We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Valatie, NY
314
Reviewed October 22, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Old Town Inn for one night in late August,2004. I chose it because of the TripAdvisor recommendations and because we would be without a car and it was within walking distance of Old Town and near the airport.

We chuckled a bit at the location -- sandwiched between a large manufacturing building, the Marine Recruit Depot and a State Psychiatric Hospital. However, we loved the fact that it provided an oasis, was an easy walk to Old Town, and we felt completely safe, even walking back at night.

When we checked in, David indicated that the room we had requested wasn't very nice and suggested that we stay in the bunglaloo near the pool for the same price. While the room was small, it was very comfortable and looked out on the pool. There seemed to be flowers everywhere!

I would certainly stay at the Old Town Inn again and would definitely recommend it, particularly if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,904)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2004

I had a prepaid reservation four months in advance
and called 2 weeks in advance to confirm our dates
and time which was Oct.4 to Oct.9. I talked to David
the desk manager who confirmed these dates. I was there with my daughter for her 12th birthday.
After a day at Sea World, we returned to our room
to find us locked out. This was Oct.8
David the desk manager yelled at me and my young daughter and said we were supposed to check out a day early. He mistakenly stated that he
had told me that morning that we were suppose to
check out. This confrontation caused my daughter
to get so very upset that she started to cry.
When I was finally let back into my room I got
the paper to prove to the desk manager that we
had another day paid for. David the desk
manager did not have the courtesy to apologize for
his egregous error. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2004

I just returned from a 16 day vacation to CA and had to get my review in on the Old Town Inn. The staff at the Old Town Inn goes above and beyond the call of duty on the telephone and in person. I spoke to David twice on the telephone before I decided to book this Inn and then had the pleasure of meeting him in person when I stayed at the Inn. His helpfulness and pleasant voice on the phone is what made me decide to book this Inn....not to mention the reasonable price.

Not knowing what to see and do in our down time in San Diego, Lela, at the reception desk at The Old Town Inn offered suggestions and even provided us with walking directions, trolley and vehicle directions! Our purpose for stopping in San Diego was to go to Sea World and The Zoo. The Old Town Inn is convieniently located to both places and many more! It is five minutes from Bazaar Del Mundo and The Old Town Historical Park.

I felt VERY safe in this Inn and was not uncomfortable returning from the Park on foot at night, unlike being out after dark in Northern CA. The continental breakfast was a nice start to our busy day, but they do get busy.

I had made reservations for two nights via telephone a few weeks in advance but got into town a night early. We were able to get a room a night early but we did have to switch rooms the following day because the Inn was booked solid. The night person seemed friendly on the phone when I called to see if they had a room and explained that we had reservations for the following two nights, but when we got there, he seemed like we were putting him out. (This was the ONLY glitch in our stay.) The following day when we came back from Sea World and registered for our reserved room, "something had happened" to our reservations and the staff upgraded our room at no additional charge.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the flower gardens and fountain were beautiful, the lobby was very cozy and inviting, the Inn has LOTS of information on attractions on in the area, the breakfast was nicely stocked and very welcome in the busy moring. I would most definately stay at this Inn again!!!!!

Our thanks to Lela and David for making our short stay in San Diego a wonderful experience. We will be back again!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smokeaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2004

The Old Town Inn is located very conveniently for the trolley to get downtown (I didn't have a car and managed fine). Room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was good, but breakfast room got busy. Overall, quality seemed fair for the price.

1  Thank ADMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2004

4  Thank gwtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2004

4  Thank Carolf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2004

2  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing