We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Section of Town and Proffessional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #102 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Southern California
Level Contributor
681 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Quite Section of Town and Proffessional Staff”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I would first like to say that this is a great location in the Mission Valley area of San Diego, as you are near everything but far enough away to avoid all the traffic and noise. If you are an Elite member you get some special perks at this property, starting with a special parking lot just for you. Now there is a charge for parking and internet (unless you are gold and above) and even if the concierge lounge is closed you get a certificate for a free breakfast. Be sure to ask for the $10 off certificate for the restaurant as well, the food was pretty good for a hotel restaurant. I found the staff to be courteous and accommodating to our needs. The Room itself had some nice touches you don't see at every Marriott, like an in room safe, upgraded bathroom products, and our room had a refrigerator. I found the little touches throughout the hotel to add to the feeling of luxury and feeling like you are in a high end property. There were plenty of outlets throughout the room as well, and the lighting was good as well (as I have been in plenty of dark rooms and I don't mean for photography) Overall I will definitely be back to this location and recommend it to ours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lobby side of the hotel, as there is a better view from the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. We are delighted that our staff provided you with excellent service and that you enjoyed all of the in room amenities. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    207
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
123
84
25
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a real good three day stay for my wife and I. The staff was absolutely incredible from housekeeping, valet, front desk and room service. The do a fantastic job of making sure you are really taken care of.
We had a King room with a balcony, which is awesome. It allows the room to feel bigger and give it another dimension. The sunset views and the surrounding valley was great. Room service food was really good as well.
I would like for them to have pillows that are firmer. That would probably be the only real complaint or suggestion I would have, in addition to the loud and thundering noise of every door that shuts. I don't know if there is anything anyone can do, but it woke me up several times.
I would stay again, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKCJES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting San Diego! We came in for a padres game and to see the area, this hotel has a tram station less than 5 walking minutes away.

Besides the perfect location, this property is amazing for amenities. Great pool, restaurant and staff.

The only downside is the pricy parking and a bit annoying at times.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is so great to hear that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room is very nice and comfortable. Lobby looks nice and pool is beautiful. I enjoyed the outdoor hammocks. My only issue was that the restaurant was poorly staffed having only one waitress for the entire floor at dinner time. I was there for 2 hours and all I ordered was a quesadilla. She was so busy she forgot to offer me a drink and never stayed long enough for me to ask for one. This is not at all her fault as she was running ragged trying to wait on 15 different tables. However, it was frustrating that I had to wait so long. I was going to order dessert as well but opted to go to Denny's instead to avoid an even longer wait.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was traveling with a group and we secured a good rate for a bank of rooms that included Parking and Breakfast. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly, this was my first time staying here and I was not disappointed. I also appreciated the convenient location of this hotel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: keep in mind parking was $16, if you don't like second-hand smoke try to be on the downwind side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate it! It's great to hear that the location, friendly staff and comfortable room all contributed to you enjoying your stay with us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stereotypical Marriott. Interior decor is average. Elevators are strangely placed, tucked away behind reception desk. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway.

But, most annoying, is the parking situation. The self-park lot is $16/night, which is very high considering that this is a suburban-type hotel. The lot should be free! I parked on the street for free.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator. All rooms are essentially the same in size. pool side rooms may have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the first time staying at this hotel, I was not disappointed. The property is located in a great area, it is nearby multiple restaurants and the major highways so getting around is easy. The staff here are very helpful and willing to go out of there way to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are very roomy and comfortable and it is nice that the room had a refrigerator. We used the concierge lounge and liked the food they offered. The room had nice views of the city and we didn't feel cramped. I highly recommend this hotel to people visiting San Diego and for people that want a nice getaway locally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing