile away, tucked behind the Inn, is a commercial district with supermarkets, fast food, pharmacies, etc. We will be back!

4  Thank Lorind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,302 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $105 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing