We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very basic and clean rooms. Free parking. Service was excellent. Easy access to the highway to get to Balboa Park and downtown. 2 minute walk to the public transportation and to downtown Old Town. Complimentary breakfast served in the morning; pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, waffle maker etc. Best service I have ever had at a hotel and very affordable! I defiantly recommend this place if your looking for a basic, affordable place to stay on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoofoo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    609
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
620
605
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Janet received a bad cut on her hand at the trolley station. When we got to the inn, the ladies at the counter provided us with supplies to patch her up and were very concerned for her. She's doing well now thanks to them. The rooms were neat and clean. Needless to say, the next time we visit San Diego, my home town, we will be staying at the Old Town Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid room with a room above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I booked here based on all the very good reviews this place has received. I got turned around trying to find the place but I found it pretty quicky on Pacific Highway. The surrounding area makes you raise an eyebrow as might a few stray characters walking around the general area, but I decided to let the hotel speak for itself. Parking can be pretty tight depending on the size of your car and that made me a little more apprehensive. But the rest of the time was very comfortable and delightful. The weather was rainy and cold so no one was thinking about jumping into the pool. The front desk staff was VERY courteous and friendly and reminded us that they had free DVD rentals and a free breakfast in the morning. We did indeed utilize the free DVD rental option and the breakfast in the morning was great for being complimentary. They have a dining room where you can make your own waffles or have cereal or toast with peanut butter or jelly (all provided). And they have some awesome tasting pastries to satisfy your sweet tooth. Fruit is ALSO available. The room we rented had a useful kitchenette with drawers and a small convenient refrigerator. Our room was very clean and had two queen size beds. The bathroom was very small, unlike another reviewer's huge bathroom, but we only needed it for the basic essentials anyway. The one thing I did not particulary like was that the shower head was built for a midget..... It should be about a foot higher in my opinion, and I am short! The 27" old school television worked well and was equipped with all the cable channels you need. I am so used to the Vegas hotels that don't give you any variety, but this place has a selection! The beds were comfortable but a little on the soft side for me, and the blankets were pretty thin but nothing to ruin your night. I read that the traffic noise might bother you but I didn't hear much of it at all and I was in the middle towards the front on the first floor. This place is basic but very comfortable and what really makes it is the customer service. The breakfast in the morning just makes you feel like you got your money's worth. I will definitely come back here next time I stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Mike - Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate you mentioning some of our great free amenities like our thoughtfully selected movie library and our deluxe continental breakfast, also for the very nice compliments about our clean rooms and our wonderful staff. As you mentioned, the Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. Our hotel had its origin in 1945 and at the time, Pacific Hwy. was the only road for weary travelers coming from Los Angeles and Orange County. Our hotel was the first in a line of hotels that stretched to the downtown area. Though there have been many changes in San Diego, including the addition of freeways, our modest AAA 2-diamond hotel is still committed to providing great service and value to our guests. You’ll be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms with flat screen TVs and updating our bathroom tubs that will have raised shower heads. It is our goal to provide our guest with a warm welcoming atmosphere and comfortable accommodations. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to seeing you back at the Old Town Inn soon.

Mike M.
Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you can get over the location (sort of industrial area), you will be very surprised. The hotel is clean and neat, and the bathroom is huge. We got a 2 queen bed room, and the bathroom area has 2 sinks (one in the toilet/shower area, one outside, in the dressing area). Very handy when traveling with a family and everyone's always needing to use the sink! Also, the dressing area is useful for getting dressed when others are still asleep (it's sort of around a corner, so the light doesn't glare into sleeping people's eyes. Nice breakfast too.

Very convenient to Old Town, the malls and Mission Bay.

Suggestion for the management - can you put in taller showerheads/curvy shower head extenders? Would make a big different to taller folks!

A/C unit was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qaxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the other travelers on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family during your stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego. The staff greatly appreciates you pointing out the layout of the room and all the amenities in it, and as well as a few points of interest and conveniences in the area. All the details that you covered will be helpful insights for future guests and are truly appreciated.

Thank you for your mentioning the showerheads, I am happy to say that this change is marked for our next phase of upgrades. We hope by the next time you visit us you will see the difference. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the Old Town Inn soon.

Mike M. | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and eager to help. The individual who checked us in, I can't recall her name, was "in training" according to her badge. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We arrived a little bit early and she immediately radioed housekeeping to see if our room was ready, pointed out coffee,tea and water in the lobby and movies we would be able to borrow at no cost. She also pointed out the fact that we could purchase discount tickets to the San Diego Zoo from the Inn and provided us with a map of the area. We never would have known she was "in training" except that it was on her badge - she is clearly beyond this. The room was very clean, the grounds well taken care of. The bathroom was nicely partitioned off from the rest of the room. The sink area was seperate form the toilet and shower area, which also had another sink in there as well. The pool, although small would be ample enough to cool off and for kids to have some fun. We didn't get to enjoy it because the weather was cool. The breakfast each morning was adequate. Nothing fancy but a good start to the day. The individual in charge of replenishing everything was a hard worker and really hustled - all with a smile on her face. The only drawbacks, the reasons for a four rating and not a five, were traffic noise, location and a strangely low shower head. The traffic noise was easily fixed by turning on the fan in our room - the white noise silenced the traffic. Not a big deal but if white noise doesn't work for you... The location was kind of strange but not bad. If you are planning on driving to see things not a big deal. We actually preferred this to staying in busy downtown. The shower head was placed extremely low. I am 5'4" and it was tough for me. Again, not really a deal breaker but if you are really tall.... Where else can you stay in the San Diego area for this price that includes breakfast, parking, DVD's and a friendly, helpful staff? We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed here on a few occasions and have been consistently impressed with the overall setting and friendly staff. This motel offers a clean and fresh atmosphere and great value it is easily accesses by both car and rail I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMRB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I took a 2 year hiatus from SD and was extremely pleased that instead of going down hill, the Old Town Inn remained the same great place. The breakfast area has moved, but other than that, visitors will notice nothing different.
Old Town Inn has gorgeous flowers around the entire property. It is on Pacific Highway, but the traffic noise is minimal. The breakfast is awesome! They have waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, bagels, coffee...very expansive.
The only negative was that the bungalows had thin walls. I think if your neighbor was a night owl and you weren't it could be bad, but other than that, this place is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poseur247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your taking the time to let us know what we have to please you. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this year as much as you have in the years previous. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests. We do hope to continue serving you in the future!

Regards,

Rebecka | Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing