We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location Bad in Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego North
Ranked #212 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location Bad in Room”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located at the middle of major san diego attractions, 15 minutes drive to center. Mcdonald's is walk distance, Eating and Laundry can easily be reached by car. Poor in room equipments: you can hear loud noise from the wall, especially the water sound from next door. Late arrived guests usually made a lots of noise. Suggest to prepare ear protection.

Room Tip: Smoke room smells not so smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Any motel that you have to drive down an alley past a chinese restaurant and 2 cop cars should have screamed to us to turn around. We decided to keep our reservations anyways, but that was a mistake.

The drug deals and meth addicts/hookers in the parking lot, meant we rushed right to our room. There we were hit with the stench of smoke and chemicals (despite being a smoke free room), a burnt comforter covering stained sheets, strange stuff on the walls, a non-draining sink with no hot water, a moldy shower, thin tiny towels, a TV with bunny ear quality signal, and a toilet that had been glued back together.

I will admit that I tend to not leave reviews when I'm rather neutral on the subject, but this motel was a slum. Nothing has been "refreshed" as the website claims, unless you count the dirt that might get washed off during a rainstorm. I've spent 27 nights in hotels over the past year and this wasn't the cheapest one, but it was the worst.

Please don't stay here if you want to enjoy your trip to beautiful San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Encinitas, California
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Room was clean, carpet worn a bit. Bath Towels were threadbare and small...probably the cheapest possible. Everything worked, hot water was hot. Basic. As a value for the money, it was acceptable at best. I'll be using Motel 6 now and then...no major complaints and it was handy.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Unfriendly service, musty rooms, dogs everywhere - on the positive side the wake up call came as promised and the taxi arrived on time. You can do better somewhere else...

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank davidfitts901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#187 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego North

Property: Motel 6 San Diego North
Address: 5592 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2347
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego North 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing