We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,130 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“NOT a Resort!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

unless you take the shuffle board court and the 7/11 type shop in consideration.
Some rooms are being remodeled (cheap so). Ours had ceiling water damage fixed (2nd floor)
all tiles in the very small bathroom are lacking replacement.
We got a room for $49 so leave your shoes and socks on and save some Cash.
"Motel 6 type hotel, 2 story with several buildings, 2 pools (one was closed)" Leave the heater/Air on to not have to listen to the traffic 24/7. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: rooms in the back away from traffic noice and Bus and Truck parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    110
    99
    117
    313
See reviews for
233
167
62
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagrange
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This review is only for The Valley Tavern Pub. I did not stay in the hotel, I stayed in another hotel on the strip. A friend of mine and myself went to The Valley Tavern Pub for dinner one night, and I was surprised that the food prices were actually decent, most restaurants in the area over-charge for the food.

The thing that impressed me the most at this pub was the bartender. I do not know his name, but he was a middle-aged Hispanic gentleman. When we got to the restaurant, there was only one other family there. He gave me a beer that came from the bottom of the keg, so he went to switch kegs and gave me another one on the house. By the time he got a new keg, the bar was completely full and there were more people there at the tables. The gentleman was the only one there working, so he had to keep everyone happy at the bar and take orders for the kitchen. He was extremely friendly and had to practically run to keep everyone happy. I hope they paid him double, or give him a raise in the near future. Next time I am in the area I will definitely come back to The Valley Tavern Pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajohns9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm a frequent guest of the Mission Valley Resort while traveling to San Diego on business. I also stayed over the holiday season with my family - great for kids. Every visit I'm constantly impressed with the attention and care I receive from their entire staff - from the front desk attendants to their maid service and particularly the manager Brad Vogel. Whether your coming on business or pleasure they've got it all. From the onsite restaurant/room service, newly remodeled gym & pool/jacuzzi. If you're looking for great value & service in excellent proximity to everything San Diego has to offer -- this is your hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What really makes a difference on a trip and the stay are the people. My wife and I went to San Diego to visit friends. I in the past have traveled the world Canada, Australia, New Zealand, China and many other countries. The one quality I found at Mission Valley resort was quality and genuine concern of the management that the guests were serviced and made to feel important and appreciated. All I can say is what wonderful people and wonderful service we had in our short stay. I will make it a point my future visits to make this my preferred location for accommodations. This management has genuine concern for your comfort and needs during your stay.
Joe Pickett
Las Vegas,Nevada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stay here frequently for business and pleasure. We find the hotel to be comfortable, clean and very friendly. The rooms are spaces, well furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is professional and courteous, especially Brad Vogel, a key contact at the hotel who is always accommodating. The convenience and central location of Mission Valley Resort is a big plus, it's always pleasure staying there and we would recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here with our family for a long weekend at the beach. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They let us check in early and were great about extra linens & toiletries. The grounds were beautiful and the pool and hot tub were great. The room wasn't fancy, but was clean and comfortable and not at all run-down. All amenities were as described on the website.

I booked without reading reviews, and my husband was a little concerned with some of the negative reviews about how ghetto it might be. We were pleasantly surprised. I'm not sure what is up with all the negative reviews, but we were very pleased with this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this hotel without reading reviews I am glad to say! We were in San Diego for 2 nights to attend a friend's memorial. I booked an upgrade room as there was so little difference in the price. On arrival we were directed to our room which turned out to be a suite. Ground floor so we were able to have our car outside our accommodation,which comprised of a living room with couch,easy chairs.coffee table and side tables with lamps,a large T,V. At the end of the room was a bar, behind which was a fridge,basin, coffee maker with tea,coffee bags,sugar and powdered milk. Shortly after arrival a tap on the door and the arrival of a microwave. The bedroom had a king bed (heaven) plenty of cupboard space and another large T.V. Excellent bathroom with bath and shower and plenty. of towels.
There is a diner and liquor/general shop on the property.
..

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade it is well worth it, and at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EosDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#140 of 279 in San Diego
1,474 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#172 of 279 in San Diego
162 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#134 of 279 in San Diego
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,070 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Property: Mission Valley Resort
Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing