We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel to stay at....location, friendly staff, very clean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel to stay at....location, friendly staff, very clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a great stay....hotel was under construction but we were never bothered by the workers.

Front desk people were great to work with. Pat, on second shift was very helpful with directions, eateries, printing boarding passes and anything I could ask for. He also helped me with my new tablet. Mucho retaurants along the boardwalk.

Hotel location is great, clean and an ok breakfast. Parking underground really helps. We like the
active life style of Pacific Beach. Always someone jogging, rollerblading, bikes and such.

Room Tip: Rooms ocean front are the best. Corner room 202 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GRD1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments for the staff! Customer service is one of our fortes here at the OPI, so we're happy it made your stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the OPI - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    330
    62
    32
    36
See reviews for
305
423
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just returned from a visit to San Diego. I stayed 3 nights at the Ocean Pacific Inn. This hotel is right on the beach and is a great location in Pacific Beach. They have a heated pool and spa and there are always plenty of towels available. The hotel has an exit to the boardwalk and provides beach chairs and toys to use. You have to use your room key to get back into the hotel from this exit, so you feel very secure that nobody will "break into" the hotel while you are there.
Each room has a balcony with a table and chairs; a refridgerator and microwave, and a large desk and sitting area. Most of the bathrooms have been remodeled and they are beautiful.
They have a continental breakfast each morning and always have fruit and lemonade out during the day.
The staff is very friendly and accomadating. The underground parking is gated and there are many excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance. There is also a Starbucks and great grocery store right across the street.
They have great rates available right now as they undergo their upgrade. The workers are very considerate and it doesn't bother you at all that they are there. They do start early, but I am an early riser, so I didn't bother me at all.
They also give you 2 "personal towels" to use during your visit. They are very large plush towels that you can bring to the pool or even the beach.

Room Tip: During the construction specail, it is definitely affordable to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldewey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic, detailed review! It sounds like you took full advantage of our hotel amenities and some of the local attractions. We're elated you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We've been back to this hotel many times, because it's perfectly located right on the beach, close to Konos (my favorite breakfast place) and within easy striking distance of downtown, Sea World and (of course) the beach.

The hotel was under construction this time. The only real impact it had on us was we got a much nicer room than we had booked. The staff is very friendly and they went to great lengths to make sure everything was OK, despite all the work men around. My kids also love that the pool and Jacuzzi are really close when they end up getting a little cold at the beach.

A definite place to stay if you want to visit San Diego

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the Firehouse night club as it can be very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, David! We're happy to hear the construction ended up benefiting your vacation, and that your whole family enjoyed Pacific Beach. Next time you're daydreaming about one of those fantastic Kono's breakfasts, give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ok so the positives; big room with space for the kids in a separate area, nice little pool, decent staff, clean and well managed. Great views, right on the ocean front, and reasonable value in period.

The negatives; I guess we just didn't know the area too well, but it seemed a bit Spring Break - young crowd, pretty noisy, OK bars and restaurants but obviously catering to a younger (20-30) clientele.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, away from the bar above the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T5isHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! Next time you stay with us, be sure to swing by the front desk for the perfect local recommendations - Pacific Beach takes pride in its ability to cater to all demographics, whether it's an intimate evening over candle light, a family outing on the beach, or as you mentioned, friends on the town. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us, and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

For the price and the views you can not go wrong. My boyfriend and I stayed there November 8-10 2013. What a lovely place. Great restaurants in the area, great dinners in the area and a view from your room that, well you would not believe it. Just spectacular. The people are amazing in this area. Friendly staff. You can leave your sliding glass door open from the balcony and listen to the ocean all night. You smell the salty air and sweet dreams. The balcony area is great. They have 2 chairs and a table on all of the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. I recommend the 3 floor because the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room. Spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1buckethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
It sounds like your need for a vacation was fulfilled! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for uploaded those beautiful sunset pictures. If you have a moment, I'm positive our Facebook fans would love to see those! Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazier Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is our second time staying at Ocean Park Inn. We got a great deal on an ocean front room with balcony during construction at the hotel. We love the view, walking distant to restaurants, and most of the clean beach.

The only thing I can ding them on is the noise level at the local clubs (Firehouse club, etc.) being heard in the room. Saturday night was pretty loud until 2:00 a.m., however, Sunday night was much quieter.

Added bonus - We made it to Qualcomm Stadium in 20 minutes!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Donna! We are very centrally located in greater San Diego, so heading to a Chargers or Padres game is a breeze!

Our apologies for the restaurant next door. We have a fantastic relationship with the Firehouse and multiple safeguards in place to ensure the music does not get too loud on the weekends, so you can be sure we will conduct an investigation as to why it may have been louder than normal when you were here.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you for another Chargers game next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great time staying at the OPI for a local wedding. Walking convenience to many of the shops and restaurants in Pacific Beach. Construction rate was a HUGE bonus as I'm sure regular rates are much higher.

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view that overlooks the boardwalk. Well worth waking up to the surf
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the review, Jared! We're glad you enjoyed your time in San Diego - and don't worry, for your next trip out to San Diego you can find new specials on our website! See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#105 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#24 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing