We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas on the ocean!”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas on the ocean!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a great stay at Ocean Park Inn...we had an oceanfront room right on the boardwalk, ocean and in the heart of PB!! Very quiet at night except for the lapping waves of the ocean! Clean and comfortable....not to mention one of the best priced hotels in the area that includes a limited, but sufficient breakfast! Staff was friendly. Bathrooms were a little dated but clean. Bottom line is we would recommend this hotel and will be returning for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Make sure you're fans of ours on Facebook for special deals and offers toward your next stay with us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    338
    64
    32
    36
See reviews for
317
433
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As the title suggests the BEST thing about this hotel is the location. You really can't beat it for the price. There are so many shops and restaurants around you don't even need a car. Everything is within walking distance and that was great!

As for the hotel itself, it's okay. Not a five star resort, or anything, but it's clean and tidy and that's all that matters. In my opinion, it could use a major remodel to bring it into the 21st century, as it seems a little dated. But that's all just cosmetic stuff.

The service was great. Everyone was really nice and helpful.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a spot on the beach at a really great price.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with an ocean view, otherwise you will be staring at an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wennifer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! Pacific Beach is truly an awesome area for walking around - it's among the top destinations in Southern California because of the variety of restaurants, bars, and stores.

You'll be happy to know that our hotel renovations and updates will be continuing this winter. In the last couple of years we successfully renovated our lobby and pool area, installed new carpeting throughout the hotel, and gave the property a fresh coat of paint. This winter will focus more on the room, updating bedding and window fixtures, lighting, sofas, art, etc. You will undoubtedly see many of these changes the next time you arrive!

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at an ocean front room in the highest (third) floor. What an awesome view of the San Diego beach. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom is somewhat dated. The only downside is that the surrounding area to the hotel is not upscale (you see some homeless, etc.), but that's no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwan1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!

Our little beach town, like most beach towns up and down the coast of California, has a small group of transients. They rarely bother our guests, however, and when they do the strong police presence in the area calms the situation almost immediately. Unfortunately, it's just one of those commonalities for California beach communities!

We're happy you enjoyed your ocean front room - hopefully you were able to see some dolphins swim by and/or one of our beautiful, colorful winter sunsets! Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

They are very accomodating. They offer ocean view rooms and partial ocean view rooms and they have a couple of suites with a kitchenette. Which is very nice for those with a special diet. They have secured parking and a beautiful all year round open swimming pool and hot tub outside. If you do not have a special diet, they offer breakfast for a little while (near the lobby). They offer a spa - but I did not try it. I was quite busy enjoying the outdoors.

Room Tip: If you are going to go with a Suite - go for the highest floor for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine10001000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! You're absolutely correct, we do have a few suites on the property with kitchenettes (including a 2-burner stove and all the utensils) which are perfect for families or those with special diets. There is a grocery store and drug store right across the street, so it can be extremely convenient! Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel on PB that is a decent value. Parking is $10 which seem punitive, wireless is very weak and disconnects frequently. They need to spend some $ on a better wireless system, more powerful router. By the pool it doesn't work.

Maids are good but very noisy in their room near room 121. It makes it IMPOSSIBLE to sleep which them chattering early mornings and late afternoons. Mgt. needs to address that.

I will come back, rooms are clean and only the sinks, toilets and tubs are dated (pink etc). The rest of the resort is nice, good breakfast, pool and location to the beach. Front desk staff was very nice and acomodating.

Room Tip: No fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I want to personally apologize for the WiFi connectivity issues and our noisy housekeeping staff. I am happy to report, however, that both issues have been addressed since your stay! Our WiFi connectivity issues will be fixed within the week, and we have implemented new policy for our housekeeping staff to keep the noise down and out of public areas. I again apologize on behalf of all of us here at the Ocean Park Inn. We look forward to seeing you again - make sure you're signed up for our monthly newsletters to receive specials for next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great stay at Ocean Park Inn. LoCated right on the beach and near the boardwalk and pier. Highly recommend to take a walk out to the pier and see the cottages there (Crystal Pier Hotel). Our room with 2 queen beds partial ocean view was big and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teens. We could see the ocean, palm trees, and the pier from the balcony of our room. Breakfast was adequate with cereals, bread,bagels, make your own waffles, pastries, hard boiled eggs, juice, and hot drinks. The reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming, especially Satchin who came out to direct us to the car park when we first arrived. The free wifi could be slow at times but one should not be on the Internet much when on vacation :). A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Pacific Beach! Crystal Pier is absolutely beautiful, and a great place to spot dolphins and do some fishing. You'll also be happy to know that we are approximately one week out from upgrading our WiFi system so by the time you stay with us again, you won't have any issues! Thank you again for the review and compliments about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although the population drops in this area severely during the winter months, it just means our stay at this hotel will be less hectic. And it was! We have been coming here since its origination from the old Kala Kai in the 70s and 80s to the new improved version of Ocean Park. This place is centrally located and has a parking garage. Our room for the first time was on the 1st floor with an ocean view and patio since we normally stay on the 3rd floor. You have easy access to the boardwalk and ocean in "seconds". If you wish, sit in the patio area and watch the bikers, skaters, and passerbys roll by. Free continental breakfast is excellent. There are many nearby restaurants to choose. This is one of the place of choice for us "zonies" who come in during the summer months from Arizona to keep cool.

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor with an ocean view. However, you are literally "seconds" to the boar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collegeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, and more importantly, for being such a loyal guest! The Ocean Park Inn is owned by the same family who originally bought this land back in the late 1960's. Since then, the Kala Kai was built and demolished, and the Ocean Park Inn built in the early 1990's. You are amongst a small group of loyal guests who remember the old Kala Kai and have been staying with us ever since! Thank you for the your loyalty, and we look forward to your many future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
899 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing