We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #113 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 2, 2014

nice hotel with good location. staff very helpful. good sized rooms. very clean. nice gym and pool. reasonably priced for a marriot in san diego. good location with a large amount of stores and restaurants nearby. 20 minutes from beach or airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, from our convenient location to our helpful staff. We always appreciate hearing positive feedback from our guests, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 543 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great hotel-facilities, service, location, but most of all the people! Reasonable, fun, and local. Check it out!

We have to mention Raymond, Katie, Alex, and Dana up front;great food and service from Carol in the restaurant; nice folks out on at the pool, spotless rooms...

They all spoiled us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariclaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Marriott Mission Valley for your recent getaway! We could not be happier to hear about your wonderful stay. We are particularly glad to know that you experienced our outstanding guest services, something we take great pride in. We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon for an equally enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This Marriott was a pleasant surprise. I found the dining experience to be above average with some great happy hour specials on appetizers late evening. What a treat. The service was of the high standards of this great service chain. You will enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melzoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We are so happy to know that your experience with us was a pleasant surprise. Thank you for your compliments on our dining experience and particularly the service. We are so glad to know that you experienced the exceptional customer service that Marriott is known for. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff has been phenomenal. No matter if it's been Liza Lopez in the bar or the guys at the front desk and front door this Marriott is great. So nice to know you're taken care of. Tough being on the road with work but it's so great to be greeted with a smiling face at the end of the day by people who really care. This hotel has is doing it right!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor and everything was great. I can't speak for the other floors but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We couldn't be happier to hear about your exceptional experience at the Marriott Mission Valley! It is wonderful to hear that you have had the opportunity to experience our phenomenal staff throughout your stay. It is our goal to create a relaxing and enjoyable environment for business travelers and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Smooth check-in, great rooms, pool, bar. gift shop, fitness room. San Diego trolley stop next to hotel. Small refrigerator, my insulin is safe. liters of water on the table. Shopping nearby, as well as a market within walking distance. Theaters, restaurants, all nearby.Love this place!

Room Tip: Check-in 4PM, they are ready for you. When you plan a trip to Sea World, stay here. It's a 17 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted to know that all aspects of your stay, from the room amenities to the location, exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your review, as we are always glad to know when we have provided an exceptional experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

As a loyal member and platinum level member overall I was pleased with the stay. I initially asked for a room upgrade and was denied and told I could have an upgrade for $100 more a day. I was renting and paying already for 4 rooms..... No thank you I said. She also charged me for parking that was supposed to be included with the convention I was with... So to have that all fixed took an additional 20 minutes ..... But that was the worst of it.... The restaurant staff was great ... Conceirge was good although the room was small and felt a bit cramped. I asked the next day if a room upgrade was possible and got it right away. Very nice and helpful. Not like initial check in.... The room was fantastic and soooo appreciated as we had 2 other guest join us and the standard room is pretty small for 4 guests... I would absolutely stay here again. It does have a resort feel with the waterfall by the pool and hammocks. Just lovely. Also I might add.... Very very nice for the price in the San Diego area which can be very pricey!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-friend-of-the-vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Marriott Mission Valley! Your honest feedback is a priceless tool in helping us to maintain and improve our guest experience. We are glad to hear that the parking charge was resolved quickly and efficiently, and that we were able to accommodate your room upgrade. Thank you for your comments on restaurant staff and concierge lounge. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, next time you travel to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've been staying here frequently for work and recently had my family here for a few days. My grandchildren, twin 2 yr olds, had a wonderful time swimming and walking around the grounds. Our rooms were adjoining so we had time to visit and had privacy when it was their bedtime. Although there have been a few changes with staff due to promotions, the new staff have transitioned and the service is still exceptional. On weekends, there is a special children's morning buffet area in the dining area. A special thanks to Jose and Robert in the lounge. Also to Alex, Taylor, Rebecca, Dana, Nicole and Ana at the front desk, and to Nelly in housekeeping.. A fond farewell and good luck to Christy and Kelly.in their new positions. The hotel is very centrally located and all staff continues to be the best I've ever had. Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Request west side to see the view, the sunset and during baseball season and night games, fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Mission Valley! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience, from the pool to the breakfast buffet. We are especially glad to hear that you experienced the exceptional service that we are known for, and look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team. We appreciate your review and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $129 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, SDCCU Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of contemporary accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing