We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room- not enough staff in restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #90 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Nice room- not enough staff in restaurant.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room is very nice and comfortable. Lobby looks nice and pool is beautiful. I enjoyed the outdoor hammocks. My only issue was that the restaurant was poorly staffed having only one waitress for the entire floor at dinner time. I was there for 2 hours and all I ordered was a quesadilla. She was so busy she forgot to offer me a drink and never stayed long enough for me to ask for one. This is not at all her fault as she was running ragged trying to wait on 15 different tables. However, it was frustrating that I had to wait so long. I was going to order dessert as well but opted to go to Denny's instead to avoid an even longer wait.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to maintain and improve our guest experience.We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    204
    64
    15
    10
See reviews for
120
83
25
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was traveling with a group and we secured a good rate for a bank of rooms that included Parking and Breakfast. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly, this was my first time staying here and I was not disappointed. I also appreciated the convenient location of this hotel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: keep in mind parking was $16, if you don't like second-hand smoke try to be on the downwind side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate it! It's great to hear that the location, friendly staff and comfortable room all contributed to you enjoying your stay with us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stereotypical Marriott. Interior decor is average. Elevators are strangely placed, tucked away behind reception desk. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway.

But, most annoying, is the parking situation. The self-park lot is $16/night, which is very high considering that this is a suburban-type hotel. The lot should be free! I parked on the street for free.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator. All rooms are essentially the same in size. pool side rooms may have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the first time staying at this hotel, I was not disappointed. The property is located in a great area, it is nearby multiple restaurants and the major highways so getting around is easy. The staff here are very helpful and willing to go out of there way to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are very roomy and comfortable and it is nice that the room had a refrigerator. We used the concierge lounge and liked the food they offered. The room had nice views of the city and we didn't feel cramped. I highly recommend this hotel to people visiting San Diego and for people that want a nice getaway locally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staff were excellent couldn't do enough to help it was everything we expected from a Sheraton hotel. Anything staff could do to make your stay not only in the hotel but in San Diego itself was never too much trouble. We had a request for where we could get a wheelchair from and they provided us with a list and phone numbers to where we could hire one. A great help as we had no idea.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevator have a balcony. Though rooms at back facing the hill view is quieter than the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellemae_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel several times since I have family nearby. The staff at the hotel are exceptional. They are always friendly (front desk staff, restaurant staff; maid staff, etc). The hotel has a laid back California feel. I like sitting near the outside pool hearing the large waterfall. There is something about waterfalls that I find very relaxing. The pool is large with lots of loungers.

Since I am an elite level member of Marriott Rewards, I have access the the Concierge room with free breakfast (nice buffet), late afternoon appetizers, and evening desserts. Everything is well stocked and tasty.

Rooms at the hotel are up to date and very clean. They are your typical Marriott. Nothing too special. The beds and pillows are comfortable.

I am very disappointed in the quality of the towels. They are small, rough, and thin. They need to be replaced.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing, nice hotel in the Mission Valley area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OilmanTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had misplaced some newspapers in my room, and mistakenly thought that housekeeping had removed them. Kelly, at the front desk, was so helpful. She was willing to go above and beyond to replace the copies. I appreciated her kind and professional response!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing