We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We booked this hotel after all we read on trip advisor,it worked well for us as we wanted to be close to trolley line and old town for cinco de mayo.only thing that was a little tricky no shops within walking distance to feed the kids but great Italian food delivered to rooms, staff were great and so was breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannyandpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    548
    124
    28
    20
See reviews for
560
543
77
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We live in SD but wanted to get away for the weekend and stay somewhere in budget and nice. We love Old Town so this hotel suited us great. We were in the 2 queen bedroom with our 17 month old son it suited us great. Good fit for a family of 4. Buffet was the best offered continental breakfast I have had at a hotel. They had such great variety. Grounds are beautifully kept. Pool looked very inviting and clean. In the heart of San Diego. Great if your visiting to want to see the zoo, go downtow/ night life, Old Town of course and the ocean and airport. Found this hotel from trip advisor because it was rated so high in SD. One thing they could update are the TV's other than that great standard hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamartinez05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareOT, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Vamartinez05,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Town Inn. It’s great to read such a wonderful review, especially from a fellow San Diegan! We are honored that you chose the Old Town Inn for your family’s vacation, and very happy to hear that your stay went so well.

I’m also glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the room. We are in the process of installing new flat screens to every room, along with our DVD players. Next time you and your family visit, check out our free DVD collection. We have thoughtfully selected many different movies, old and new, and the majority of them are great for watching with the family.

Thank you for mentioning our continental breakfast and lush grounds. The Old Town Inn staff works hard to get these seemingly small things right, because we know that they are very important to our guests. It is always helpful to know what pleases our guests so that we can continue to provide the service and amenities that you/they expect.

As you mentioned, the Old Town Inn is in a unique place for a hotel. One benefit of being in a more industrial setting than a typical commercial setting is that it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I will freely admit that it may not be what people are used to but the majority of our guests enjoy the convenience of our property – short walk to the Transit Center, walk to Old Town, 2 miles from Sea World, 3 miles from the zoo, 3 miles to beaches, and 2 miles to Downtown. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere but minutes to everywhere,” which could not be more true.

Thank you again for the kind review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hardly 5 min walk from Old Town. Not exactly in Old Town. It's a walk through a parking lot but not bad at all. Was pleasently surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel. Room was excellent and both staff members we talked to were friendly and helpful. Free Parking and Continental Breakfast available.
Now we know why this hotel is highly rated

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of Old Town, but you have to cross the Pacific Coast Highway, through a parking lot, and under train tracks to get there. This is an industrial area. The front desk said that they've never had concerns with guests walking at night in the area, but I wouldn't. The room was very clean and in good condition. The building has a certain charm. We spent two nights there and that was plenty. Gets the job done. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaryPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our second stay at the Old Town Inn in San Diego, and we were happy with the consistent value and service. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean, well kept grounds with beautiful flora. We appreciated the free parking and wifi, microwave & fridge and the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in San Diego/LA. Spent 7nights at Old Town Inn and then a further 4 nights. The location is perfect for walking to Old Town, access to the Airport,Car Hire, Balboa Park, Gaslamp district, the beautiful town of Del Mar and Coronado. The staff are extremely helpful (particularly Anna who takes a real interest in your comfort and the enjoyment of your stay) and very committed to providing an excellent service whether it is in restocking the breakfast supplies, keeping the pool-side neat and tidy or making sure your room is up to scratch - you may feel the staff are just doing what they are supposed to be doing but they do not stint and actually take pride in the service they deliver. Nothing is too much trouble. It was lovely having the pool facility complete with beautiful foliage to relax by whilst working out our itinery for the day. Internet access was also very useful and easily available in the lobby area. I borrowed a book from the stock in the lobby and also made use of free DVD access. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: Aim for a room within the main complex and not the 'overflow' section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelPenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to review us here and we love to hear it when our guests enjoy their stay as much as you did. Being a small independently owned hotel, I feel we are more able to provide great service to our guests at a great value. I’m glad to hear you were able to visit so many of the attractions in San Diego, all within a few minutes drive. The best compliment we can receive is hearing a guest say they will be back or that they plan to recommend us to friends and family - we are very happy to hear that from you!

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Regards,

Rebecka | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently took a trip to San Diego for the first time, and after having read many reviews on many different hotels located in San Diego we decided to book a week at the Old Town Inn. So glad we did, the breakfast was delicious, very clean, and was always stocked. The hospitality was more than we could had asked for, the maids were on top of their job and even if we did not want our room cleaned they supplied us with extra towels, daily. Many reviews spoke about how the location was in an "industrial area". While it is not in the center heart of the city, it is so centrally located. The walk to Old Town was less than a minute away, and it was very convenient that it was Cinco De Mayo. The hotel was very clean, and charming. While staying, the town of San Diego experienced a water pipe burst and the hotel staff was very quick to provide water bottles, along with buckets for water out of a water tank which was very useful for the time being without water (several hours). It was very nice to see that the staff knew how to act in a time of unexpected problems. The hotel was just a minute walk away from the trolley which allows you to visit all around San Diego, and it is also just a moment away from the airport, restaurants, and many other convenient stores and attractions. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone coming to the area and we will be sure to come back to Old Town Inn, in the future!

Room Tip: We Stayed on the third floor behind the elevator, and the room was quiet and quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acar19958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#43 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing