We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked well for us”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It worked well for us”
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I booked this hotel from reading all the reviews as did most people. If you read all of the reviews you will get a pretty good idea of the hotel. It was clean but not brand new, had a more than adequate breakfast with enough variety to please just about anyone. We did hear some noise from people above us and when the shower was started for about 5 seconds but no road noise at all. As soon as the people above us moved out it was quiet. We were in a 2 queen- bed room with the gas hot plate (and hood vent) as well as fridge and microwave. We are a small family of Mom, Dad and a 6 year old and we were mostly visiting for all the theme parks. We were only really at the hotel for breakfast and after dinner usually went to bed. It's located very close to Seaworld, the zoo and the airport and only 30 minutes or less from The Wild Life Park and Legoland. We attended all the parks and getting to them was very good with the hotel directions. I think that this hotel is awesome for a family visiting the city for the sights, the pool was clean and our son was the only one in it the few times we went but the weather was mostly overcast. If you have a huge budget, go to a 5 star but if you want to spend your dollars on the sights and park meals etc. then this hotel really helps. A rental car is best but it is very close to public transit if you are only needing to be in town. There is a crosswalk and lights to cross the 4 lane road between the hotel and the trolley/transit system and Old town. As for it being far from restaurants.....again, with a vehicle it is minutes from all the fast food and pizza you can imagine as well as Black Angus, several family restaurants etc. The famed hotel circle is also really close and we drove by it on our way to the Wild animal park and it looked like a zoo. It is just countless hotels on either side of a major freeway so I don't know how any of those places would be either quieter or nicer and the price on most I saw was considerably more than the Old Town Inn. Also there was no parking fee at this hotel to add up the bill. We stayed for an entire week and the front desk was helpful though usually fairly busy. For families with young kids I would really recommend this hotel unless you are made of money and like room service etc! The breakfast had a choice of 3 cold cereals, 3 types of oatmeal, a great fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of bagels and cream cheese, white and brown toast, 2 types of fruit pastries, 2 types of muffins, OJ, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and of course the self- made waffles and syrup. Pretty impressive for no extra cost. We were there for the last 4 days of spring break and never had to wait for a table and it was even quieter for our last 3 days. Bottom line.....a great, safe hotel for those who don't want to spend $300 a night and probably several times better than anything else in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mom of one son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    621
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
635
623
86
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2006

This hotel was a good value. We paid $55.00-$65.00 a night for a one bed room. It appears that one area of the hotel might be newer than the complex that we stayed in, perhaps these rooms are nicer. The room itself was adequate, but I woul have preferred to pay a little more for a quieter place. The hotel is loud. There is significant street noise, it's located on a 4 lane road and you could hear a lot of noise between rooms. We were able to hear the people on both sides of us returning to the hotel at night and leaving in the morning. We were also able to hear the television in their room. Thank goodness we were trying to watch the same channel.

The room was clean, but the finishings were sparse. For example, the towels were very thin, the bed was not very comfortable, there is only a shower stall not a tub, the lights in the room are turned on by pulling a string etc. None of these things are terrible so long as you are not expecting anything luxurious.

The reception room was very sunny and tastefully decorated. In addition, the complimentary breakfast was a great surprise to us and more than adequate. They had a nice variety of dry cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit, and even waffle makers. The staff were usually cheery and pleasant. Although the woman who helped us at check-in was very slow and made no offer to hold our luggage or assist us in any way while we waited for our room be cleaned. We arrived at around 12:30 and check in wasn't until 3:00. We did not swim during out time here, but the pool area appears to be well kept although it's a bit small for the size of the hotel.

The location is off a rather busy four lane road. It is near the Old Town area which is a fun way to spend an evening. There's great Mexican Food and many historic buildings. It's also near the Metro Station and a Trolley System of some sort. I would recommend taking one these forms of transportation to get downtown. The parking is rather difficult and pricey ($10-20).

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2006

Old Town Inn is a very good motel. Here is an advice:
If you like daylight - avoid room 111.
If you like silence - choose room 111.
It´s situated in the inner corner behind the elevator so no daylight reaches in there.
But it was by far the most silent room in our two weeks in California.
We are non smokers and 111 is a smoking room, but we couldn´t notice any smell or so.

Yes, the staff, especially this tall blondish guy (Ed?) is excellent.

The breakfast is great, and the price is a bargain compared to other sites prices.
A $85 motel is a bad, seedy place in e.g. Santa Monica.
But Old Town inn is very clean and has a nice, small, pool area.
The motel is far away from everything except for the train/trolley station and "Historic Old Town" (which I jogged through in seven minutes one early morning, it´s like a "wild west town" with small shops and restaurants and old houses). You can easily go by the trolley to downtown, but a car is needed to go to the beaches.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank valstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We stayed 2 nights recently to visit SeaWorld with our 2 sons and it worked out great. The GM checked us in and gave a great restaurant recommendation in Old Town (Old Town Mexican Cafe) which is walkable. The room wasn't fancy but was very nice and remarkably quiet given the location of the hotel. The waffle makers were a nice treat for breakfast. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FPCarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

This hotel is a great find. The rooms are clean and cozy, the grounds are well maintained, and the location is close to everything. However when we stayed last weekend the staff lost our reservation TWICE. We gave names, confirmation numbers, card numbers, everything and they just didn't have it TWICE. Anyway as far as the value it is a deal. I would think about staying somewhere else first after the service we received but it's worth a look if you're short on cash.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler1979ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Stayed 3 nights, occupancy was at 100% due to Sporting event. Staff, Ed in particular, were fantastic and a wealth of knowledge. We had a deluxe double and the room was very clean and spacious. The pillow top bed was the best I have ever had in a Motel! Breakfast was cereals, fruit, muffins, bagels, toast and make yourself waffles with maple syryp and was delicious. My only comment back to the hotel was that the breakfast room wasn't really big enough to cater for the number of people staying, but as I said, they were at 100% full.

I highly recommend this Motel

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

My family and I stayed for 3 days and found the staff to be very friendly. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was one of the better we have had. The pool was heated and in great shape. the location was very close to the attractions. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tasjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,122 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing