We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, considering our situation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley
Ranked #209 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Bad, considering our situation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We chose this hotel on Hotel Circle because we were traveling with 2 small dogs. We have stayed at the Motel 6 by the airport before but the air traffic noise is too much. This hotel did suit our needs and we liked the location as you can access old town or downtown easily by car. We stayed in the 4 story building on the 4th floor and they have plenty of parking. Looks like they were doing some remodeling on the older section of the hotel. The room price is cheap but you get hit with a 10.5% tax. The room was somewhat clean, but the carpet stains made the room seem dirty. The shower was great, awesome water pressure. The noise level was not bad, but you seem to hear your neighbors coming and going easily. There is a good Hunter steakhouse which is walking distance. We would stay here again, but only if we are traveling with our dogs.

  • Liked — They accept pets
  • Disliked — Seemed dirty
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ..............
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    48
    31
    40
See reviews for
46
38
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

This motel met both of my criteria 1-Clean, 2-Inexpensive. It was easy to find... right off the interstate. If your just looking for a comfortable, quiet place to sleep, this is your motel. Added bonus: Friendly staff.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank arizonagal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

Filthy room! - our mattress had a huge stain going down the side of it that was either dried blood or coffee (let's hope the latter), and the entire room reeked of mildew or cat pee (let's hope the former). Loud obnoxious hoodlums hanging out on the walkways kept us up at night, and they were so intimidating we didn't dare confront them.

Our room was on the top floor, but we took the stairs every time, as the elevator smelled awful and made frightening noises. We were less concerned about falling 4 floors than the prospect of getting trapped in such a dank space.

There are many, many more properties on Hotel Circle Drive that DON'T advertise on Expedia. They seemed much better kept, and advertised rates comparable or less than what the Motel 6 charged (around $90). My advice is to do a little more research, and stay somewhere else nearby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzard9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2006

I was skeptical of the motel when reading some of the reviews, but decided to give it a try and leave if I didn't like it. I traveled with my husband and 3 year old daughter June 3rd - 7th. This was a perfect room for us. It matched our budget and was a clean, spacious room. We stayed in room 410 (I recommed this one). We didn't hear anyone stomping on the floor because we were on the top floor. We did hear people in the hallway some evenings, but it was never late at night. The room was very spacious, we had two queen beds. I loved the separate tub/toilet room and the separate area with a sink on one side and a vanity mirror on the other side. The a/c worked perfect. The windows also opened to the outside. If I had to complain about something, I guess it would be that there was not an alarm clock or coffee maker in the room. Other than that, as long as you aren't expecting a luxury resort, this motel will do perfect.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mlreyna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

Room was very clean -- everything looked new. It was a basic room -- no alarm clock or coffemaker, no sample shampoo. There was, however, free coffee available in the lobby in the morning. It was a decent place to spend the night, although we could hear the people in the upstairs room stomping around above us.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2006

RUDE RUDE RUDE! My husband and I made reservations at Motel 6, based upon proximity to the airport, for our arrival date. We called to confirm the day before our departure and they said they didn't have a reservation for that day but they had one for the week prior. Now, of course, they made a mistake because we knew what day we were arriving in San Diego (from New york) yet they refused to acknowledge their mistake, screamed at my husband on the phone and then proceeded to charge our credit card out of spite. (The ordeal has since been rectified by Motel 6 customer relations but only after the San Diego establishment fought it). Don't stay here!!!! La Pensione in little Italy is close by, cheap and pleasant, with a great coffee house nearby.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank slaurenkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

A good Motel 6; standard rooms with 2 queen size bed, ideal for family of 2 Adults + 2 kids; nice pool. Good location for visiting Sea World a few miles away. Nearest restauranr, Hunterd, very good but pricey; maybe better to order in pizza if you're on a budget. Would stay again. Note of warning to British visitors - San Diego starts the day overcast, so you forget to put on the sunscreen and wears hats before heading off the Sea World. Ouch !
Would recommend this hotel as a good budget hotel

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happy_families_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#172 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#180 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley
Address: 2424 Hotel Cir N, I-8/Mission Valley Freeway West at Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108-2811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is centrally located in the heart of San Diego. The location is convenient to all area attractions including the San Diego Zoo, Sea World - California and Fashion Valley Mall. WiFi available in all guest rooms for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Hotel Circle- Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six
Motel 6 San Diego
Motel Six San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing