We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed here a few times. I really love the location. It is great if you like the beach. And there is everything you could want or need close by. The property is clean. I would return here again.

Room Tip: I like the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for becoming such a loyal guest! If you haven't already, join our newsletter for special returning guest deals and packages! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    331
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
309
426
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chacras de Coria, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perfect location.

I would clearly stay there again. No doubt.

A little bit expensive given the category of the services.

The breakfast is very much "complimentary"...

Very warm personnel, except for the lady that attends the breakfast.

The younger staff in the front desk appear to be not too informed about local tourism details.

Room Tip: The highest possible floor facing the beach. The rooms on the back will be clearly affected by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NOI430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! You'll be happy to know that we are continuously training our newest staff members not only on hotel procedures, but local tourism details as well - by your next stay, they'll have it down! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family recently completed our third stay at the OPI and were once again very impressed with the location, cleanliness and above all the service.

We stayed in an Ocean Front room which overlooks the promenade and the beach. The room was quiet at night even with the windows open to hear the ocean. This is almost a miracle given the hotel's proximity to a fire dept. and a number of happening restaurants & pubs.

While the location is spectacular each of our 3 stays I have been blown away by the friendly and accommodating staff. They all were (i'd love to name you all but for the 6 I interacted with I only remember Benny & Patrick's names) very friendly especially to my 6 year old. They were always quick to help out whether it was a recommendation on how to get to the zoo, a place to eat, beach towels or even an emergency cork screw!

We loved our trip and the people really make us feel welcomed back each time we go. I"m sure they don't remember us but we sure remember them! Can't wait to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean side room - it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vpfreedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Our staff works very hard to ensure our guests are enjoying their stay to the fullest - compliments like yours are always very rewarding! We're extremely glad you've become loyal guests of ours, and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Quick drive from the airport and you are on vacation. Staff friendly at the front desk at arrival. Pat set us up with the perfect room for our family, just what we needed. This is a budget property, so don't expect a spa like room. It was clean, everything functioned as expected. The mini fridge was perfect for us, as was the in room safe. Our youngster enjoyed the nice clean pool with the view of the beach to people watch. We enjoyed the hot tub that was warm enough and the water was pristine. You are right on the beach, location perfect for those who choose to run the beach, suntan, rollerblade or just relax and people watch. Staff were friendly, eager to help.
The property was surprisingly quiet at night considering we were next to a bar or two. They must have paid attention to sound proofing when this place was built, I could not hear my neighbor in any direction, very unusual.

Room Tip: 316 is bigger than the others, ocean view but not ocean front. Be sure to specify ocean front or oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a great review! It sounds like you took full advantage of many amenities here at the OPI, and we're happy to hear the entire family had such a great time! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Why come to SD and stay anywhere els. Upgraded rooms with comfortable beds, all the extras I need when I want to get away, yes, even great internet service to get some work done. Second to none view on a huge boardwalk with tons of stores, resteraunts and nightlife. I come here once a month for work and have stayed downtown but OPI is my favorite. I sit on my balcony, looking out at the ocean and all the scenery walking by and never want to go home. We vacation here every year with the kids and grandkids as you can't beat the private pool when you want to get away from the salt water and sand. Well worth the $$ and the staff is second to none in making my stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Don't settle, get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so happy to have you as a loyal guest, and once again we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Make sure you're signed up for our newsletter to receive news, updates, and specials for future stays! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Couldn't be happier. Incredible view, helpful staff, good price, clean room. Loved our stay here. It was right across the street from Pacific Beach Brewery. I plan to return. I don't like that we have to pay for parking but they discounted our room $10 a month to cover that. Beach was steps away as were countless restaurants, bars, and places to shop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review Bryan! It sounds like you enjoyed your time here in Pacific Beach. You're correct, we do charge a nightly $10 fee to park in our garage each night. The good news, however, is that our fee is the lowest in the area as other properties get up to $36 per night to park! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is a great destination for anyone. The hotel is very clean and the staff are awesome. 3 in particular went out of their way and made our experience even better. I would like to say thank you to Storm, Pat,and Matt. Your smiles and kind greetings made us feel at home. Loved my morning coffee and little chat with Storm. She's a very nice lady. Also thanks Pat for hooking us up with the larger beach towels, that was very much appreciated (we're not little people) This place is also located within walking distance of great food,shopping and fun bars. We had an ocean view room with balcony and the view of the sunset was stunning..watch for the "green flash". The ocean park also has underground gated parking garage which was a bigger deal to my husband.(he's into cars, I'm not) Anyway, I'm still on vacation and need to cut this short but I will end with the promise that the next time I come to San Diego, we will be staying at the Ocean Park Inn on pacific beach and would highly recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: Didn't have fitness center or restaurant on site to rate above. Our room was facing ocean and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! You guys were an absolute pleasure to have around, so we're elated you enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for all the wonderful compliments - I do hope you were successful is seeing the elusive "green flash" at sunset. We all look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing