We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I will stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #81 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
SW PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I will stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I selected this hotel for a 3 day stay for a wedding and I loved it. The employees seem to like their jobs, desk staff were friendly and professional. My room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. On the afternoon, snow cones and non-alcoholic drinks were served at the pool. Just wonderful! Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    179
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
109
71
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I ended up at this hotel as Comicon was invading all of San Diego. It's a bit further from the downtown area but seems to be with a short drive/cab.

The hotel itself has all the right amenities. The restaurant has very good food (their ' Marriot Burger' rivalled any gourmet shop), and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our purpose of our stay was for the Costume Party Half-Marathon at nearby Qualcomm Stadium.
Our first visit to this Marriott, Excellent Location, Freeway close(163&805-Fwy's). Our room was on the 3rd floor facing East. The Standard Double-Room was Big, Clean and very comfortable, the
A/C worked Great, nice work desk and mini-Fridge in our room. Was very impressed with the water coolers in the Lobby and outside where the Valet Parking Desk was located, in the coolers, were Iced-Cold Water, with a choice of Lemon, Watermelon, cucumber and strawberry slices in each cooler/dispenser, never seen this at any hotels before. There were plenty of restaurants close by, at the Fenton Parkway Shopping plaza, they had Islands, Oggi's Pizza, Mc Donald's, we chose the IHOP for dinner. The only negatives were the charges for parking, $16 a night, but you do get in/out privileges and there is a small garage if you prefer covered parking. The other charge was for WiFi($12.95), this is another first, I never had a hotel charge for WiFi, didn't use it so I opted to use my Android WiFi on my cell phone. But overall, the stay was still worth it and we plan to be staying here again for next year's race.

Room Tip: Freeway's close by, the 8, 163 and 805-Fwy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I travel to San Diego once a month for Business, I needed a place I could go to and just relax. The beds are good, the service is good. Rooms are very clean. The food in the restaurant is except able, and very quite. Take a room facing East, you may miss the valley view, but absolutely no noise. One IMPORTANT item, internet works well. They also have a very well stocked gift shop. Workout room is OK. Location is great for me, may be a bit of a drive to downtown, but plenty of restaurants in the area. Overall for the price it is a great deal. Great for business but I find plenty of families every month.

Room Tip: High Floor facing west gives you a great view of Mission Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
363 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This Marriott has everything you'd need from a Marriott. It is nestled more within a number of companies and would appear more suited for the business clientele but for our weekend getaway it still works. There is the nearby Mission Valley mall and some strip malls nearby with places to eat, but if staying here expect to drive. One exception is if you can get around using the trolley. It is pretty centrally located to anywhere near downtown, the zoo and Sea World. The breakfast buffet is pretty good and they cook to order eggs and waffles. Better yet, it's free to elite members even on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose the Marriott for a recent trip to San Diego for a half marathon. This hotel is a great choice if you want to get around San Diego without getting in your car. The San Diego Trolley runs just behind the property and the Rio Vista station is just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with a great onsite bar and restaurant. The pool area was reasonably large for a hotel and has several cabana locations and couches. The property doesn't look like much from the outside but the interior has a great ambiance for a mid-range hotel. We also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Overall this was a great experience and we are definitely planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Great views overlooking the pool area. Especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norco951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off I-8 and also close to the 805 and the 163 so it's just a short 10-15 minute drive to downtown or Old Town. I've stayed at this hotel on two occassions and have never been disappointed. It's a large hotel (17 floors) but not so big that the elevators take forever (i hate that). The hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with refrigerators. Free wi-fi in the common areas throughout the hotel. They take extra care of their Elite members with separate and convenient self-parking ($16 per day). Concierge Lounge is a decent size and accessible from the 16th and 17th floor. The day I arrived, they had a managers reception for the Elite members with plenty of yummy appetizers and free beer/wine. The gym is nicely equipped, not the largest I've seen, but it does the job. The pool is great with plenty of lounge chiars and shade if you're not into laying in the sun. Free wi-fi extends out to the pool which was also nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C, Operations Administrative Assistant at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty as one of our valued Elite Marriott Members. We are glad you were able to enjoy our Elite reception. Thank you for your great comments. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing