We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #105 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but average.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location, rooms are clean, but not special, hotel looks out on to freeway. Great breakfast restaurant a quarer mile away. Even desk reception tell guests to go there for a good meal. Food service in hotel is difficult, but OK. Marriott has switched to a standard food service in all sites, so at least it is consistant, even though limited.

Room Tip: units looking away from freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masantirq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    207
    66
    16
    13
See reviews for
124
84
25
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed here often since its not only very convenient to my work, but more importantly, the exceptional staff who go out of their way to be helpful and make all guests feel welcome. The property itself is very spacious with areas for groups to meet and is very clean since housekeeping staff is always working to keep everything in order. An added bonus is the nearby trolley stop which can take you almost anywhere in San Diego. Shopping is also nearby. I often see the same guests here and we're all in agreement, we have other options, but choose to stay here because of the staff and service. A special thanks to Alex, Ana, Kelly, Kristy, Grace, Raymond and the newest member to the front desk staff, Nicole; Jose in the lounge and Nellie in housekeeping. Happy New Year!!!

Room Tip: West side with the view of the pool area, sunsets and sometimes fireworks around 9pm each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Has a pool and the rooms are decent, nothing special and it is close to the mall, the Chargers stadium and a few fast food places. Food in the hotel expensive and the staff I found to be a little aloof.

Best thing about it is there is a Trolley right outside and you can literally ride all the way to Mexico on it. So if you haven't got a car while in town can't recommend this enough as it gets you to a lot of sites on the trolley, without the hassle of being in a city centre.

Nice but I think it could be so much better. Relaly 3.5 but I rounded down as I also stayed at the Residence inn closeby and was much more impressed. I thought the full service Marriott hotels were supposed to be better?

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times and it is a central location to visit just about any place in San Diego. The rooms are a bit small, but great beds and spectacular views make up for it. Try to get a high floor facing west to see incredible sunsets. The on site restaurant is quite good as well. If you check in before night, you csn get free parking on thr street, otherwise the lot is paid only.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is so great to hear that the comfortable bed, views and restaurant all contributed to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
681 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I would first like to say that this is a great location in the Mission Valley area of San Diego, as you are near everything but far enough away to avoid all the traffic and noise. If you are an Elite member you get some special perks at this property, starting with a special parking lot just for you. Now there is a charge for parking and internet (unless you are gold and above) and even if the concierge lounge is closed you get a certificate for a free breakfast. Be sure to ask for the $10 off certificate for the restaurant as well, the food was pretty good for a hotel restaurant. I found the staff to be courteous and accommodating to our needs. The Room itself had some nice touches you don't see at every Marriott, like an in room safe, upgraded bathroom products, and our room had a refrigerator. I found the little touches throughout the hotel to add to the feeling of luxury and feeling like you are in a high end property. There were plenty of outlets throughout the room as well, and the lighting was good as well (as I have been in plenty of dark rooms and I don't mean for photography) Overall I will definitely be back to this location and recommend it to ours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lobby side of the hotel, as there is a better view from the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. We are delighted that our staff provided you with excellent service and that you enjoyed all of the in room amenities. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a real good three day stay for my wife and I. The staff was absolutely incredible from housekeeping, valet, front desk and room service. The do a fantastic job of making sure you are really taken care of.
We had a King room with a balcony, which is awesome. It allows the room to feel bigger and give it another dimension. The sunset views and the surrounding valley was great. Room service food was really good as well.
I would like for them to have pillows that are firmer. That would probably be the only real complaint or suggestion I would have, in addition to the loud and thundering noise of every door that shuts. I don't know if there is anything anyone can do, but it woke me up several times.
I would stay again, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKCJES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting San Diego! We came in for a padres game and to see the area, this hotel has a tram station less than 5 walking minutes away.

Besides the perfect location, this property is amazing for amenities. Great pool, restaurant and staff.

The only downside is the pricy parking and a bit annoying at times.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is so great to hear that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing