We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family stayed there last weekend, we rented two rooms, one was an ocean front view and the other was a partial view. Both rooms were great. My oldest son and his family were in the partial view room and it was more of a view than I thought they were going to get, but it was nothing compared to ours,straight on to the beach, the only thing between our hotel and the beach was a sidewalk. SWe were on the third floor so we slept with the sliding door open all night, and coming from Arizona its a treat to sleep with the window open in August. There was some noise from people leaving the bars late night/early morning, but it wasnt that bad. You will see a lot of drunk people one night falls, the walkway has a lot of bars on it. There are several restraunts in walking distance, we never used our car once we arrived. the continentail breakfast was better than most. If you are looking for a fancy upscale beach hotel, this probably isn't the one for you. But if you are looking for an affordable beach front CLEAN hotel, this is a wonderful place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJonesAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review! We're very happy to hear your entire family was able to enjoy their time with us. Being able to have the slider open, falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach is one of our top selling points - and being able to do this year-round, well, that's San Diego! Come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We researched OPI on Trip Advisor and thought it would be acceptable based on the mostly positive reviews. When we arrived we experienced firsthand a dark, dirty, and smelly hotel. We felt unsafe both inside and outside the hotel. We paid a significant amount for the room which made our experience even more disappointing... actually angering. The manager does an exceptional job of monitoring/controlling the Trip Advisor reviews. I wish the manager would spend more time and energy on the hotel itself. We have travelled all over and I have never encountered a situation quite like this. Our absolute worst hotel experience ever!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EricsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Eric, we would very much like to get a more accurate description of what exactly was "dark, dirty, and smelly." We are well-known for being an extremely clean property, and thus take issues like these very seriously so they can be rectified ASAP. Additionally, we do not have safety issues, nor have guests had any issues in the area. We would appreciate a more accurate description so we can take any measures possible to ensure our guests are comfortable during their vacations. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 3 days on a double bed océan view room. The hôtel is very Nice and the employees are very helpful especially to help finding good restaurants and competitive surfrental in the area. The view from the room is perfect: straight on the promenade and the sea. It offers also parking and good breakfast in the room price.
Jerome

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for such a kind review! We are happy to hear the guest service agents and the wonderful location made your vacation so great. Please visit us again the next time you are in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Room: We had an oceanview room on the 3rd floor over the pool. Behind the pool was some ocean in sight, left and right were other blocks of the hotel. Nobody above us and the room far from elevator, icemachine, and street made it sufficiently quiet. The room itself was nice and spacious, the kingbed very comfortable, the bathroom large.
Staff: Everybody at the reception desk was helpful and friendly at any time. They had lots of good suggestions, a nice list of driving directions, and always time to discuss them, to make calls for us etc. Thanks a lot for making our stay so pleasant!
Location: It's great to be on the beach with several nice restaurants around. To go to other places like Seaworld, Zoo, La Jolla, ... was easy by car.
Car: It was great to have a garage for the car. $10 per day seems to be ok.
Breakfast: This was just sad...!!! Not at all adequate to standard and price of the hotel. Tables and floor dirty; choices like a two-star-motel. Toast, bagels, some cheap pastries, cornflakes, packed cream cheese and jams, packed oats, hard boiled eggs, waffle maker with poor waffle dough, apples, bananas, coffea, artificial juice; that was it. I missed other bread, a choice of cheese and ham, better pastries, real oats, other cereals, hot choices of egg, bacon, sausage, real juice, and more fruit like pineapples, melon, strawberries. I also missed bowls in which to microwave the packed oats (one package!) without finding half of it all over the microwave... Speaking of the dishes: all cheap plastic flatware, paper plates, and styrofoam bowls and cups. That's far too much unnecessary trash and unpleasing to use.
Overall: We liked everything very much but the breakfast and the very high rate. Because of these two, I would thoroughly compare before returning to the ocean park inn.

Room Tip: 313, 314, 315 (and probably more) are above the pool with some oceanview and away from most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinrintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! Feedback such as yours is quite valuable as management and ownership plan for the future.

It sounds like you had one of our beautiful partial view rooms! These rooms provide great bang-for-the-buck with the ocean view and balcony. We're happy you enjoyed the room. Also, thank you for the kind words about the staff! We do what we can to make sure each guest feels welcome and gets all the assistance they need.

Your comments about our complimentary breakfast have been noted, and you'll be happy to know we are currently exploring other options. Please note, however, we cannot offer more than a continental breakfast - thus the hot eggs, bacon, etc. is not an option.

Thanks again, enjoy the rest of your time in the states!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, but that's it. It is very old, the room are spooky looking, old AC that makes a lot of noise, every time someone upstairs form your room flushes the toilet you'll hear it. When you walk out of the hotel the first thing you'll see is a lot of homeless sleeping on the sidewalk. The continental breakfast is really bad. The pool is very small and dirty. The only good thing is that it's ocean front and Patrick that works the front desk and is a sweet heart. The price is incredibly high for what you get.

Room Tip: If you are going to pay for a room with a view make sure you get at least on the second floor. I go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruperta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

You'll be happy to know in the coming months we will be continuing our efforts to update the rooms. In the last few years, we have renovated the lobby, pool, and breakfast areas in addition to providing all new paint and carpet throughout the hotel. Also, I would highly recommend coming back to the beach in early fall when all the hotels drop their rates significantly. In summer, although our rates are extremely competitive with beachfront hotels in the area, prices in San Diego are definitely much higher June through mid September.

I would like to thank you for the kind words about my staff. Pat has been with us for some time now, and your kind comments will be taken into consideration during the next performance evaluation. Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We vacation in San Diego 2 or 3 times a year and fell in love with the wonderful and pleasant location of Ocean Park Inn. Its right on the beach, which is GREAT for people watching. It's located next to the Fire House American Eatery and Lounge which has the most delicious dishes and they give you 10% off your bill if you mention or provide something from Ocean Park Inn. The Ocean Park Inn staff is so friendly, whenever we walk in they remember us. The free breakfast is delicious.....not because its free but beacause they have a vast selection of your "at-home" comfort breakfast foods......even boiled eggs! Ocean Park Inn is very accomodating and we would NEVER saty anywhere else in San Diego/Pacific beach. There are alot of great restaurants in walking distance. The Green Flash, Kona and a place right across the way above the T-shirt shop. If you are going with family or friends, 10 years old to 55 years old, this is a great place. OH ......THEY HAVE SUITES TOO!

PITA from AZ!

Room Tip: rooms facing Pacific Beach are tranquil especially if your not on bottom floor and choose to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

What a review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write that! It sounds like you really got to take advantage of the hotel amenities and the local area. You're absolutely right, there are a ton of great restaurants within walking distance including the favorites you mentioned. Did you know the Firehouse American Eatery also does room service for us? Maybe next time you can try it out!

Your review is much appreciated, and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Oh how I missed visiting this propery, and the last minute airfare only allowed us to stay here for 3 great days.the property was well kept, just like the last visit, and the ocean front room was so relaxing.I think the breakfast buffet had such a wide selection, nol one could walk away hungry. The staff is so eager to please and friendly; a wonderful escape from the Arizona heat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Welcome back! We're happy you could find the airfare to escape that AZ heat and enjoy the nice cool Pacific breeze. Keep an eye out for our email newsletters - we may just convince to come back out this year! Take care, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
975 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 278 in San Diego
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#135 of 278 in San Diego
219 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#144 of 278 in San Diego
379 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $145 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing