We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value, location, and very nice staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, location, and very nice staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past May. Our decision to stay here was based on other Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The price was very good. The rooms were clean and parking is free, a rarity in San Diego.We booked the Managers Special, 76.00 a night for 2 Queen beds. The breakfast was your typical cereal, waffles, boiled eggs, pastries, hot oatmeal, juice and coffee. More than enough to start the day. Although we rented a car, the Old Town Inn is only a 5 minute walk to the San Diego Trolley Green Line. A RT for Seniors is only 2.50 to downtown, to the Gas Lamp District and to the USS Midway tour. We used the line every day, and only used the rental to go to the Zoo and to Sunset Cliffs Park.We have been to San Diego before and stayed at 4 and or 5 Star properties costing three times as much.In the future we will stay at the Old Town Inn.

Room Tip: We had room 207 no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback, and the fact that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to exceed expectations. We pride ourselves in providing cleanliness, genuine hospitality, comfort, and quality accommodations, all at an affordable price.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the Manager’s Special, we are always very happy when our guests take advantage of our discount deals; it is very important to us that our guests always get a good value out of their stay. We are not a fancy hotel; however, we have many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for at more expensive hotels. Our free amenities include things like parking, as you mentioned, breakfast, WiFi, and a DVD library (with DVD players in every room), just to name a few. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast; next time you stay you should definitely check out the pool, perfect for relaxing after a long day, and our DVD collection, which includes classics and many great new movies as well.

One of our favorite things about the Old Town Inn is our location. It may not seem great at first, being in a somewhat industrial area and along Pacific Highway, however, the Old Town Inn’s location is so central that it almost always takes ten minutes or less to get anywhere. We are also located just a few blocks away from the Old Town Transit Station, which makes it very convenient to travel by trolley, bus, train, or taxi. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere, but minutes to everywhere!” Whether traveling by car, trolley, or bus, it is very convenient to get from the Old Town Inn to all of San Diego’s great attractions, such as the Gaslamp Quarter, the Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, and much more. We are also a short walk from historic Old Town and just five minutes from the airport.

I am glad to hear that you went to Sunset Cliffs, one of the most beautiful places in all of San Diego (my all time favorite). I can only hope that your experience with us was just as memorable and enjoyable. Thank you again for your review and compliments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    574
    129
    28
    20
See reviews for
581
576
79
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Old Town Inn on my last two trips to San Diego and will gladly stay there during my next trip. If you're on a "driving" vacation (not just there on business downtown), the location is excellent for not only getting around the city (everything-- including Coronado--is less than 15 minutes away), but you've got incredibly easy access to several major highways.

I've stayed in both the new and old sections of the hotel and enjoyed both. The "old" section definitely has a mid-century "motel" feel to the rooms, but they're comfortable and clean and charming. The new section gives you exactly what you expect. These aren't luxury suites, but good quality hotel rooms and amenities. I've never had any complaints.

The continental breakfast is exactly what it needs to be and it's fun to see how many international guests are staying at the hotel...and everyone seems to be enjoying themselves. The pool is a nice size (not a deep pool, but good for soaking and lap swimming) and the beds/pillows are comfortable. And the water pressure in the showers during both of my stays was incredible.

Do yourself a favor on your next trip to San Diego-- check out the Old Town Inn!

Room Tip: The newer section has easier access to the lobby/breakfast area (from the old section, you need to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonbrak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn once more, your loyalty is greatly appreciated. We also appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us; it’s nice to hear such great feedback. We love it when our guests thoroughly understand what we’re about, and all that you have said makes me feel that you do. As you mentioned, we are not a fancy hotel; however, we strive to provide clean, quality accommodations for our guests and are very proud of what we have been able to achieve being a two star, independently owned hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and found it to be convenient for getting around San Diego. We love our location because of its proximity to all of San Diego’s great attractions, the airport, and downtown. The owner likes to joke that we are “nowhere but minutes to everywhere!” We appreciate praise of our location because we are located in an industrial area on Pacific Highway, and sometimes guests judge the area too harshly before finding out that it is one of the most convenient in San Diego.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, such as the pool and our continental breakfast. Next time, you should definitely check out our free DVD library, we have some great titles in there, both classics and new. It is also great to hear that you thought our beds/pillows were comfortable and that you had good water pressure, as these two things are very important when staying at a hotel.

Thank you again for being such a loyal guest to the Old Town Inn. We appreciate that you “get” us. I hope that we exceeded expectations and provided you with all of the qualities we strive to uphold, such as affordability, cleanliness, quality, and genuine hospitality. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you in the near future!

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

When you drive up you wonder if you are coming to the right place. It looks to be on a main road and in an industrial area. All is OK however, the road is not very busy and the old town is about ten minutes walk away.
As is public transport.
We thought old town was the best thing about San Diego that we saw in two days. The room was good, servicewas good and so was breakfast. They don't seem to advertise it but they also have a heated pool and a guest laundry.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandcarole01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Old Town Inn with TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your compliments and are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities; thank you for mentioning our heated pool, complimentary breakfast, and laundry room.

Our company culture is to provide our guests with all the comforts and conveniences of home, at an affordable price. Cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, and free amenities like parking and breakfast are all very important to us and our guest’s satisfaction.

Thank you once more for writing a review of our hotel. It was great to hear that our location was convenient for you. We hope to see you again soon; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place looks like a real old fashioned motel. Stairs on the outside and rooms open directly to the outside. That is the only negative thing I can say about the place. It is kept extremely clean and neat, all of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is walking distance to Old Town, which is a great convenience both for Old Town itself and for the Old Town Trolley tour. My wife and I will go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: My wife had a hard time with the rather high flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is truly appreciated. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable experience at the Old Town Inn. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with a wonderful stay. Our company culture is based on cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, and affordable pricing. We hope that you received everything we strive to provide out of your stay with us, and much more.

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay with us, and I am sorry about your stair troubles. Next time you stay with us, please feel free to mention that your wife has a difficult time with them, and we would be more than happy to accommodate you in one of our bungalow rooms near the pool and lobby, which are more centrally located and do not require a climb. Once again, your feedback is truly appreciated, and we hope to see you again soon!

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Old Town Inn this past weekend. It was a quick, low-cost getaway, and the Old Town Inn fit very well into this criteria. Caveat: the neighborhood is non-existent (on a stretch of lonely highway which edges the city and airport) but it IS within walking distance of Old Town and the Red Car station, so even without a car one can hit all the tourist spots with ease. We did have a car, and nearly all city destinations were within a quick, easy 5 to 20 minutes trip

The rooms are a good size, super-clean and well-maintained, and the bed was very comfortable. Two great features: the place is SUPER-quiet, and there is ample free parking (rarer and rarer in SD these days). The free breakfast is merely adequate (cold cereal, toast, bagels and food-service Danish, a few apples and oranges, OJ, weak coffee, hot oatmeal in a crockpot, etc.) but the breakfast room is bright and cheery. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

The price is excellent for the return, and if you're looking for a pleasant, unfussy place to stay in San Diego, the Old Town Inn is a very good choice

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Old Town Inn. Thank you for your many compliments, and helpful feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We feel that it is very important to keep clean, well-maintained, and quality rooms and grounds. It is great to hear that you appreciated this effort on our part. We strive to exceed expectations and to make our guests feel at home and comfortable. Our company culture is to provide quality accommodations, affordable pricing, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality. We hope that we were able to provide you with all of these qualities that we strive to uphold.

Thank you once again for your feedback; it is truly appreciated and necessary if we are to continue to make our guests happy. We hope to see you again soon; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely, charming hotel walking distance to Old Town San Diego. Across the street from train, bus and trolley transportation service. Service at the front desk was excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable .We loved the central location. We had 2 cars--no problem parking. The continental breakfast was delicious ( waffles, oatmeal, fruit, eggs, etc). The neighborhood has lots of homeless people--we did not feel comfortable walking around after dark. For the price, the location, the charm and cleanliness --- this place has it all. We can't wait to return

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow room next to lobby--with no rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulips18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback and support are truly appreciated. We are happy to hear that our central location was convenient for your travels around San Diego. We love our location for that very reason – convenience for our guests. The fact that we are so close to the transit station and so centrally located is great for guests with or without cars, and we are glad you benefited from it.

Our company culture is based on cleanliness, great hospitality, quality, and affordability. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible experience for our guests. We are so glad to hear that we were able to exceed expectations and create an enjoyable experience for you.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good and clean hotel. Perfect choice if you like to move by car, very close to Old Town San Diego and not far from Downtown San Diego and beaches.
I had some trouble to reserve a room on their web-site but they fixed my reservation manually and email me the confirmation.
It's an old hidden style gem surrounded by the modern usa landscape...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giulio70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our location is very convenient for getting around. The Old Town Inn is just a few blocks from Old Town, and only minutes by car or trolley to all of San Diego’s great attractions, the airport, and downtown.

We pride ourselves in our clean, comfortable rooms. Our company culture is based on providing a good value for our guests, genuine hospitality, and clean, quality accommodations. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We truly appreciate being able to see from our guests’ point of view. I hope that we will see you again in the near future; it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Sommerset Suites Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing