We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Central Point”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
New London, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Central Point”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Old Town Inn from May 1 - 6, 2014. This is not an upscale or elite hotel. In addition, the scenery around the hotel is not aesthetic, because it is located in an industrial area. However, the rooms are super clean, and the grounds are well maintained. Our room was a family suite, which was very large in size. The bedroom was separated from the living room area by a door, if privacy is needed. Some reviews complain about noise. Our suite was located in the rear, so noise was not an issue. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast, which has more than enough to satisfy one's appetite. There is no restaurant on site, but there are numerous restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel. Furthermore, there is ample free onsite parking that beats the high priced valet parking of the hotels in the downtown area. Every time I am in San Diego, I use the San Diego Trolley as my mode of transportation. The Old Town trolley stop is located diagonally across the street from the hotel, and it is about a 3 minute walk. A good name for this hotel is "The Central Point," because it is centrally located from an point of attraction in the San Diego area. My only minor complaint is the internet service, which is very slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear William, Thank you for your compliments and the great review regarding the Old Town Inn San Diego on TripAdvisor. They are highly appreciated, the Old Town Inn Staff always doing its best to try keeping it looking its best. We do serve free continental breakfast which includes; Oatmeal, fruit, cereal, coffee, delicious orange juice, waffles, and more. Did you know about our movie rental? You look for the movie you wish to watch, come check it out at the front desk and it’s free. We also have board games and books to read, great for families! If you like the book, feel free to take it with you to the room or read at the lobby by the fire place.

The Old Town Inn is located in an industrial area. We are very close to public transportation, freeways, and the famous Old Town. We have a variety of restaurants that deliver to us, just in case you don't want to go out. If you do wish to go out, Old Town has many restaurants. We are located just a few minutes away from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and other attractions. We are sorry you had some troubles. On your next visit, let us know if you are having any issues. We would be more than happy to try to fix them as soon as we can.

Thank you for staying at the Old Town Inn and we look forward to seeing you soon again!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Cesar | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    614
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
628
608
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Old Town Inn. From the start we fell in love with the place. The staff was very kind and gracious. They helped us out by letting us know what was going on at the hotel and in and around San Diego. Great clean room, comfortable beds, fruit water and coffee for free in the lobby, and access to all major areas including the trolley/bus station across the street for public transportation. We highly recommend this place and will stay here again when in town on a visit or vacation. Thank you Old Town Inn!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review and mentioning our friendly staff, clean rooms and amenities. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. We have an amazing frond desk team that is ready to pour out, with all the information you need from directions, to restaurant recommendations, and things to see. I believe we have an answer to just about anything. I’m glad we were able to make a difference during your stay.

I’m glad to hear our location was convenient for you and your family. As you mentioned we are within walking distance to the Old Town Transit Center, where you can catch public transportation to so many attractions throughout San Diego such as the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter and a lot more.

On your next visit you can also check out our nice outdoor heated pool. We have BBQ grill by the pool that you and your family can enjoy. On the cooler nights you can sit in our nice outdoor heated pool, we have a BBQ grill by the pool that you and your family can enjoy. On the cooler nights you can sit in our lounge lobby area and enjoy a cup of coffee by our fireplace. You can also check out our free DVD collections; we have available along with board games.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After much review, decided on this hotel for a family vacation. It ended up that we rented a total of 4 rooms. Great character, perfect spot, even if it isn't near the ocean. Great savings. Quick walk to Old Town. I would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: The older rooms, near the pool have character, and being close to the pool has it's advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor, It is truly our pleasure to offer our hotel and facilities to you and your family. It’s a pleasure to know all your family members enjoyed their “getaway” stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego. We all here at the Old Town Inn, want to thank you, for choosing our hotel, and how all the previous reviews on Trip Advisor assisted you with your decision making process for your accommodation. I do concur, we are not next to the ocean, however, a 10 minute drive will get you to all the beaches and attractions (San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and Downtown Gaslamp) and a 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops in Old Town.

Thank you again, we understand you have many choices when it comes to hotel stays; we are exited you chose us for you and your family visit to Old Town San Diego for your recent stay, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This family run Inn proved to be perfect for our 6 night stay in San Diego, offering excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was the best we had enjoyed on our US trip. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We opted not to hire a car during our stay and made the most out of many, affordable public transport options (bus, trolley and train at only $5 per day) available from the Old Town Transit Centre, which was literally across the road. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobotFamilyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with our TripAdvior community. Were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location was very convenient for your 6 night stay in San Diego!

Thank you for mentioning our Front Desk staff, we all work very hard to give our best at everything we do, from checking you in to directions, finding hidden gems in the city to great suggestions on restaurants nearby. As you mentioned opting a vehicle out during your stay with us would be no problem. With a short 5 minute walk (2.5 blocks) from our Inn you can catch the Amtrak, Trolley, or bus to transport yourself around San Diego.

On your next visit you might want to check out, our complimentary DVD collection we have available at the front desk. It’s of our many amenities we offer, at no charge to the guest, such as WI-FI, deluxe continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and plenty of parking plus more.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Gilda| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Mi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. Usually I stay at the big chain hotels as a business traveler, but I decided to try this because of the positive feedback I read. I was pleased. The staff was friendly, breakfast was great, beautiful, pool area with frequent hummingbirds seen flying. To cool. Room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of restaurants to drive to. The only negative was the incredibly slow internet speed. Other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sfromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sformd, That is awesome! For giving us a try and depending on the previous, reviews on Trip Advisor. Trip Advisor is all; about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with who want to get the most for their dollar, value, cleanliness and who appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research, like you. Your feedback on Trip Advisor is very important to us, it gives others the opportunity to read and decide where to stay, while vacationing or on business. We are delighted to hear, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for the wonderful complements regarding our, outstanding staff service, continental breakfast, clean comfortable room, and the great value, the Old Town Inn offer.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego and for your loyalty, and now that you are a value customer you may consider us for your next, vacation or on business.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This motel provided exactly what I'd often like to find: a refreshingly modest room that was very clean, conveniently located, and more than reasonably priced with a substantial "continental breakfast," as well as a pool and a reasonable movie library. For two modest sized people a room with two full size beds was perfect, and uncommon. The little guide to the city the staff had prepared ($1) led to a delightful half day excursion that hadn't been planned. It includes some less well known staff favorites, as well as recommendations for children in various parts of the city. If you want ostentation go elsewhere; if you want great value check out the Old Town Inn. This "best buy" is the kind of place I could imagine Rick Steves recommending.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Town Inn April 9th-11th. All of the staff we encountered were very kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is great - they offer a lot of choices (including waffles, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, muffins, etc.) and everything was very good! Especially for the cost, you cannot beat the value - we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane8755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the great compliments on our great hotel in Old Town San Diego. Your comments on TripAdvisor, others will appreciate to better understand all we have to offer and others to read and decide where to stay during their next visit to San Diego. All with a short walk or drive-our great location makes us so convenient, to all the attractions, events and sights you can visit, while on vacation. The Old Town Inn hotel is so perfect for those willing to adventure out and about Old Town, Gaslamp San Diego, Sea World, Zoo, Balboa park and all the San Diego beaches and those who want to get the most for their dollar, value, cleanliness and who appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research.

It was a pleasure reading your review, and we greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing