We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #90 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

While this was our first stay at this particular location, we look forward to returning soon due to the outstanding visit we experienced. Kelly, Front Desk Manager, extended a warm welcome upon our arrival and quickly checked us into our reserved room that followed our profile requests. The room was prepared well, complete with a work station and a balcony that offered a beautiful view of the valley and spectacular view of the sunset each night. A large safe provided security for our valuables While close to several freeways, the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, perfect for a good night's sleep. The beds were very comfortable. Room service is available through an in-house restaurant. Erikk H., General Manager, was most helpful in assuring our needs would be met during our stay. I so appreciated his professionalism and competency. By hiring outstanding individuals to serve as maids, bellhops, front desk personal, and management, he has assured that guests would feel valued and appreciated. Darren and Spencer, bellhops, provided valuable assistance a number of times. We cannot wait to get back to what may well become our "Home Away From Home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! We are thrilled to hear that your time with us exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful to know that our staff members were so accommodating and made you feel not only welcome, but valued and appreciated. We are quite proud of our guest services. Thank you for your positive comments on the beautiful views, our outstanding staff members, and the hotel overall. We appreciate the time you have taken to write a detailed review and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    202
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
119
82
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

When we visit family in the San Diego area, we usually stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. A couple days prior to arrival, we received a lovely email from Christy Lee of the Front Desk staff who welcomed us to the hotel. Upon check-in, Christy ensured that we were assigned a spacious room with a sunset view. Our room had recently been renovated and was very clean. We also enjoyed the amenities of the Concierge Lounge. The San Diego Marriott Mission Valley is conveniently located off the Qualcomm Way exit on the I-8. Thank you, Christy, for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley for your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Marriott brand. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff, the great view, and the amenities in the Concierge Lounge. We are so glad to hear that Christy was so helpful and welcoming. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a recent vacation to San Diego and we were very pleased with this hotel. Our room was on a high floor and had a little balcony with a great view of the surrounding hills. The room was modern, clean and up-to-date and we were very comfortable there. The hotel package we purchased also included a buffet style breakfast which we found to be very nice with a wide variety of options, even an omelet station. This is great way to start the day when you are on vacation! The staff there was excellent. Taylor at the front desk was extremely helpful assisting us with our travel plans as well as recommending several nice restaurants. I should also mention there is plenty of parking at the hotel and it is right by I-8 which makes it very convenient . In addition, the trolley is close by and is nice alternative to getting around town if you prefer not to drive. We tried it several times and enjoyed the ride.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate it! It's great to hear that the comfortable room, breakfast buffet, and friendly staff all contributed to you enjoying your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location, rooms are clean, but not special, hotel looks out on to freeway. Great breakfast restaurant a quarer mile away. Even desk reception tell guests to go there for a good meal. Food service in hotel is difficult, but OK. Marriott has switched to a standard food service in all sites, so at least it is consistant, even though limited.

Room Tip: units looking away from freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masantirq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed here often since its not only very convenient to my work, but more importantly, the exceptional staff who go out of their way to be helpful and make all guests feel welcome. The property itself is very spacious with areas for groups to meet and is very clean since housekeeping staff is always working to keep everything in order. An added bonus is the nearby trolley stop which can take you almost anywhere in San Diego. Shopping is also nearby. I often see the same guests here and we're all in agreement, we have other options, but choose to stay here because of the staff and service. A special thanks to Alex, Ana, Kelly, Kristy, Grace, Raymond and the newest member to the front desk staff, Nicole; Jose in the lounge and Nellie in housekeeping. Happy New Year!!!

Room Tip: West side with the view of the pool area, sunsets and sometimes fireworks around 9pm each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 859 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Has a pool and the rooms are decent, nothing special and it is close to the mall, the Chargers stadium and a few fast food places. Food in the hotel expensive and the staff I found to be a little aloof.

Best thing about it is there is a Trolley right outside and you can literally ride all the way to Mexico on it. So if you haven't got a car while in town can't recommend this enough as it gets you to a lot of sites on the trolley, without the hassle of being in a city centre.

Nice but I think it could be so much better. Relaly 3.5 but I rounded down as I also stayed at the Residence inn closeby and was much more impressed. I thought the full service Marriott hotels were supposed to be better?

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times and it is a central location to visit just about any place in San Diego. The rooms are a bit small, but great beds and spectacular views make up for it. Try to get a high floor facing west to see incredible sunsets. The on site restaurant is quite good as well. If you check in before night, you csn get free parking on thr street, otherwise the lot is paid only.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is so great to hear that the comfortable bed, views and restaurant all contributed to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing