We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location!!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Old Town Inn while in San Diego for a quick get-away from the AZ heat! The Hotel was very nice and the staff very accomodating! Our room was great! We opted for the two queens with the kitchenette! we brought our dog alone (the hotel is very close to dog beach (google dog beach)). If you are looking for a place to stay in a quite area of San Diego and close to beaches, mission bay, corando island - a hotel not along the freeway (but not far from it), I highly reccomend the Old Town Inn!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to save $$ on food (eating out), ask for a room with a kitchenette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkeaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hello pkeaggy - Thank you so much for your review! One of my favorite things about our hotel is that we are pet friendly and we get some awesome pets that stop by! I really hope that we can see you and your dog again on your next trip to San Diego!

Regards, Rebecka
Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    616
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
632
616
84
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

While it is not right in the heart of Old Town, it is a quick walk across a stretch of the PCH with a pedestrian walk and then under the metro overpass right into the gates of Old Town itself. It is a bit far from the center of San Diego itself, but still easily reachable by car. Our motel room on the 2nd floor was surprisingly spacious. In addition to the fridge and microwave, our accommodations included a sofa and ample bathroom and sink space. The elevator came in handy during check-in and check-out. Parking was free but a bit crowded and tight, although the ever present monster trucks driven in by some of the other guests played a role in this. Still, it is a great place for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hi Paul - Thanks for your review! It's always nice to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us, whether it’s because of their satisfaction with our rooms or because our location is central to pretty much everything in San Diego. I would have to agree that getting to Old Town State Park is pretty easy, and oddly enough, you can get typically get there faster from our hotel then from some of the hotels that are right “in” Old Town. Hope to see you again in the future!

Regards, Rebecka
Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Old Town Inn while in San Diego for a quick weekend get-away. It was very close to the airport which was convenient for our early departure. We were able to walk to Old Town in minutes. The room was spotless. The hotel is on a highway but we didn't hear any street noise, particularly when the air or heat is on. The breakfast was generous and well done. They even have a sweet little pool. We would recommend it and would stay again on a future visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a little hotel with a good service and very clean. Great price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsmtzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Old Town Inn provided great value for the money. The rooms were small but comfortable, the staff was very friendly. My girflriend and I appreciated the free movie and board game rentals. The area was a bit quiet but centrally located and an easy drive to the major attractions in San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHWNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Choose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdisor and it was great. We stayed in a family suite and the room was huge. It had a little kitchen with a refrigerator and a microwave. Too bad we didn't bring any food as we could have used it, especially since the hotel is in an isolated area in Old Town San Diego. Not too many shops or restaurants around so I advise you to research for places to eat before your arrival here. Great pool and continental breakfast. Super close by to Sea World which is why we stayed here. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at OLD TOWN INN, San Diego, CA., for a week. This was the greatest place we have ever stayed in and we travel quite a bit. The pet friendly phrse, is exactly what you witness. The rooms are very affordable, neat, clean and spacious. If ever in San
Diego, check this Inn out before trying others. This will beat any large corporate hotels. Quiet, centrally located, near everything you would want to see or do. The hospitality of their staff bets none.

If you travel with pets, you will really enjoy the OLD TOWN INN. They handle you and your family, pets with your requests, information or anything else you could need.
Exceptional and a true leader in Hospitality, this is what OLD TOW INN is all about. Prices cannot be beat with what is offered.

Room Tip: Take the suites, they are very spacious, clean, neat and very affordable over any other large corpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelPower so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing