We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #111 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Diamond Bar, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a decent hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family and I went there on July 4th weekend. This was my second time staying at this hotel. The reason why I went back was because I had such a good experience last time I was there. Clean room, friendly staff and a nice concierge lounge. Unfortunately the lounge was closed both days we were there this time (instead they gave us a breakfast coupon for 2). The first time I was there as a Gold elite Marriott member, they offered me extra points and free parking because they were unable to offer me a room upgrade. This time, not so lucky...none of that was given even when asked. I guess I should not complain but appreciate the extraordinary experience I had the previous time.

I wanted to mention Jorge who served at the restaurant during breakfast was very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Rose,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us on TripAdvisor - we sincerely appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. We're glad Jorge was able to make your breakfast more enjoyable.

Your satisfaction is a priority to us, and we apologize for being unable to meet your requested accommodations. Thank you for your honest feedback as it helps us to better serve you in the future. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    210
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
127
86
25
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix,az.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

nice hotel with good location. staff very helpful. good sized rooms. very clean. nice gym and pool. reasonably priced for a marriot in san diego. good location with a large amount of stores and restaurants nearby. 20 minutes from beach or airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie78Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, from our convenient location to our helpful staff. We always appreciate hearing positive feedback from our guests, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great hotel-facilities, service, location, but most of all the people! Reasonable, fun, and local. Check it out!

We have to mention Raymond, Katie, Alex, and Dana up front;great food and service from Carol in the restaurant; nice folks out on at the pool, spotless rooms...

They all spoiled us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariclaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Marriott Mission Valley for your recent getaway! We could not be happier to hear about your wonderful stay. We are particularly glad to know that you experienced our outstanding guest services, something we take great pride in. We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon for an equally enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This Marriott was a pleasant surprise. I found the dining experience to be above average with some great happy hour specials on appetizers late evening. What a treat. The service was of the high standards of this great service chain. You will enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melzoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are so happy to know that your experience with us was a pleasant surprise. Thank you for your compliments on our dining experience and particularly the service. We are so glad to know that you experienced the exceptional customer service that Marriott is known for. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff has been phenomenal. No matter if it's been Liza Lopez in the bar or the guys at the front desk and front door this Marriott is great. So nice to know you're taken care of. Tough being on the road with work but it's so great to be greeted with a smiling face at the end of the day by people who really care. This hotel has is doing it right!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor and everything was great. I can't speak for the other floors but didn...
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly I guess, I don't really know.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We couldn't be happier to hear about your exceptional experience at the Marriott Mission Valley! It is wonderful to hear that you have had the opportunity to experience our phenomenal staff throughout your stay. It is our goal to create a relaxing and enjoyable environment for business travelers and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Smooth check-in, great rooms, pool, bar. gift shop, fitness room. San Diego trolley stop next to hotel. Small refrigerator, my insulin is safe. liters of water on the table. Shopping nearby, as well as a market within walking distance. Theaters, restaurants, all nearby.Love this place!

Room Tip: Check-in 4PM, they are ready for you. When you plan a trip to Sea World, stay here. It's a 17 mi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Light bulbs, water aerators, drought resistant plants, low flush toilets.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted to know that all aspects of your stay, from the room amenities to the location, exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your review, as we are always glad to know when we have provided an exceptional experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yucaipa, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

As a loyal member and platinum level member overall I was pleased with the stay. I initially asked for a room upgrade and was denied and told I could have an upgrade for $100 more a day. I was renting and paying already for 4 rooms..... No thank you I said. She also charged me for parking that was supposed to be included with the convention I was with... So to have that all fixed took an additional 20 minutes ..... But that was the worst of it.... The restaurant staff was great ... Conceirge was good although the room was small and felt a bit cramped. I asked the next day if a room upgrade was possible and got it right away. Very nice and helpful. Not like initial check in.... The room was fantastic and soooo appreciated as we had 2 other guest join us and the standard room is pretty small for 4 guests... I would absolutely stay here again. It does have a resort feel with the waterfall by the pool and hammocks. Just lovely. Also I might add.... Very very nice for the price in the San Diego area which can be very pricey!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-friend-of-the-vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Marriott Mission Valley! Your honest feedback is a priceless tool in helping us to maintain and improve our guest experience. We are glad to hear that the parking charge was resolved quickly and efficiently, and that we were able to accommodate your room upgrade. Thank you for your comments on restaurant staff and concierge lounge. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, next time you travel to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing