We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Inn, San Diego”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #9 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice clean motel room, pleasant staff, good service. Would stay at again. Restaurant recommendations from staff were good. There was a free video/ DVD rental service which was very useful. The breakfast included in our room rate was excellent.

Room Tip: Nice clean motel. Very pleasant staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Doug R, Thank you for your glowing comments, the team really appreciates hearing about our guest positive experiences. We take great pride in providing a clean and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are delighted to know,that you enjoyed your, stay at the Old Town Inn. I am happy that, you enjoyed our complimentary DVD rental, by the way our DVD collection includes a variety of movies, “comedy, family, horror, romantic and more”. Just stop by the lobby, chose your movie and get popcorn for a $1.00 make it a movie night in your room. If you are not in the mood for a movie you can enjoy reading a book in front of our fire place at the lobby. We are happy that you enjoyed our delicious complimentary continental breakfast, with freshly made oatmeal, orange juice, waffle, muffins, fruit, fresh coffee and more. The Old Town Inn team work very hard to provide quality, affordability, great customer service. To make our guest experience memorable, and on your next visit to San Diego try our heated pool, which is kept 80 degrees every day.

We are thankful for your feedback and for choosing the Old Town Inn San Diego for your accommodation.

*Book Direct with Us-For the Best Service, Selection and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Cesar Garcia | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Town Inn. The room was immaculate and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I even asked if they had other properties in California so I could book them, but unfortunately only in San Diego. No doubt in my mind, if I am ever in San Diego, we will be staying at Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a few kind words regarding our lovely boutique hotel in Old Town San Diego. We greatly appreciate you sharing with other travelers, who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process, based on real reviews from other travelers were to stay while on vacation or business. We are a small family owned hotel, with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. Yes! Unfortunately we are the only Old Town Inn in California, on the other hand we do have a sister property in San Diego the “Best Western Lamplighter”. It is located in the college area. Both of our establishments will be able to assist you with reservations and provide you with the same clean, inviting atmosphere, quality, affordability, and great customer service for your accommodation. With that being said there is no doubt in our mind we would like to welcome you back as a return guest on your next trip to San Diego.
I want personally thank you for your business and love to welcome you back with open doors as we love to do.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The room was small, but comfortable (stayed in "bungalow"). The clerks were nice and accommodating. We were there for a Marine Corp. graduation so the location was great. We didn't spend much time in the room, but had no complaints while there. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tres814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for sharing your review with the trip advisor community. Congratulations on your new marine, and please thank him for serving our country. With our location being a short 5 min car ride to MCRD our location, as you mentioned was great. I’m glad to hear you found our front desk clerks friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. I believed you stayed in one of our “Economy” rooms, our original circa 1950 rooms. These rooms are the only original rooms in the hotel, and yes, they are older. Some of our guests think these rooms are small, however, others ask for them. The aptly named economy room is perfect for the budget conscious traveler, and is a good value.

On your next trip to San Diego, you may want to try out our Standard & deluxe rooms we have.
You could choose from rooms with kitchenette to full kitchen, or even go all out in our Jacuzzi suite. You can also check out our nice outdoor heated pool, we have a BBQ grill by the pool that you and your family can enjoy. On the cooler nights you can sit in our lounge lobby area and enjoy a cup of coffee by our fireplace. You can also check out our Free DVD collections we have available, along with board games.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future!

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Jacuzzi suite and loved it! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic! The Jacuzzi room had a fireplace and an amazing shower as well. The grounds are well maintained as well. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write comments on TripAdvisor to share with other readers to review our Inn in Old Town San Diego. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite. As you mentioned it is fantastic, equipped with a king size bed, sofa sitting area, Jacuzzi tub, waterfall shower, fireplace etc. On your next visit you might want to check out our complimentary DVD collection we have available at the front desk. It's one of our many amenities we offer, at no charge to the guest, such as WI-FI, deluxe continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and plenty of parking plus more.

We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2- diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. Our housekeeping & maintenance crew works hard every day to keep our rooms and grounds fresh and uptight every day. I'm glad to hear we competed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations and comfort, all at an affordable price.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, we are thankful for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Old Town Inn on several trips to San Diego and have always left happier than when we arrived. The reservation and check-in are easy, friendly and efficient and the room rates are reasonable, especially with our AAA discount. The rooms are clean and roomy. We enjoy the amenities which include free WiFi, a computer in the lobby, videos and games to borrow, a breakfast which is more than just processed carbohydrates, a swimming pool and barbecue grill, etc. On the rare occasion when we have needed assistance (directions, spare rollaway bed), the staff was helpful and made sure we had exactly what we needed. The woman who manages the breakfast area even remembered that my son liked a particular breakfast product and made sure she had it available for him! Although we are semi-local, we also enjoy the opportunity to meet visitors from other countries or other parts of the U.S. I love that it is so close to Old Town (I can enjoy a nice dinner with margaritas and walk back to the hotel) and convenient access to the trolley. We take the trolley to Qualcomm or PETCO Park and avoid the hassle of driving. Free parking and proximity to Sea World are also a plus. On our most recent visit, Old Town Inn was almost sold out and I panicked, as no other place comes close to my idea of a perfect place for our family to stay. Luckily, there was one more room at the Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenStellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow!! You have summed up our hotel in a nut shell. We thank you so very much for taking the time to review us in such a detailed way. It is a pleasure having you and your family as returning guests, and we are so glad to hear that you leave our hotel every time with a wonderful experience. We believe that it is the little things that count, and we as a hotel like to focus on these seemingly little things in order to provide our guests with the best possible stay. Whether it’s knowing what our guests want out of their stay (or their breakfast!), providing genuine hospitality to every guest, or finding the most comfortable mattresses and pillows for our beds, we always put our guests first.

We are a small hotel with an open-mind, and a true dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly, and very clean. We appreciate your loyalty to us, and we are so happy to be your number one choice in San Diego! It truly an honor to have our guest mention that they cannot stay at any other hotel besides ours.

I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you while almost on a sold out night. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your family and provide you with only the best hospitality. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location. We want our guests to be able to get around San Diego quickly and easily, whether it be a walk to old town, taking the trolley all around San Diego, or going to see a football or baseball game.

We can’t thank you enough for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and loyalty. On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we thank you and hope to see you back here soon!
Thank You again!!!!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Best Inn I've stayed at for years and will return soon. Very helpful friendly and staff. Super clean rooms and continental breakfast. Couldn't have imagined a better place to stay. Close and convenient to airport but rooms are quiet. A block or two from Old Town shopping, big plus!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Wow!! We are extremely delighted that we exceeded your expectations, and for you to grade us as the “Best Inn”, you have stayed for years it shows, we are doing it right. Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, for your accommodation, and for the fabulous review! The team really appreciates all of your compliments and we do agree our rooms are super clean. Thanks to our hard working housekeepers which work very hard to keep the rooms and the hotel clean, they are a large part why our hotel is the best in the area and our guest keep on coming back for a clean comfortable place to stay. We do offer a delicious complimentary continental breakfast; you have the privilege to make, your own waffles, and to top that with frees coffee, oatmeal, fruits, cereal and orange juice. We are proud to offer our guest with plenty of parking at no charge at the Old Town Inn San Diego. Since some of the neighborhood hotels charge for parking we are able to provide an exceptional value at an AAA2-damond hotel, for a great full service. One of our benefits is that we are central located, close to all the attractions, the airport, and Downtown San Diego, a five minute walk to the famous Old Town, which offer a variety of restaurants, historical buildings and stores. It’s a beautiful place to visit, public transportation just a walking distance, in case you want to go around the city, to enjoy the scenery.Once again, thank you for your stay at the Old Town Inn and for sharing some of the great and unique activities that Old Town area provides. We would be more than happy to have you stay with us again.

*Book Direct with Us-For the Best Service, Selection and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Cesar Garcia | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We found Old Town Inn on TripAdvisor, booked one night because it was near the airport, and were totally delighted with the place! Clean, quiet, wonderful service by the most helpful staff we've encountered in years! Free parking, free internet, breakfast, clean room--at a very reasonable price. Literally, half-a block, across the street from Old Town San Diego where we spent several hours--shopping and eating. The metra-train, Amtrack, and coast commuter trains are half-a-block away and getting downtown San Diego was an easy trip.
We were in the older 'cottages' and the room was exceptionally clean!
We plan to stay again--for more than one night. Oh, a heated pool, too!

Room Tip: Easy airport access, quick walk to Old Town San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Laura/Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. Thank you for mentioning our free amenities our hotel has to offer. On your next visit please take advantage of our movie library we have for the family to enjoy. It is nice to hear that you have found it easy to take the train around town, with that being said we are less than a five minute walk to the train and the bus station; we provide lots of information and handouts for our guest that like using our public transportation system. Our guest does find it easier to use the train or the bus, then renting a car or dealing with traffic. On your next visit do try our deluxe rooms that are just as nice as our economy rooms. We like our entire guest to know they have options and to stay in our different room types because each room has its own comfortable style. We would defiantly be here to welcome you back to the Old Town Inn, on your next trip to San Diego. We like to say, you have a wonderful new year, and hope to see you this year in your future plans in coming to San Diego. Thank you on behalf of the Old Town Inn.

*Book Direct With Us-For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,427 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,125 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $116 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing