We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, Great location”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #10 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed 6 nights Aug 30th -Sept 5 . for a short get away. Very nice hotel great staff very helpfull. Checked In around 11Pm took a few minutes. No matter what time we went for breakfast always found a table they have a nice complinentary breakfast. We would walk to Old Town in the evening for dinner, a lot of nice restaurants to chose from would walk back after dark always felt safe. Hotel is close to just about everything. Sea World, Zoo. Took trolly to downtown SanDiego. Would stay here again when going back to SanDiego.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACJR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Alex, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for the wonderful review. We value your feedback and appreciate your kind words. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location was convenient for you! We love that we are so close to the Old Town Transit Station, and many of San Diego’s great attractions. This makes it easy for our guests to get around, and I’m glad that this was the case for you as well. We like to joke that we are nowhere but minutes to everywhere!

The Old Town Inn is a AAA, two diamond hotel. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service. We take great pride in making our guests stay a memorable and enjoyable experience. I am very pleased to see that we exceeded expectations, and we will strive to do so every time.

All of us at the Old Town Inn want to take the opportunity to thank you. We truly appreciate your compliments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We checked in at 9:00 pm at night, and the area was a bit scary. there was a man yelling in the hotel parking lot. we did not feel safe. The breakfast it is only with deserts and cold boiled eggs. We have travel a lot and this was the worst breakfast i have had. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zemra109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Alex, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

I am surprised and sorry to hear that our continental breakfast was not up to your expectations. Breakfast is an area that our guests typically praise us in, however we take your comments very seriously. We appreciate you being honest with us about what you disliked during your stay and what we can improve on.

The Old Town Inn is a AAA, two star rated property with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, coffee and tea service all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library, and a complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, waffles, a variety of freshly baked bagels and pastries, cereals, oatmeal, fruit salad, juices, and coffee. Being a small, independently owned hotel, with many free amenities and competitive rates, I believe that our guests get a great value for the price.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. One benefit of being in a more industrial setting than a typical commercial setting is that it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I will freely admit that it may not be what people are used to but the majority of our guests enjoy the convenience of our property – short walk to the transit center, walk to Old Town, 2 miles from Sea World, 3 miles from the zoo, 3 miles to the beaches, and 2 miles to downtown and the convention center. We joke that we are nowhere but next door to everywhere.

Again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay. The Old Town Inn is not everyone’s cup of tea; we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests. We do take pride in making our guests stay an enjoyable experience, and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Travelled with my wife and a 3-year old kid. Room was excellent with a microwave (a life saver) and fridge. Parking spaces also provided. Breakfast is simple but the waffle maker really makes breakfast good! Pool is warm-ish and a little small but I guess most guests will be out and about not worrying abou the pool.

Only con I could think of is maybe have faster Internet access. I am grateful for the free Wifi but having a 3mb line seems outdated in this day and age.

Though the neighbourhood seems like its far away, lots of shopping available and really easy to get to Sea World also!

Otherwise, if I'm back in San Diego, would definitely come back here!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Mazran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Alex, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay in San Diego, and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your compliments, and also the ways in which we can improve. Your feedback is very helpful to us; it lets us know what we can improve on, so that we can continue to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests.

The Old Town Inn is a AAA, two star rated hotel property. One of the great things about our hotel, as you mentioned, is that we provide many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in a more expensive hotel, like free parking and free wireless internet. We love providing these amenities because we know that guests appreciate them, and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed them as well.

I am also glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the room, and the convenience of our location. Guests are sometimes put off by our somewhat industrial location; however we love how close we are to the Old Town Transit Station, and many of San Diego’s well known attractions.

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay, and for your review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. It was clean. The room was a good size. We asked for a quiet room and got that. We were about five minutes from the beaches and about three minutes from Sea World. The rooms are big enough that a family could stay there. For the price this is the best hotel I've stayed in while in San Diego.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseV784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Alex, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Old Town Inn. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is great to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

The Old Town Inn is perfect for the budget smart traveler looking for a quality place to stay in San Diego. We like to focus on cleanliness, genuine hospitality, and value. I hope that we brought all of these qualities to your stay.

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for your compliments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We did an overnight trip to San Diego, travelling on the Sea world shuttle and returned to Anaheim on the Amtrak, this hotel is ideally situated close to the Old Town transit center for those with or without cars. Sea World to the hotel is a short bus ride and San Diego zoo can be reached by trolley and bus as can all the San Diego tourist spots.The hotel is small but clean and comfortable with a good complimentary breakfast. The rooms are spacious and have a sink both in and outside the bathroom which helps with getting a family ready. The pool was surrounded by plants and lit at night so had a nice relaxing atmosphere at the end of a hot day. Old Town historic park is just over the road so great for finding a place to eat and some entertainment

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marble-frostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Alex, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn! We appreciate that you took the time to review us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and that we were able to meet your expectations. Our AAA, two star rated hotel is committed to providing you with an affordable, clean room with all the comforts of home. We like to focus on what is most important to our guests, and your feedback helps us greatly. I’m glad to hear that you liked the sink outside the bathrooms, I know how difficult it can be to get a family ready in a tiny bathroom!

Thank you for mentioning the pool area, we try our best to make the area lush and tropical, so that guests can relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Next time, check out our thoughtfully selected DVD library, which has up to date movies and many classics to watch for free.

Thank you again for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room was very clean, people at the front desk were nice, breakfast was fine (a waffle-maker made it somewhat above average, but the quality of the fresh fruit was low for SoCal), there's a pool, and parking is free. Very convenient for driving anywhere in San Diego, but not itself walkable to anywhere in particular. The reasonable price, friendly service and cleanliness mean I'd happily recommend it to other travelers.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights during our trip around the American Southwest. The service was excellent, from check in to check out. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, with Old Town San Diego a few minutes walk away, and the major San Diego attractions are within a 15-20 minute drive. Breakfast was very good too.

One thing that really impressed us was that the room cleaners tidied up our toothbrushes, shoes etc that we had strewn all over the room/bathroom in our hurry to get on with our sightseeing. Very nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay in San Diego. I hope that you had a great trip around the American Southwest.

I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed the service. Our staff works hard to provide genuine hospitality to our guests and truly appreciates your compliments. Thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff as well. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide the Old Town Inn with clean rooms and happy guests. We truly appreciate the hard work that these ladies put in every day.

We like to focus on what is important to our guests. As you mentioned, our clean rooms, comfortable beds, and good breakfast are all details we are proud to call part of out hotel. Our company culture is based on genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, and an affordable rate. We hope all of these qualities were included in your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,431 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing