We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$205
$183
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$241
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$226
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$293
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,035)
Filter reviews
2,035 results
Traveler rating
1,172
672
139
31
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
672
139
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseconomy roompacific highwaytransit centerhard boiled eggsdvd playercontinental breakfastmake your own wafflessea worldtrolley stationheated poolfamily suitewaffle makerwithin walking distancegreat place to stayclean roomsnice breakfastqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
795 - 800 of 2,035 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the place to stay in San Diego. Might seem odd to be in kinda an industrial area but this place is home. Right across the street from Old town so plenty to do and places to eat. The staff is great and the place is safe. The rooms are so comfortable we could have spent the day in the room. Rates are very nice for a big city add in the amenities and you have the best ever. Clean, comfortable, safe and close to everything. Definitely a come back place. We have stayed at lots of places around SD and this is the best.

Room Tip: any of the rooms are perfect we prefer ground floor and they accomadated us.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Beverly S - Thank YOU for this review and thank you to all of our other guests who give us such wonderful reviews – you understand us! We are a modest, family-owned AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every single member of our team, from the owner, to the managers, to our front desk staff, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper believes in this mission.

Many guests ask about our location, we are located in an industrial pocket, when we first started in the 1940’s, Pacific Hwy had a long line of motels that greeted guests who used this road as the main thoroughfare from Los Angeles and Orange County to Mexico! The benefit of our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions, including a quick 10 minute walk to the center of Historic Old Town. The other positive is that we are so close to the Old Town Transit Center, which allows our guests to get around San Diego with ease if you decide to leave your car behind.

We encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

Thank you again for your review! We hope to see you soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Lis | Customer Service
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews! Overall we had a great experience and will be returning as soon as we can.
One issue we had was that the person at the front desk couldn't make any changes without a manager. The first room we were assigned was right next to the driveway. This made me feel uncomfortable because I have small children so we asked to move. She had to contact the manager before she could help us out. We waited for about 45 minutes before she was given the go ahead to move us.
The 2nd issue was that the carpets in our new room were filthy. Our feet were black within a few minutes. We let the manager know the next morning and she did have the carpets cleaned for us while we were out that day.
The manager was willing to help us out and otherwise the stay was lovely! This is a great location to get to everything in San Diego, and with free parking, it was a great value as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msjj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, General Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We know you have many choices and we appreciate that you chose us! I am glad to hear that despite the issues you encountered you had a great experience during your stay with us. I apologize for the delay in moving you to another room, I realize that this is an area where we can improve and I will be working with my front desk staff to better handle similar situations. As for the carpet being dirty, I am very sorry. We take pride in our high level of cleanliness, I do apologize that we felt short in this instance. Thank you for notifying us of the issue and giving us the opportunity to rectify the problem.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. We like to tell people that we are nowhere, but right next door to everywhere! I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be well located to easily get to everything in San Diego. One of the best attractions, Historic Old Town State Park, is a quick 10 minute walk from the Old Town Inn!

As you mentioned, we do offer free parking (one space per room). During times when our hotel is the busiest, it may sometimes be a little challenging to maneuver the spaces. However, we do like the fact that we can offer this amenity to our guests free of charge, we know many hotels charge a daily fee.

Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectation and when something goes wrong we do take it very seriously, I am glad you let us know of the issues you encountered and gave us the opportunity to fix them while you were here. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guests.

When making a future reservation, make sure to book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites, for instance, we offer family suites that can sleep up to six people, with a separate bedroom, a living room and a kitchenette, great when traveling with the family.

Thank you for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests, and we hope to see you again soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Beatriz | General Manager
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

As we drove to the hotel, I didn't think I would like the location it was a bit seedy however as we pulled in it completely surprised me. It's a little tucked in hideaway not too big not too small just right. Check in was nice and easy very clean, people were nice.
Extended Continental breakfast was great kid friendly. No problem at all, the only thing I will say is that the desk didn't mention the $100 refundable deposit at check in. Other than that a very pleasant stay for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Cynthia P - Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review about our hotel, and how pleased you were with your visit here at the Old Town Inn. I’m happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised to find that we’re a clean, beautiful, and inviting hotel.

As you mentioned, our neighborhood is a little different, we are surrounded by a few larger industrial businesses, once you get past that, the majority of our guests realize how centrally located we are to most of San Diego’s major attractions. We get a lot of repeat guests due to our convenient location, our reasonable prices, our clean and comfortable rooms, and our consistent efforts to give the best service possible to all of our guests. We are a modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every team member, from the owner, to the managers, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper, we all take great pride in making sure our guests are taken care of.

In regards to the $100 refundable deposit, we only ask of this from our guests who are paying cash. It is to cover any incidentals that may come up. If there are none, then the complete deposit is given back upon check-out. If paying by credit card, a deposit is not required.

We are happy to know it was a great delight in your stay here at the Old Town Inn; I hope you and your family enjoyed a swim in our heated pool. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guests, if you return for another visit, be sure to book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites. Like some of our deluxe rooms that are equipped with mini-fridge and microwave or our rooms with kitchenettes.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, is truly in the middle of everything. Can find about any attraction within just about a 10 mile radius. Public transportation very close. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, and very friendly staff. :)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. The Old Town Inn, team and the rest of other guests agree great location with easy access and close to all major attractions in San Diego. We are delighted to know your experience was enjoyable and you found the amenities to be a great fit for you.

The Old Town Inn is so perfect for those willing to adventure out and about San Diego, by public transportation, car or a 5 minute walk to the historical Old Town. We provide a free continental breakfast every morning from 6 am-10 am that includes waffles that you make yourself, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cold cereal, bagels with the topping of butter and syrup, Danishes, muffins and croissants with the topping of butter, fresh fruit as well as cocktail fruit, wheat and white bread with the toppings of butter, jelly and peanut butter, instant oatmeal with the toppings of brown sugar, raisins, chocolate sprinkles and cinnamon powder. Free, fresh lemon water, decaf and regular coffee, tea and fruit until 11 pm every night in our lobby. Our lobby is open 24/7 if a guest has any questions, concerns or late check INS.

Thank you, again for your glowing comments, regarding our Inn in Old Town San Diego. You got to experience first-hand the value of knowing our staff members and our capabilities to offer “Great Customer Service”. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bathtub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed, sofa siting area, mini fridge and microwave. The Old Town Inn is a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your accommodations in San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent one night in San Diego to visit Old Town June 26 2014 (me/my husband/17 yr old daughter), I was a little hesitant to not stay in "downtown" Old Town but the Old Town Inn was a great place to stay. About a 10 minute walk to Old Town, as I questioned the receptionist about the walk especially after 11:00pm (our haunted tour) she advised us that it was safe and well lit, which it was! The room was clean, the bed and pillow were comfortable, coffee maker, hairdryer, and free breakfast in the morning (make your own waffles, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, muffins) it was great! We already recommended to family in the Laguna Niguel area and they already have it booked for a night when they visit Sea World. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarteeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your exceptional review, It's awesome to read such a positive comments from one of our valued guest. We are thrilled that at the end your choice to stay at the Old Town Inn made a distressing situation a little more bearable for you and your family. We are delighted to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and the staff members met all your expectations and found your experience worth five star.

We are happy to be able to offer complimentary breakfast, WFI, DVD rental, free parking and great value, were many of our competitors does not have this flexibility.

Thank you again, for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities and service the Old Town Inn San Diego provides. It is awesome, for your recommendation to your family in Laguna Niguel to stay with us on their next adventure to Sea World San Diego and we look forward to meet them soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews