We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location.”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we were happy and comfortable. Reception staff were very good and very helpful. Our room was on the third foor but was easy to get to via the elevator. The room was very spacious with two queen sized beds and a kitchenette. It was clean and comfortable with TV, fridge, WiFi and hairdryer. We didn't use the pool but it looked fine. The breakfast room was clean and spacious with plenty of food, cereals and drinks to choose from. The hotel is out of the town centre but was two minutes walk from the Old Town Transit centre where we caught a train into town. We bought a two day pass which could be used on the buses as well and really got our money's worth from it. Travelling around was really easy. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iansuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Guest Services at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you so much for your feedback, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Town Inn. We believe our AAA 2-Diamond hotel is well located, friendly, and very clean. Our housekeepers are very detailed in their work, and want our guests to feel like they are at home, so thank you for the compliment on the cleanliness of our rooms. I also love our continental breakfast, did your little one try out our delicious waffles?

We have many guests like yourself that find our location convenient to public transportation. I hope we gave you all the information you needed to know about the buses and trolleys. I read that you did not have a chance to swim in our pool, and I hope that gives you another good reason to come back to our hotel. On behalf of the Old Town Inn, I would like to thank you again for choosing to stay at our small property, and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor!

Laura ~ Guest Services Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,902)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at OT. The Inn is very quaint. We were there for a week and the accommodations were very nice. It is a little further away from the city, but so close to public transportation as well as Old Town itself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is important to us to meet the expectations of our guests. We work hard to provide a nice comfortable atmosphere here at the Old Town Inn. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality and value. We are always interested in what attracts guests to our hotel, and from what you wrote, it sounds like you wanted to stay at a hotel convenient to public transit. We are only a block and a half away from the Old Town Transit Station, so it is very easy to get around without a car. I would like to thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you for your time,

Laura ~ Customer Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

For the 3rd year in a row we stayed at the Old Town Inn which is characterized by great value and service. Again we booked an economy room with Queen bed and noticed how well maintained and clean the rooms are. We appreciated the fast & free wi-fi, flatscreen tv, fridge & microwave and the complimentary continental breakfast. All staff members are very friendly and helpful, which makes a stay at this hotel an all round great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear SweetCountyWoo,

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy that the team was able to meet (and hopefully exceed) your expectations yet again. It is great to hear that the Old Town Inn could have such a positive impact on your vacation. We truly appreciate you being such a loyal guest! We hope that you consider the Old Town Inn your home away from home.

Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms. It's really nice to hear that our guests recognize the little things we try to do to make their stay enjoyable. Along with having an eager-to-please front desk staff, our housekeepers and maintenance work hard to make our rooms spotless and presentable.

I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer. On future visits, you may also want to take advantage of our beautiful heated pool and free DVD rentals; to make it a true movie night you can buy popcorn for a dollar at the front desk!

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn once more for your stay in San Diego. It is always a pleasure having you as our guest. We truly appreciate your loyalty, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours In Hospitality,
Mike M | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Old Town Inn was the final of seven different places we stayed in our trip to California and one of the best. We stayed for 3 nights.

Clean, and well equipped room, with a good shower, air con that worked well and relatively quietly. Pool very handy, breakfast good by local standards with waffle machine. Computer and printer in reception handy for ticket booking etc. Excellent value, and good location. Only small thingy that the bedding wasn't the most comfortable, felt like you could feel plastic mattress cover underneath.

Special mention for the receptionist Celicy who really went out of her way to be friendly, helpful, and to help us plan our sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleTinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Purple Tinsel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our inn, and I have to say, I love the title of it!

I was happy to read that you found our hotel to be one of the best you stayed at during your trip. We are very honored by your compliments, and glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the inn's amenities, including our complimentary deluxe breakfast and our outdoor heated pool, and that everything in the room worked well as expected.

I thank you for mentioning Cecily's excellent customer service; she is one of many exceptional employees here at the hotel. Our entire staff, from our wonderful housekeepers, to maintenance, to our front desk staff all love what they do, and know that their most important job is to provide our guests with a unique quality experience.

I thank you for mentioning the mattress, I will follow up with an inspection to find out what is going on. We have Beauty Rest pillowtop mattresses, and haven't had an issue like this before, so I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate when you let us know that things are not perfect, because it lets us know where we need to improve.

We hope to see you and your family in the near future.


Sincerely,

Beatriz Bustamante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've just spent 2 nights here and it was great. The room was spotless clean and spacious, the free parking is a bonus and the breakfast was more than adequate, everything was fresh and there was a reasonable choice. The location is good, only 5/10 minutes from the historical OldTown where there are plenty of restaurants and it is really interesting to visit during the day. From here you can take the trolley tour to downtown San Diego or use public transport from the nearby transit centre. The stars of the hotel however are the very friendly and helpful reception staff, customer service at its best. There is some background road noise but its no where near as noisy as a busy city or town with sirens etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek&Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community, we appreciate your feedback.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found your accommodations to be spacious and clean. We have a great gardener, Pascual, and he works hard to make sure the grounds are lush and well kept. (Gracias Pascual!) Thank you for mentioning our front desk staff, we all work very hard to provide a great experience for our guests, and we appreciate your compliments about the friendliness of our staff, and our customer service. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our free deluxe continental breakfast, which is just one of the free amenities we offer.
We believe our AAA Two Diamond hotel is in a great location. As you mentioned, it is very close to Old Town, the Old Town Transit Center, and many other attractions. You can drive to many of the major attractions in San Diego in about ten minutes. I am happy to hear that our location was so convenient for you.

Our company culture is all about providing a clean, affordable, quality stay, and great customer service to our guests. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you the next time you visit San Diego.

Yours in Hospitality,

Gilda ~ Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything is Super clean...Excellent pool, staff, and close to all...
Right across from Old Town and in the center of all. Sea World, Zoo, LaJolla, etc...
Free internet, Free Parking, and free breakfast....
Definitely best bang for the buck....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slalom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great comments that help other "TripAdvisors" to better understand that our goal is to achieve and exceed guest expectations and we greatly appreciate the wonderful staff compliments. We work hard to offer exceptional service, and we pride ourselves on cleanliness and great staff interaction. We were happy to read that you enjoyed our heated pool and our deluxe continental breakfast. Our location is one of our best features. As you mentioned, our hotel is walking distance to Old Town's many awesome Mexican restaurants, and about a 10 minute drive to Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, local beaches and more.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. It's an honor and privilege to take care of our guests here at the Old Town Inn. For future visits, you may also want to take advantage of our free DVD rentals. We even have popcorn available for sale for only a dollar, a perfect combination for a relaxing night in!

Sincerely,

Mike ~ Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went to this hotel based on previous trip advisor recommendations. Excellent location and price. Rooms were clean and pool area very nice. Breakfast was fair. Loved having Old Town and Seaworld so close. Free parking was handy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Old Town Inn. We truly appreciate your compliments. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. Our company culture is based on providing cleanliness, value, quality, and genuine hospitality. We are not a fancy hotel. We are a AAA, independently owned hotel that strives to uphold the qualities we stand for. I hope that you received all of these qualities and more during your stay with us. It is great to hear that our location was convenient for you. We love that we are so centrally located and so near to public transportation; this makes it easy for our guests to get around San Diego quickly and without hassle.

I hope that we will see you again in the near future. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of the Old Town Inn.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,221 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing