We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing location before the summer rush!”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing location before the summer rush!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked a poolside, ocean facing room third floor and absolutely loved it. The staff was so accomodating and friendly. The saltwater fish aquarium is so calming to watch every morning at breakfast. The upgrades that are being made are perfect while retaining the vintage look of some of the older parts of the hotel. Stayed by the pool one day and was so relaxing I didn't want to leave. Asked for new dining experiences at the front desk and were given some coupons for some of the newer restaurants in the area. Always worth trying! Went back to our old faves... Nick's on the beach, Lahaina's and the Green Flash. No trip is complete without coffee from Kona's. Looking forward to our next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soltera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
As always, we very much enjoyed having you guys as guests here at the OPI. Thank you for being such loyal guests, for all the wonderful comments and reviews, and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    337
    64
    32
    36
See reviews for
316
432
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean room. Great location right on the beach. Walking distance to a number of restaurants and bars. We had a pool facing room on first floor - opened up to a cute shared porch area that then opened up directly to the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inafog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We hope you enjoyed the brand new patio sofas for our first floor rooms in addition to the furniture out by the pool. Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were booked in another beachfront hotel that I will not name, and the rooms were terrible. We saw the Ocean Park Inn while walking the boardwalk and stopped in to see if they had any available rooms. The front desk person was so VERY HELPFUL! He found us a room with an ocean view and it was wonderful! We checked out of the other place and moved to the Ocean Park Inn that afternoon. We will most definitely stay there for our next trip to San Diego. The location on Pacific beach is also a big plus for close restaurants, entertainment and shopping all in walking distance.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an ocean view. Rooms have a small balcony with 2 chairs to relax and enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear the move over to the OPI had such a positive impact on your trip! It is a rewarding experience for the staff when we can assist guests in creating positive San Diego memories. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Amazing view from our 3 rd floor room facing the ocean. Sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep. Just steps a few from the boardwalk. The staff could not do enough for us. Made great suggestions for restaurants, gave us a coupon for bike rental when we mentioned biking. Breakfast was perfect just enough to choose from. We stayed in room 313
And for some reason the WI Fi did not work unless we were on the balcony. The view from this room was amazing right in the middle facing the ocean. We are Looking forward to staying here
Again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for an ocean view. Also very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're all very happy to hear the staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I bought a 2 night deal on livingsocial back in January 2012- Went with my boyfriend and we had a great time! Location is right on the boardwalk and beach, convienent to everything in Pacific Beach. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms (mainly the bathrooms) were a little outdated but still nice and very clean. We had a ground level room, I imagine the higher leveled rooms have a better view but we still loved sitting on our private patio watching the sunset. For a livingsocial deal- 2 nights for $250 this was a great buy. If you're paying full price, i'd still recommend it but remember you're paying for the beach front location rather than the quality of the hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you took advantage of that LivingSocial deal...stay tuned for similar deals online in the future. Another great way to find specials is by signing up for our newsletter! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just completed perhaps our 7th stay at the Ocean Park Inn, and we cannot wait to return. If you love wonderful sunsets, great walking on the boardwalk or beach, and helpful staff, this is the place for you. We love booking an ocean front room so we can go to sleep and wake up with the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so glad you have become such loyal guests of ours! Thank you for becoming part of the OPI family, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed the four nights we spent at the Ocean Park--a family trip over spring break. We enjoyed being on the beach and found the location to be convenient for visiting San Diego, La Jolla, and the environs. We wish we had booked earlier to get a beach side room, rather than a partial view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are all happy to hear the entire family enjoyed their time in San Diego. When you start planning your next family vacation to the Ocean Park Inn, book early as we have very few 2 Queen Ocean Front rooms! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#127 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#149 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing