We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed 10 days in the Southwest US and unfortunately this "resort???" was our last nights accomodation. Place was dated filthy and unkept, the grounds were deplorable. I can only assume by the odors in the room that the chalk outline from the previous guest has been recently removed. There are far better choices on Hotel Circle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your response. The Mission Valley Resort is an older property, yet still well maintained with friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback. and will continue to focus on the upkeep of our guest rooms. Mike Hensley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    110
    99
    117
    312
See reviews for
232
167
62
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hi Mike,
We enjoyed our visit, and appreciate we were able to have the room we enjoy so much!
The staff in the bar and restaurant were once again exceptional. The food was wonderful. My husband loves the cheeseburger and the tuna sandwich I like to get was the best ever. We were disappointed not to see Mike in the bar, but congratulate him on his retirement. Sounds like he had a rough road though, and we wish him well. Rene and Avery were great and treated us well, as they did everyone who came in. They were fun, energetic and hard working. Since our time away is short and usually on a budget, we hang there in the evenings and have some beers and play Hot Spot, and enjoy the company and great service. I believe the lady we liked in the restaurant was named Barbara. She certainly knows here job, very confident and friendly. So many times people only want to share the bad stuff...I am the opposite. If I appreciate something, I will acknowledge it, especially in this economy. So, thank you once again!
Take care,
Lucinda Stueve

Room Tip: Rooms around pool are nicely renovated. They are working on the rest, which is good. Nice people run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It's refreshing to hear positive feedback and continues to confirm the hard work and dedicated staff to make your stay enjoyable. We are an older, clean property with a caring staff and great rates. Thanks again and we'll see you soon! Mike Hensley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I found this hotel online for a good price and booked it 2 weeks in advance to our trip to San Diego. The pictures on the website made the room like spacious, nice and clean, but it was anything BUT that! We arrived around 1am, and the night staff was absolutely RUDE! When we got to our room, there were fabout 25 fliers scattered throughout the room, its smelled and looked old and outdated, and was NOTHING like the pictures! The TV did not work, there was a hole in the wall where someone had ripped a picture off of it, and there was mold on the walls in the bathroom, especially in the shower, there was tiny marks of blood spatter on the shower curtain, and hair everywhere. The carpet was coming up throughout the room, and the door frame was coming off. We also booked a non smoking room, and they put us in a smoking room. We were absolutely disgusted! They told us they could not move us to a new room because they had no availability (We were there a total of 3 nights). We took pictures of how nasty the room was before we got settled in, and close ups of the mold and etc and showed them to the Manager of the hotel. She kindly apologized and said the pics on the website are of the few rooms they have updated there, and they are rarely available. She gave us a voucher for breakfast at the hotel, and gave us a discount for the inconvenience. I will definately pay the extra money the next time around and stay somewhere clean and nice, without fear of getting bed bugs and etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Mission Valley Resort... Might be a resort for the endless screaming hookers fighting, police sirens and filthy rooms, but if you are an average person STAY AWAY! This was the scariest, filthiest, place I have every been in. We stayed about 4 hours before we bailed all the fighting outside we felt like we were in a war zone of pimps and prostitutes. Once the cops were there we left. The front desk guy could have cared less... The room was so dirty, I feel sure it was normally rented by the hour... GROSS.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Here for the weekend besides being unclean they were having a party with a live band in front of my room I was not allowed to move rooms because they had no more but was told there was nothing can do ...kids played on the door until mid night horrible experience

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikkip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

You know what you think of when you think resort. Add in this is beautiful San Diego. Well this is the opposite of that, it's closer to a scary Reno, NV motor lodge than a delightful resort. I made the mistake (or did I) of paying more for a "Deluxe" room. Could a regular room been worse?

Some of the issues include a shower head that made it to the bottom of my chin, disgusting hair in shower, overall dirty bathroom, and it was so small you could wash hands in sink and feet in shower while you sat on toilet
It had a TV that you could put out on sidewalk for free, and would have been there for days. It needs fresh paint. It had a smoke detector barely hanging off the ceiling

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHousman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Worst hotel ever! I paid for several nights and on the last night of stay they locked me out of the room. They stated because I had extended my stay (which means I actually enjoyed the stay) they locked me out (even though I paid)! My card had to be reset every night! Dont waste your money! If you want a shower that pours out like a dog peeing on you you have it. Housekeeping arrives at 8:00 am when check out is 11:00 and asking you when you are leaving. Not to mention the dirty socks left under the bed from the previous occupant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greene5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#139 of 279 in San Diego
1,473 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#171 of 279 in San Diego
162 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#135 of 279 in San Diego
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Property: Mission Valley Resort
Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing