We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,069)
Filter reviews
2,069 results
Traveler rating
1,196
681
139
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
681
139
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseconomy roompacific highwaytransit centerhard boiled eggsdvd playercontinental breakfastsea worldmake your own wafflestrolley stationheated poolfamily suitewithin walking distancewaffle makerclean roomsgreat place to stayqueen bednice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 2,069 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I would like to start by commending Celeste, the night clerk. Upon our arrival in San Diego, it was very late and we were lost. We called and Celeste "talked" us to the property. When we got to the hotel, she greeted us warmly and worked hard to get us checked in so we could get some rest. We also had interaction with Cesar, Anna and Gilda and they were all very nice, professional and friendly. We chose Old Town because the property looked nicer than where we originally planned to stay.The manager was great too as she "matched" the rate with that "other" hotel. Thank you to everyone! The continental breakfast served every morning was wonderful, welcome and tasty. I would have liked to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room as we were trying to economize, but otherwise the stay was above average!

Room Tip: If you have more than two in your party, I would take the "family" suite. There's much more room and other amenities available.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notdmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn! We know that there are many great hotels in San Diego to choose from, and we are grateful and honored to have had you as our guest. We strive to exceed expectations for all of our guests, and I am very happy to hear that we succeeded in doing so during your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our great customer service; we pride ourselves in providing genuine hospitality, and we truly appreciate that you noticed our efforts. Everyone at the Old Town Inn reads TripAdvisor, and will be very happy to hear your compliments.

I agree that it is a major convenience to have a refrigerator and a microwave in your room, and many of our guests also request these amenities. Many of our rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini-fridges, as well as rooms with kitchenettes, and we are sorry that these were not offered to you at the time of your stay. I apologize for this and I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience for you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide great customer service, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, and affordability to our guests, and we hope that you and your family received all of these qualities during your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we look forward to having you stay again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location was excellent because we had our own car. It was close to major highways, so getting to and leaving the hotel was easy.
The staff were friendly.
The room was very clean.

Would have loved to have a microwave and refrigerator in the room, as this is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasha_Abdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the feedback about not only what we did right, but also what we could do to make your stay better the next time around. It helps us a great deal to know what our guests like and dislike about the Old Town Inn, and from the information you provided, we can continue to provide our guests with the service and characteristics we pride ourselves in and strive to uphold; characteristics such as cleanliness, genuine customer service, affordability, and quality accommodations are all a big part of our company culture.

Another feature of great importance to our guests, and therefore us, is convenience. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient. Although the area surrounding the Old Town Inn is somewhat industrial, it has some great benefits. As you mentioned, our location is very central, making it easy for our guests to get around San Diego. If you are traveling without a car, we are walking distance from Old Town and the transit station, allowing you to easily get anywhere in San Diego by bus, train, or trolley. With a car, you can quickly get to all of San Diego’s great attractions, most of which are just a few miles away, as I am sure you found out for yourself. We are so centrally located that the owner likes to joke that we are “nowhere, but minutes to everywhere!”

As much as I am happy to hear of your convenience in getting around, I am sad to hear of the inconvenience you faced not having a mini-fridge and microwave. I understand that these are appliances that can be difficult to live without, and I apologize if you were counting on having them in your room. Many of our rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini-fridges, as well as rooms with kitchenettes; we are sorry these were not offered to you.

Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Old Town Inn during your visit to San Diego. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our location, the accommodations, and the customer service we provided. We are dedicated to giving consistent service, quality and value, and we hope that you will visit us again in the future. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted and a bonus of finding out that our family of four had been upgraded to a two room suite. The room was fantastic. It included a kitchenette. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The grounds are immaculate. The office is detached from the rooms. The office building has a nice sitting area and includes the breakfast room. They have board games and a large selection of DVD movies you can check out for free. The swimming pool area is very pretty and the whole grounds are beautifully landscaped. The hotel is in an area of industrial looking buildings but it feels very safe and is within easy walking distance of Old Town San Diego which is a neat place to visit with lots of shops and great places to eat. HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razorback87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Old Town Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are truly grateful for the wonderful review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and were happy with the upgrade. Thank you for mentioning our dedicated and helpful staff, ready to provide the genuine hospitality that we strive to show every one of our guests. I am happy to hear that we were able to exceed expectations and provide you with an enjoyable experience.

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the lobby and pool area, and were able to put our many free amenities to use. We appreciate that you mentioned the grounds and landscaping; our maintenance staff works hard to keep the grounds beautiful, and it is great to know that this hard work does not go unnoticed.

We are in a unique area for a hotel, located on Pacific Highway in an industrial setting. However, our location does have many benefits. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere, but minutes to everywhere!” As you learned, we are just a short walk to Old Town with its many shops and restaurants. Also a short walk away is the Transit Center; from there you take the trolley downtown without having to worry about parking, which is a major plus. We are very centrally located with many of San Diego’s great attractions just a few miles away, making it easy to get around whether or not you have a car.

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for providing us with feedback. We take all guest comments seriously, and your review helps us to know what our guests like and what we can do to keep our future guests happy. Thank you for the recommendation; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary here and were very happy with our stay. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and kind. The rooms were clean, great flat screen tv, comfortable beds, free parking and minutes from Old Town, shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the heated pool and the continental breakfast was great. Overall I was very happy with our stay here. Will highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristal828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Happy 10th Anniversary to you and your husband! We are honored that you chose to celebrate this occasion at the Old Town Inn. I am so glad to hear that you were happy with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your compliments and feedback about our rooms, service, and amenities.

Our company culture is based on providing quality accommodations, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, and comfort that goes above and beyond our two star rating, all at an affordable price. It makes us very proud to know that we exceeded expectations and were able to provide you with all of the qualities we strive to uphold.

It is great to know that you took advantage of our many free amenities, such as our continental breakfast and heated pool. Next time you visit, you should check out our free DVD library if you have time. We have many great titles, both classic and new releases, which are perfect for a night in after a long day of fun.

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn, and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are grateful for your recommendation and your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and an honor to share in such an important occasion for you both. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked a family suite for 4 kids and 2 adults while on our family vacation in SD.
Very well-maintained hotel - my wife who is very particular about room cleanliness highlighted this when we checked-in :) Our requests for plates, bowls & kitchen utensils - all delivered to our room before we checked in :))
Hotel staff was also very thoughtful. Our toilet had a problem Sun evening - no suction. The staff immediately brought a plunger as maintenance team had knocked off and gave us a discount for that day. Next day, before the maintenance team came, another staff member gave us key for an empty room so that we could use the toilet and also another discount for that day. They all apologized for the inconvenience :)) The problem was taken care of when we got back in the afternoon.
Also, when we requested that we only needed shampoos and towels and did not need the room cleaned, the front-desk staff promptly wrote down our requests and informed house-keeping. Also took time to check with us the day after we visited the zoo on our experience at the zoo.
So all in all - very well-trained staff and they are committed to excellent customer service.
Excellent location too - 10 mins walk to Old Town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMelody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a good vacation and an enjoyable stay. Our philosophy here at the Old Town Inn is to provide every guest with genuine hospitality, cleanliness, quality accommodations, and comfort, all at an affordable price. We hope that you received all of these qualities during your stay with us.

I apologize that the toilet in your room was not working properly. I know that this could not have been easy for you and your family, and I am truly sorry about the inconvenience. I am glad though, that we were able to fix this problem while keeping you and your family comfortable in the meantime. Thank you for mentioning the Old Town Inn staff and the excellent customer service everyone here strives to provide. All of us at the Old Town Inn visits TripAdvisor, and all will be very happy to read your compliments. From front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, our staff does a great job taking care of our guests, and we are very proud to have a staff such as ours. The life and character of The Old Town Inn starts with the staff, and it prides me to be able to work alongside such dedicated, hardworking people.

Our location is definitely a unique one for a hotel. Although we are located on Pacific Highway and in an industrial area, there are many benefits. I am glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient. As you mentioned, we are a short walk from Old Town and the transit center, just two miles from Sea World, 3 miles from the Zoo and the beaches, and two miles from downtown and the convention center. The owner likes to joke that we are “nowhere, but minutes to everywhere!” Many of our guests love the convenience of our location and mention that our property is like an oasis with our relaxing atmosphere, beautiful landscaping, and poolside tropical plants. I hope that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool during your stay. If not, you must check it out next time. Heated comfortably, the pool is the perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

Thank you again for the wonderful review; your compliments and feedback are truly appreciated. Everyone here at the Old Town Inn takes great pride in making our guests stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews