We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Ocean”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the Ocean”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel was clean a little pricey but close to the ocean and many restaurants to choose from. There are many places to walk to without driving. We have come here from the last five years and will probably return.

Room Tip: Close to the ocean and sea world and the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beleaveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for becoming such a loyal guest! You're absolutely right, we're situated in an incredible location both in Pacific Beach and greater San Diego. Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    338
    64
    32
    36
See reviews for
317
433
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at your hotel several times in the last few years and like the area very much. I still think the rooms are expensive compared to the others in the area that have more amenities. This last one was quite expensive: $1000 for two night in a King suite. WOW. Oh well, I guess that I will look around more for the next visit in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Randall! We absolutely encourage prospective guests to shop around for other hotels in the area before staying with us. Why? They almost always come back and book with us!

The Ocean Park Inn has positioned itself very carefully: we are neither the most expensive nor the most affordable property in the area, we have the best location in town, and we offer the most complimentary and affordable amenities out of everyone! Of course, you will most definitely be able to find properties around Greater San Diego that have more to offer for less - but here on the beach, we guarantee you won't find better value.

Lastly, to receive even more bang for your buck, we would recommend signing up for our newsletter to receive special returning-guest discounts, and to choose dates that don't fall on peak holidays.

We do hope to see you again in the future, Randall! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

During a beach vacation, there's nothing better than convenience, and that's exactly what the Ocean Park Inn gives you. If you're staying in the Pacific Beach area, there's no better place to stay. You're ON the beach, can walk to any restaurant you're interested in, you've got a grocery store & Starbucks across the street... it's perfect. We parked our car when we arrived and never saw it again - just like I like it. The rooms are good (nothing fancy - just clean & simple), but you don't go to California to hang out in a hotel room. The hotel's pool was heated and you could soak in the hot tub while looking at the waves crash. Totally ideal for any traveler.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! We're so glad you were able to just relax and enjoy the SoCal sun while in town. I would highly recommend becoming fans with us on Facebook for that OPI fix when you just can't get out of the office to make it out here! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago and then again this June. I have found it really hard to get accomodation in Pacific/Mission Beach as everything is expensive and not very high quality.

Ocean Park Inn is a good hotel. It is in a good location to the beach, restaurants etc and its a quick drive to La Jolla.

It is quite old (it hasn't changed much since 08) but its clean and the staff are really nice and you get a great continental breakfast included.

Our room (which faced 2 pubs) was extremely loud on the weekend. It is definitely a party town lots of young people out and about all night.

I would suggest if you want something a bit more luxurious and quiet then stay at La Jolla. If you want fun, beach, parties then this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - although we're sorry to hear our neighbors were too loud. We have a close relationship with the restaurants around the hotel and we do everything possible to ensure the noise levels stay at reasonable levels. When you book with us next time, be sure to ask us which room types ensure the only noise you hear are waves crashing on the beach!

You'll be happy to know we are continuously renovating and updating the property. In addition to our renovated pool area, lobby, new carpets and paint, flat screen televisions, patio furniture, sofas, lighting, and our energy saving Greenstar thermostat system we've added in the last few years, later this year we'll be installing all new, beautiful bathrooms among other things!

We hope you give us another shot in the future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booking.com and the Hotel made an error!!! After six hours of travel we arrived to a king room (3 people) and we had booked a queen room (4 people) with an ocean view. We were denied the king room because of the extra person!!!!
No manager was available.... they did however still have a queen room available...... but it would be $100.00 more per nite!!!
Or..... we could take another queen room-no view and plus $10.00 more per nite and an extra $10.00 daily for parking...we were not allowed to see it before registering!!! It was take it or leave it!!! RUDE!!
Although the rooms were clean and amenties close by...I feel this was very poorly handled...sorry Patrick.....no customer service award here!!!

Room Tip: Beware of bookings!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, Cathy! Booking through third parties always has the potential of being frustrating for guests because it very much ties our hands here at the hotel.

In this case, you were booked through a third party into a one bed room with too many people. We did our best to offer you our most affordable alternatives so your entire family could stay with us comfortably. For your future vacations, it is highly recommended for travelers who are booked through third parties to call the hotel directly after making the reservation to verify the third party's accuracy. Our sincerest apologies we could not offer you any further room and pricing options during your stay!

I am, however, disappointed to hear about your experience with my guest service agent. Rest assured, the matter will be investigated. I personally apologize if my guest service staff did not give you anything but the most professional and personable customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just finished a great family reunion, and I can't express enough how wonderful the Ocean Park Inn was to us. We had 31 guests in about a dozen rooms spread all over the property (depending on what folks wanted/needed). It was a great experience overall.

My sister and I, both from Southern California, scoped out many properties, and this one was perfect for a number of reasons: great location, great views, great pricing. The excellent staff was professional and friendly, easy parking - even got the big truck in the garage (and only $10/night), very flexible in terms of types of rooms, clean (and kept clean - someone was always washing something!) It was amazingly quiet given it is next to a restaurant and club (which the young adults partied at all night and the grand parents ate lunch at!), simple but easy breakfast bar - yummy make-your-own waffles. The staff truly made it happen: attentive managers (Matt was in particular a rock star!) and front desk folks, great pool staff, security was polite and paid attention, the cleaning staff was quick - never had to hunt to find someone to help. The even printed out 7 copies of directions and maps last minute with a smile and graciousness (thanks, Patrick!)

Staff answered questions from relatives across the nation over the six months of planning with helpful information and quick responses. We had relatives from 80 years old to 6 weeks, and everyone had a great time. Our little ones were in, out and around the pool the whole time, and the older folks were loving the hot tub. And the pool is only 4 1/2 foot deep, so no worries about the smaller kids.

What would I change? Well, there are some beach folks that seem to be struggling with drug addiction/mental illness that sometimes lay down write on the board walk. If it happens to be right in front of your room, you may have to see the police address the issue. There is short wall and solid, clear glass barrier surrounding the entire property with keycard access, so I never felt unsafe. Not a bad thing - just a reality of city living , and there is now way for hotel to control it. The police were quick to respond when the behavior was inappropriate (it only happened once all weekend).

I really can't say enough about the Ocean Park Inn. I would recommend to them to anyone!

Room Tip: Bottom rooms with full ocean view have the best furniture out the patio - cushy and comfortable, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy you chose the OPI for your family reunion - you were all an absolute pleasure to have around! I do hope some lasting family memories were made, and when you're ready for your next SD reunion, please don't hesitate to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family of 4 traveled to San Diego for Sea World and San Diego Zoo. We wanted a hotel on the beach and since there were no large name hotels (Marriott, Hilton, etc.) on the beach we chose Ocean Park Inn.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
The Room:
-------------------------------------------------------------------

1. We made last minute reservations so the ocean view room on the 1st floor cost $291.38 (including all tax/service charge) per night.

2. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.

3. The double queen room seemed spacious at about 475 sqft (44 sqm) and was perfectly comfortable with my 2 young children and wife.

4. The room included
4.1. 2 comfortable queen beds,
4.2. a comfortable leather couch,
4.3. small computer desk,
4.4. refrigerator,
4.5. microwave,
4.6. coffee maker,
4.7. 37” LCD TV,
4.8. hair dryer,
4.9. iron and ironing board,
4.10. iPod docking station/alarm clock,
4.11. in-room safe
4.12. FREE WiFi
4.13. and FREE continental breakfast


-------------------------------------------------------------------
The Area:
-------------------------------------------------------------------

1. This Inn is very close to all that's important !

1.1. The beautiful clean beach is only a few feet away

1.2. Firehouse American Eatery, Starbucks, 7-eleven, Ralphs, Pacific Beach Market place, Taco Bell, Ihop, CVS pharmacy, Joe's Crab Shack, etc. is in a very short walking distance.

1.3. Sea World is only about 5.5 miles away (~8.9 km)

1.4. San Diego Zoo is only about 11.5 miles away (~18.5 km)


-------------------------------------------------------------------
Tips:
-------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Choose the 3rd floor for best ocean view. The first floor is not that great since there is no way to open the sliding door from the beach area once you lock it so benefit of first floor is low.

2. If you don't want the ocean view room then request a place far from the Firehouse as that place gets very loud in the evening.

3. Parking under the Ocean Park Inn is $10 per night so check for a parking spot right outside the Inn which happened often for us.

4. If you leave earlier or later than the continental breakfast then iHop restaurant is a great choice and only a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1HotTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! It sounds like you put a lot of thought into your vacation, and we're very happy to hear your choice to stay with us ended up being the right one! Next time, be sure to swing by the front desk before buying theme park tickets and/or going out to dinner - we often have discounts and coupons! Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
900 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing