We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Convenient and Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here on the weekend because I fell in love with this holet frim looking at it online. It was a great choice; close to old town shopping and dining! i absolutely loved this place and their continental breakfast was good too :) Will be staying here in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Wickedchica
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    609
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
620
605
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this location because it is very close within walking distance to the Old Town transit center. We bought a transit pass at the Transit Store at 1st and Broadway and went merrily on our way all over using busses and the trolley, getting to our destinations quicker and with less hassle than driving.

We were very pleased with the motel and not expecting anything 5-star. We were traveling with our tiny poodle and were given a room that accommodated pets. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, large closet, flat-screen TV, refrig and microwave were provided as was a table and two chairs. This room suited our purposes, although we might have upgraded our room choice had we not been traveling with our pet.

The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory with cereals, waffles, fruit, muffins, juice, etc. Someone was always working around to keep it clean and stocked.

The entire staff of this inn could not have been more helpful and friendly, especially the front desk. They printed out bus and trolley routes for us. They were always ready to answer questions. They helped us with a car problem. They always seem to have time for you even though they run a busy establishment. They certainly helped make our stay enjoyable.

The inn is nicely landscaped with beautiful flowers, flower boxes, and patches of green lawn--always kept clean. The pool area was secluded and looked inviting, although we didn't swim.

There are a lot of accommodation choices in San Diego; but everything considered, we found the Old Town Inn to be a wonderful place that we would return to and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are grateful for your feedback and compliments about our staff, our service, and our convenient location. Our main goals at the Old Town Inn are to welcome our guests with genuine hospitality, provide cleanliness and quality accommodations, and do it all at an affordable price. These are the qualities that we strive to uphold as a hotel, and we take them very seriously because we know that our guests do as well. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you received the high standard of service that we strive to provide our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at Old Town Inn after reading all the positive reviews at Trip Advisor...I guess due to the 4 1/2 stars, I expected a lot more...but it was not bad either...Service/Friendliness of the front desk was exceptional. Breakfast was good. Lobby/rooms were clean. I DID expect a nice big room but it is just your average hotel room....( I guess this was where I was a little disappointed) but again, it was okay and comfortable. It was just because I had higher expectations from past reviews that I have read. LOCATION: very good. close to the airport, sea world, old town. I walked to Old town and this was even at night and felt safe. Being right next to Pacific highway was not a problem as far as noise. Didn't hear any traffic. YOU DO HAVE TO DO SOME U TURNS when getting out of the hotel...depending where you go...a minor hassle but not bad. overall, will stay there again!

Room Tip: requested the upper floor so that we didn't have to worry about noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vet0travel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your thoughts and feedback. Hearing about what you liked and disliked during your stay helps us very much in keeping up with our guests’ needs. TripAdvisor is crucial in representing our level of guest satisfaction. We truly appreciate your honesty, and take your comments very seriously. Guest comments are very important to us, and we want our guests to know that we are listening.

It can be a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I am sorry that you expected something different because of our TripAdvisor reviews; we try very hard to reply to our reviews in a way that sets the right expectations for our guests. Some guests arrive expecting a fancy hotel with scenic views, but that just is not who we are as a hotel. We get a lot of hype from our TripAdvisor reviews, which is great, however it can also give readers the wrong idea about us: We are not a fancy hotel; we are an independently owned, two star rated property that cares very much about guest satisfaction, genuine hospitality, affordability, cleanliness, and quality accommodations. We pride ourselves in providing these qualities to every guest, and we believe this is the main reason for our high ratings on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for mentioning our amenities. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast. The Old Town Inn offers many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library, and as you mentioned, a complimentary continental breakfast.

I am glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. We appreciate that you mentioned our close proximity to the airport, all of San Diego’s attractions, and that we are walking distance to Old Town. Our location is sometimes off-putting for guests who do not know the area. We appreciate that you realized the benefits of our location far outweigh the negatives, and we thank you for mentioning this in your review. At first glance, our area is industrial, and can even seem a little uninviting. We truly appreciate that you took that second glance and found that our location is convenient, safe, and quiet.

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again in the near future! We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Over all this small Inn was a great value! Nice clean well appointed rooms! Friendly staff. Great location in Old Town. Nice garden around the pool area. Only thing was the noisy A/C. But overall very charming.

Room Tip: The A/C was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay; our company culture is to provide clean, comfortable rooms, quality amenities, and genuine hospitality, all at a great value to our guests. It is rewarding to know that we met and exceeded your expectations. If you are ever staying in the San Diego area again, we would be happy to accommodate you, and we look forward to serving you again. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the less expensive, older section. The grounds are lavishly landscaped, the rooms spartan and outdated, but clean and functional. It was well-worth the price. Just minutes from downtown, with easy access to Interstates 5 and 8. The service was outstanding. They even loan dvds for playing in your room. The mattress was way too soft.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Old Town Inn during your visit to San Diego. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location and customer service we provided. We are dedicated to giving consistent service, quality and value. Thank you for mentioning our grounds, we pride ourselves in our lush landscaping, and we appreciate you noticing. I am sorry to hear that you thought the room was outdated. We are not a fancy hotel, and our economy rooms are clean, affordable, and without frills. We would have been happy to upgrade you to one of our deluxe rooms, which are larger, more modern, and probably more suited to your tastes.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities we provide, and our central location. We truly appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I only booked this after reading reviews from tripadvisor. I assured my family that this hotel would be great. However, immediately upon checking in, we found out that wi-fi is not working. The staff initially just gave a 1800 number for a support. I was on the phone with them for about an hour, totally wasting time my kids should have been at the beach. The staff ultimately resolved it but not before me spending over 2 hours of very crucial time on the phone with support hotline and hotel staff.
The next morning we find out that the toilet flush is not working. After reporting it we left for the day and to our shock and horror, it was still not working when we came back. It took them 2 days out of our 4 day stay to fix the flush.
The rooms are very small and the sofa bed is barely good for 2 very small kids. Also on the bedsheet there was a red stain. Worst part of the stay!!
The good things are the hotel staff. They are pleasant and really work to help you out. The breakfast is very good too. Location is good too. But I would not be coming back here next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGossMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback; it lets us know where we have done a good job, and where we have failed. Thank you for mentioning the hotel staff and the breakfast. We appreciate your compliments in these areas.

On a more serious note, I was very disappointed to hear about the problems you had during your stay. We take great pride in making our guests’ stay enjoyable, and we take it very seriously when we fail.

I apologize for the difficulties you had with the WiFi; we understand that staying connected is very important to our guests. We are always looking for ways to upgrade our system, making it faster and easier for guests to get online, so that more of our guests can enjoy this free amenity. We did upgrade recently, and we are currently in the process of purchasing additional equipment for extra licenses, which will make it easier for our guests to get online without problems, especially in the peak hours of online activity for the hotel. We choose to give our guests a number to call when the WiFi is not working properly so that they do not have to wait for front desk to become available in order to fix the problem. We feel it is important for our guests to have avenues other than calling the front desk for WiFi problems, because if it is possible for a guest to get a problem fixed faster and without the front desks intervention, then they should be free to take that route if that is what they prefer. I am sorry that you had to spend so much time fixing the WiFi; we realize that this is unacceptable and we are truly sorry that your time was wasted. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. I hope that you were able to spend time at the beach with your family after the problem was finally resolved.

I spoke to the manager about what had happened with the toilet and why it took so long to fix. Typically, maintenance is extremely proficient about taking care of something like this immediately. When you made the call to the front desk that your toilet was not flushing, a priority work order was made, and maintenance was there to fix the problem that day. The toilet was fixed and tested, the problem seemingly resolved. The next day, a second priority work order was made for the same issue, and maintenance came again to fix the problem, this time taking apart the toilet. I apologize that this problem took so long to resolve, and I am truly sorry for the inconvenience it caused you and your family.

I was very surprised and dismayed to hear about the stain on the bed sheet found in your pullout sofa bed. I am completely in agreement with you; it is unacceptable to say the least. This is extremely far below the Old Town Inn standards of cleanliness, seeing as cleanliness is an area we are typically praised on. Our housekeeping staff is hard working and they take great pride in maintaining clean rooms. If you look at our guest comments on the top of TripAdvisor, you will see that our guests most frequently write that the Old Town Inn is “very clean.” We work very hard on this; we know how important cleanliness is to our guests. I am sorry that we failed you in this instance. It is definitely a rare housekeeping failure, but also a serious one. We take your comments very seriously and are genuinely sorry for the inconvenience. As you mentioned, the hotel staff is always ready to help with any problem that arises. I am sure that, had the issue been brought up with our front desk staff, we would have made every effort to fix this problem right away.

Thank you again for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Our company culture is to provide cleanliness, quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests. We do take great pride in making every guest’s experience an enjoyable one. Although you mentioned that you would not be coming back, I do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the great service that we are known for, and the good qualities that we strive to uphold.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai,United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Love the little rooms, the welcoming reception area with lovely staff. Great breakfast, good location (next to Seaworld, 5 minute drive from Pacific Beach etc). Clean rooms, tea & coffee available all day and good DVD/Book collection for the evenings. Free wifi always a plus! Safe parking. All around winner-would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad to hear you had a good stay; our philosophy is to offer clean, comfortable rooms, and exceptional service that is still a great value. It is truly rewarding to know that we met and exceeded your expectations. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our free amenities, such as the wifi, tea & coffee, and our DVDs and books. If you are ever staying in the San Diego area again, we would be happy to accommodate you!

Thank you for the wonderful review, we truly appreciate your compliments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing