We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for trip with infant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for trip with infant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here on a Thursday and Friday night with our 3-month old. The room was fantastic! Our balcony was right on the PB boardwalk, so when the baby was sleeping, we could sit out there and feel like we were on the beach. We spent both nights people-watching! We all slept great with the blackout curtains, king bed, and hotel-provided crib. The sound of the ocean waves also probably helped! The hotel had all the amenities we expected, including a microwave and refrigerator in the room, a sofa and seating area, free Wi-Fi, and free breakfast. The breakfast was standard continental hotel fare, but that was fine with us. The heated pool and hot tub were excellent. From the time we pulled into the driveway until we checked out, the front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. They even provided a beach umbrella and beach toys. The hotel is also perfectly situated for walks along the boardwalk or into town for shopping. We spent almost the entire time just wandering around PB, checking out the shops and interesting beach houses. Would definitely recommend staying here if you want a somewhat affordable beachfront hotel in PB.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    321
    60
    31
    36
See reviews for
294
404
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raytown, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked for Friday and Saturday nights. Great location, comfortable room, million dollar views. standard fare for free continental breakfast; made my own waffle. Fruit in lobby along with Halloween candy. Friendly staff recommended restaurants for dinner. Lots of food choices but none were very upscale. Pool area was very clean. Nice wicker lounge chairs around the heated pool and spa. My only complaint was a pounding bass from a local club at night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frq64138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our 4th vacation spent at Ocean Park Inn. We return because of the great value and great location, right on the beach! And of course the staff - we are always made to feel like friends, not just paying customers. We are frequently asked if there is anything they can do to make our stay better. It's not a 'giant chain hotel', really is an INN.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms for the view, and request the north side of the Inn since it is quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
242 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I've been staying in the Pacific Beach area fairly regularly for a number of years and have defaulted to staying at the Best Western Blue Sea Lodge a couple of blocks away. However, the B.W. has gone downhill and really is in need of a refurbishment. Last time I was there, the telephone didn't work and the front desk and security guy were of absolutely no help in trying to get me a phone that would work (also never offered to let me switch rooms or give me a discount off the price of the room.

So, I ran across the Ocean Park Inn and the rate was similar to the B.W. so I thought I'd give it a try. What a wonderful surprise! The place has clearly been renovated more recently than the B.W. (though they should fix up the elevator and elevator lobby from the garage - first impressions are important). Clean, too. Patrick at the front desk was great. All in all, stay here unless you're willing to pay $200 plus at some of the other upscale places down the road.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

i knew i didn't have to worry to find a place to stay in PB for the night. front desk service was friendly and took care of what you needed. thanks to alexandra and the rest of the staff. registration...check inn and chilling out at the pool next to the walkway on PB was awesome. i would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinghigh262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had the pleasure recently of staying at the Ocean Park Inn on a girls trip. We originally had two ocean view balcony rooms, but at the eleventh hour realized that was more room than we needed, so we were able to switch to their Two Queen Suite. This room accommodated our group of five nicely. We thought we'd be pretty crowded in it, but that wasn't the case at all. The bedroom with the two queens was quite spacious, and the couch in the living room pulled out to a queen sleeper, also with plenty of space to maneuver around it. We liked having a dinning table and the kitchenette was a nice touch with large plastic tumblers for our cocktails and Fiestawear(!) for our nightly snack spread.

If I was going to find something to nitpick, the carpeting felt a bit icky under bare feet and the balcony was smaller than the rooms around us.

Customer service was perfect and accommodating, the pool area was tops, and a continental breakfast saved us every morning while we got our act together to go eat somewhere. Being that you're smack in the heart of PB, it can be a bit noisy but you're probably not choosing this hotel for a peaceful and quiet experience. With that said, we didn't have any noise issues when trying to sleep at night... definitely would recommend the Ocean Park Inn.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a balcony ocean view room - that's why you're staying at the beach!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MoreTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I would have to say it is pretty difficult picking out a place to stay from the internet. I found Ocean Park Inn from a San Diego travel website and could not have been happier with my find. I was nervous for what to expect, but was so thrilled when I arrived. Wonderful location with beautiful views!...perfect walking distance to stores, restaurants, and most importantly the beach! Also great location for driving to popular attractions. This hotel had an amazing beach front view. We first at the 1st floor ocean view room, did not like it due to it having a joined balcony with the other guests. Alexandra at the front desk did not hesitate and never asked questions about changing our room to the 2nd floor with the ocean view to have a private balcony. Both rooms were very clean as well as the whole hotel! All staff was very friendly and never hesitated to help in any way. Breakfast was very enjoyable with the area always kept clean. Pool and hot tub were great, especially with the palm tree and gorgeous sky view! Weekends around the hotel seem to attract a very large and lively college age group to the bars and surrounding area, however it all calms down the next day and week day nights. My husband and I felt very comfortable and safe there which was extremely important to us, that is why we recommend it to all the people we know and cannot wait to come back!!!...especially that the front desk staff was very accommodating when my husband surprised me by shipping our wedding cake topper to the hotel on dry ice to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful surprise and I thank them very much for allowing that which made our stay more memorable!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor have better beach view since you are higher up. They also have individual balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny61405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#104 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#24 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing