We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #109 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was in town for a quick get away with the family. The staff at this location made for a wonderful experience. In particular we were able to engage in wonderful conversation with Nick Huizar and Logan. Thanks for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmfuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    212
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
130
88
25
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koekelberg, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great arrival experience with room waiting and accommodating check-in. Room is large, well equipped (coffee maker, safe, good lighting,...) and -in my case - with a wonderful view.
The concierge miunge is small but well equipped

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gbehets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, MD
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked this hotel because Hotwire gave it 4 stars, as does Trip Advisor. But Expedia gives it 3.5 and Booking Buddy gives it 3. I cannot imagine giving it more than 3 because the room we got and its bathroom were smaller than in a standard hotel. Other than that, the service was excellent, the hotel immaculate and the grounds and pool area very attractive. $16/day for parking is a bummer. While paid hotel parking is common in Mission Valley, street parking is available for most other hotels.

The hotel was recently renovated. The rooms are quite attractive if you like modern as I do.

You cannot walk to any restaurants or stores from this hotel, whereas you can from many Mission Valley hotels. My favorite is the Doubletree on Hazard Drive.

Room WIFI is $13, a real turnoff. It's free in the lobby.

There is a decent sized, heated outdoor pool.

I paid $104 a night thru Hotwire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

well lets just say I was very tired and hot, driving from Los angeles california. I just wanted to find a nice hotel and lay out by a nice pool. when I was driving I found the marriott. Driving up to the hotel it rubbed me the wrong way because right when I was going to talk one of the staff and ask questions about parking and room rates, a women interupted him and he went the other way. I became a little more agitated, but right when I was going to drive away I notice other staff member and decide to ask him questions his name was Raymond Leon. Instatly he made my day. He was very courteous I was very impressed on how well he handle our conversation. When my son and myself got out of the car he offered to show us around the hotel. I was happy because not once have I had that someone offer to do that. when my son saw the pool area he was sold. I could not leave even if I wanted to .He looked at me and said "mom I like it here". and to to top it off Raymond gave me a great deal on the room. so like my son I was sold. I was talking with Raymond he was very talkactive so am I. I forgot how tired I was talking with him, I told him we where in town because we came to see the universal soul circus ( by the way it was a great show). and I also explained it was my birth day and I just wanted to spend time with my son. when I got to my room it was nice with a nice size bed room with a wonderfull view and clean linen and towels. My son was happy that he could see the pool and have a lot of space by his side of the room he jumped on the bed excited. Ramond also took care of my parking fee and also through out my trip made sure we were okay. which was a relieved because it was just my son and myself. When it was check out time he checked us out and made sure I had directions for La Jolla beach and also made sure my son had cookies to go, because my son fell in love with their cookies. The staff knew my name and was very pleasant, but Raymond Leon really made my trip comfortable and unforgetable in so many positve ways . I will be returning for my next birth day and will be looking for Raymond Leon. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C, Operations Administrative Assistance at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Driving from Los Angeles to San Diego can be very tiring. We are so happy you had an opportunity to stay with us. Let your son know we will have plenty of cookies waiting for him on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing