We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
sherman oaks ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in early November. The location is very convenient and there's free parking in their lot. We enjoyed the breakfast and though it wasn't swimming weather the pool area looked lovely. We left some items in the room by mistake and when we called the desk Anna had our items and mailed them back to us within days. She was outstanding, as were all the staff we met. We'll definitely return and will be happy to recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyousd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    616
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
632
616
84
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed from Nov 25-29/12. We found this hotel on the internet as we were told Old Town was a great place to stay. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and clean. We liked that it was within walking distance of Old Town for eating and shopping. The price of the hotel was also very reasonable. We will stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandpEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you found the Old Town Inn reasonably priced, especially when you had so many other hotels to choose from while searching the internet.

It is a pleasure to read that we pleasantly surprised you with our room size and cleanliness. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our high level of guest service, and the convenience of our area, as well our proximity to the shops and restaurants in Old Town.

We love it when we can make our guests feel at home and are able to exceed expectations. It is inspiring to know that you will be returning to our hotel when visiting the San Diego area! Thank you again for reviewing us. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M. | Front Desk
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had 2 rooms over Thanksgiving weekend. Both rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and pleasant, facility also very clean and pleasant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our stay was quiet and restful, we were on the ground level so very convenient. Would recommend to friends and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5weezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Front Office Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear 5weezy,

Hope you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.

I am very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and meet your needs while you stayed with us. Everyone here works very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay. It is a pleasure knowing when our efforts have succeeded. I'm happy you and your family enjoyed our deluxe breakfast; we do get lots of compliments about our vanilla belgian waffles.
As you mentioned your stay was quiet and restful, I highly recommend during your next stay to try our beautiful Jacuzzi Suite. This spacious room is immaculate, and perfect for relaxation. We definitely look forward to having you, and your family stay with us in the near future.


Sincerely,

Anna Flores

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed from 9th-11th Oct 2012 and again 24th-27th Oct 2012. My husband and i enjoyed our stay everything was wonderful, staff was great and very helpful. What can i say outstanding. Our first time. Will definatelly visit again.Place, People everything. In would give more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. It was very clean. The location was great. The front desk was very helpful and we were able to purchase zoo and trolley tickets right there. Beds were very comfortable. Definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for your review. Your feedback is truly appreciated.
I’m glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient. We love that we are so close to all of San Diego’s great attractions, making it much easier for our guests.
I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our beds. We put a lot of time into choosing the perfect bed; (we finally chose the Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop) and we’re so glad you noticed.
Thank you again for sharing your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your compliments, and take great pride in providing an enjoyable stay for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon; it was a pleasure to serve you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my first trip to San Diego. The Old Town Inn was great value for the money.
The standard economy room was very adequate in size for 1-2 people - queen-sized comfortable bed, walk-in closet, small but spotlessly clean bathroom, table and chairs and flat-screen TV & DVD. The Manager (Anna) was incredibly helpful and friendly, as were all the staff. The breakfast was a bonus, buffet style in a sunny room off the lobby. The pool area was in the center of a garden, with tables and chairs and loungers.Parking is free (even for my visitors).The buses/trains are just a few minutes walk down the street, so easy to get into the downtown area of the city if you don't have a car. The airport is just a short cab ride away as well. I would definitely stay in this hotel again, especially if I was taking a cruise from San Diego and wanted to arrive a day or two early. And by the way, make sure you do a Harbor Tour and visit the ships/museums - very interesting. Thanks again Anna!

Room Tip: The economy room does not come with a fridge or microwave - you can ask for this and pay just a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay in San Diego. Your feedback is truly appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay; we are very glad that we were able to meet (and hopefully exceed) your expectations. Here at the Old Town Inn, our company culture is all about providing a clean, affordable, comfortable, and quality place to stay along with great customer service. We appreciate you sharing your good experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. Being a small independently owned hotel, our only advertising is through word of mouth, so your comments are very helpful and important to us.

Thank you again for your review; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A really cute inn located close to Old Town San Diego. A quaint exterior hides modern rooms. The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast kept is full for the whole morning. All of the comforts of a hotel with the feel of Old Town, and for a great price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for reviewing your stay with us. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and important to us; it lets us know what we are doing right, so that we can provide the same great service and amenities to our future guests.
Thank you for mentioning our modern rooms! We have recently made some great new updates to our rooms, including new flat screens, furniture, and granite; it is so good to hear that you noticed and enjoyed them, and there are more to come. :)

Our company culture is all about providing quality, cleanliness, and affordability, and I am very happy to hear that we were able to include all of these qualities in your stay. Thank you once more for your review; we hope to see you again next time you visit San Diego!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelPower so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing