We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the location”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona, United States
1 review
“Can't Beat the location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is really just average but the location can't be beat. There are tons of restaurants in the area. You can walk or ride a bike to anything you can need. There are many options to rent bikes or surf boards (and lessons). The hotel is very secure and has great views of the ocean. We vacation in SD at least once a year and usually stay at the OPI. We will be sure to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Robyn! We're very happy to hear you've become loyal guests of ours for your trips out to the west coast. By the way, we very much value guest feedback so if you ever have suggestions for hotel improvements, please let us know! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    338
    64
    32
    36
See reviews for
317
432
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a partial view room but the view of the beach was excellent.

The rooms are slightly dated but this doesn't make much difference in h enjoyment factor.

There are a number of bars and restaurants close by and especially enjoyed the quiz at Nick's less than a block away.

On a side note, the bars do not accept anything other than passports for I.D. our driving licences were ok elsewhere but not here.

If we returned to PB then we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your time in town - Nick's is definitely a personal favorite of many staff members here. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My sister and I spent 5 nights in an ocean front 3rd floor room. All of the reviews here are accurate...perfect location with friendly and helpful staff. We went to San Diego to be near the ocean, and this hotel is PERFECT if that's your goal. We didn't rent a car. We took a cab from the airport...the 20 minute ride cost $38. The bus stop is less than a block away if you want to take in the many San Diego attractions. Ride all day for $7! We loved the Ocean Park Inn and hope to return one day. For now we will live vicariously through their newsletters and Facebook posts!

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the extra money! We were in room 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD70Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We're extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in Pacific Beach. We've developed a very active community on our social media networks (especially Facebook), so hopefully the beautiful pictures and hotel updates can hold you over until your next visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Decided to fly by the seat of my pants and get a room the day we arrived in San Diego. Glad we did. I found a room at Ocean Park Inn that was on special for $125.00 a night. Great price for being right on the ocean. Had a King size bed that was very comfy. Room was clean. Breakfast was provided and was good. People were very friendly and helpful. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the review Robin! It sounds like you booked one our last minute deals - that worked out perfectly! Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to stay on the beach in San Diego and happen to come across the Ocean Park Inn. We stayed three nights , enjoyed the outside patio, the continental breakfast, (which is much more than that), the hospitality of the staff was great, and we will be back again in the future. I also plan to schedual a "girls weekend" this year. Walking distance to the shops and resturaunts and just miles away from tourist attractions. The view of the beach was perfect, lots of people watching, and the pool & hot tub were an added bonus after a long day of shopping & visiting the San Diego Zoo. The room itself was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the service was prompt. Our refrigerator was not working and within minutes they brought another one and replaced it. I reccommend Ocean Park Inn as you will not be disapointed!

Room Tip: We chose to stay on the ground floor to have access to the outside patio with the comphy lounge chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litlmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and all the compliments! We're so glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities in addition to the area. Before you plan your next few stays with us, make sure you sign up for our newsletter to receive any specials and packages we may be running. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent three great nights here with ocean breezes and the sound of the surf pouring in through the open balcony door. Great view, convenient location and excellent customer service. Rooms are a little small, decor is dated, but still excellent as ALL staff were helpful, freindly and very welcoming. They seemed to enjoy their jobs. Very refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the compliments, Olivia! We've developed a wonderful culture here at the Ocean Park Inn, and our staff truly enjoys making our guests' experiences in San Diego as enjoyable as possible. We're so glad you enjoyed your time us - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ocean Park Inn is truly a Pacific Beach classic property. Located within steps of the beach, the view from an ocean front room balcony is spectacular as you look down the coast to Mission and Ocean beaches to the south, and Crystal Pier to the north. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the basics. There is a small table and chair set on the balcony which is great for catching afternoon sun and of course, sunsets! Jacuzzi and pool area is quite nice, with access directly to the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. For the real PB experience, this place definitely dials it in. Just watching the flow of people on the promenade is a great way to pass the time. There are countless restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel and the whole town has a great beach vibe. I've stayed there about 5 times and have always had a consistently good time.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricktrebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the review, Rick! You're absolutely right, people watching is definitely one of the most entertaining activities here in Pacific Beach. We're glad you've become such a loyal guest - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#131 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#148 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing