We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Park Inn - a very special hotel in PB!!!”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been staying at OPI for many, many years and though we have other choices of hotels, we always come back to OPI!! Staff is superior and knowledgeable, housekeeping is efficient and considerate, engineer and maintainence are always available to help and lend a hand to "2" Senior Citizens. The hotel is right on the boardwalk next to the beach and the crashing of the waves are a welcome sound, 24/7. The pool and spa are always sparkling clean and the pool is heated to a very comfortable temperature. The hotel has upgraded the exterior w/new pool furniture and plantings, interior w/new lighting and the bathrooms are scheduled in the fall. Restaurants, grocery store, shopping, etc. are all w/in walking distance. To all: Thank you for such a wonderful stay - we'll see you again next year!!!

Room Tip: We like Room 322 on the north/west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmg1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are so happy to see you year after year, we're thrilled you've made us your go-to destination in San Diego! We're all pretty excited about the renovations this winter as well. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Park Inn over the 4th of July weekend. We found the hotel staff to be very attentive and accommodating. It was a very busy weekend with lots going on in and around the hotel. It got a loud on Friday night but tapered off over the rest of the stay.
I thought I would mention their security person; I saw him everywhere on property, keeping an eye on what was happening. I don't think he ever sat down, which is great considering that this hotel sits right on a very busy portion of the boardwalk with lots of foot traffic.
With that said, the rooms were clean and modern, the breakfast was good for continental style, and lobby has two beautiful salt water aquariums. The only negative I can think of is that it can be loud, and unless you are looking for the party environment, this is probably not the place for you on a weekend. All in all, thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the review and compliments! Our security staff truly works tirelessly to ensure our property remains comfortable and rules are followed - this is especially true on major holiday weekends like the 4th! Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel was clean a little pricey but close to the ocean and many restaurants to choose from. There are many places to walk to without driving. We have come here from the last five years and will probably return.

Room Tip: Close to the ocean and sea world and the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beleaveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for becoming such a loyal guest! You're absolutely right, we're situated in an incredible location both in Pacific Beach and greater San Diego. Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at your hotel several times in the last few years and like the area very much. I still think the rooms are expensive compared to the others in the area that have more amenities. This last one was quite expensive: $1000 for two night in a King suite. WOW. Oh well, I guess that I will look around more for the next visit in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Randall! We absolutely encourage prospective guests to shop around for other hotels in the area before staying with us. Why? They almost always come back and book with us!

The Ocean Park Inn has positioned itself very carefully: we are neither the most expensive nor the most affordable property in the area, we have the best location in town, and we offer the most complimentary and affordable amenities out of everyone! Of course, you will most definitely be able to find properties around Greater San Diego that have more to offer for less - but here on the beach, we guarantee you won't find better value.

Lastly, to receive even more bang for your buck, we would recommend signing up for our newsletter to receive special returning-guest discounts, and to choose dates that don't fall on peak holidays.

We do hope to see you again in the future, Randall! Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

During a beach vacation, there's nothing better than convenience, and that's exactly what the Ocean Park Inn gives you. If you're staying in the Pacific Beach area, there's no better place to stay. You're ON the beach, can walk to any restaurant you're interested in, you've got a grocery store & Starbucks across the street... it's perfect. We parked our car when we arrived and never saw it again - just like I like it. The rooms are good (nothing fancy - just clean & simple), but you don't go to California to hang out in a hotel room. The hotel's pool was heated and you could soak in the hot tub while looking at the waves crash. Totally ideal for any traveler.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review! We're so glad you were able to just relax and enjoy the SoCal sun while in town. I would highly recommend becoming fans with us on Facebook for that OPI fix when you just can't get out of the office to make it out here! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago and then again this June. I have found it really hard to get accomodation in Pacific/Mission Beach as everything is expensive and not very high quality.

Ocean Park Inn is a good hotel. It is in a good location to the beach, restaurants etc and its a quick drive to La Jolla.

It is quite old (it hasn't changed much since 08) but its clean and the staff are really nice and you get a great continental breakfast included.

Our room (which faced 2 pubs) was extremely loud on the weekend. It is definitely a party town lots of young people out and about all night.

I would suggest if you want something a bit more luxurious and quiet then stay at La Jolla. If you want fun, beach, parties then this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - although we're sorry to hear our neighbors were too loud. We have a close relationship with the restaurants around the hotel and we do everything possible to ensure the noise levels stay at reasonable levels. When you book with us next time, be sure to ask us which room types ensure the only noise you hear are waves crashing on the beach!

You'll be happy to know we are continuously renovating and updating the property. In addition to our renovated pool area, lobby, new carpets and paint, flat screen televisions, patio furniture, sofas, lighting, and our energy saving Greenstar thermostat system we've added in the last few years, later this year we'll be installing all new, beautiful bathrooms among other things!

We hope you give us another shot in the future! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booking.com and the Hotel made an error!!! After six hours of travel we arrived to a king room (3 people) and we had booked a queen room (4 people) with an ocean view. We were denied the king room because of the extra person!!!!
No manager was available.... they did however still have a queen room available...... but it would be $100.00 more per nite!!!
Or..... we could take another queen room-no view and plus $10.00 more per nite and an extra $10.00 daily for parking...we were not allowed to see it before registering!!! It was take it or leave it!!! RUDE!!
Although the rooms were clean and amenties close by...I feel this was very poorly handled...sorry Patrick.....no customer service award here!!!

Room Tip: Beware of bookings!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, Cathy! Booking through third parties always has the potential of being frustrating for guests because it very much ties our hands here at the hotel.

In this case, you were booked through a third party into a one bed room with too many people. We did our best to offer you our most affordable alternatives so your entire family could stay with us comfortably. For your future vacations, it is highly recommended for travelers who are booked through third parties to call the hotel directly after making the reservation to verify the third party's accuracy. Our sincerest apologies we could not offer you any further room and pricing options during your stay!

I am, however, disappointed to hear about your experience with my guest service agent. Rest assured, the matter will be investigated. I personally apologize if my guest service staff did not give you anything but the most professional and personable customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#222 of 286 in San Diego
180 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#141 of 286 in San Diego
222 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#145 of 286 in San Diego
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $152 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing