We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #40 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2005

The San Diego Marriott Marina is a great hotel! From the minute you step out of the shuttle you are greeted by friendly bell men eager to please. Check in was a breeze. Definitely stay in the North Tower - the view of the bay is awesome and the balconies are a big plus. I was there for a convention and some pleasure time. This hotel is ideally situated between Seaport Village and the Gaslamp Quarter. You are in easy walking distance to Petco Park to see the Padres play baseball.

I would also suggest taking the Marriott ferry across the bay over to the Coronado Marriott. We had a great time walking around Coronado too.

Hop on the Trolley Tours that pick you up directly in front of the Mariott and take the city tour for $25. You can stop off at San Ziego Zoo or at Balaboa Park not to mention the other spots. The Marriott is clearly the most convenient spot to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank friesgca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    1,269
    353
    127
    90
See reviews for
666
727
113
1,698
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

I stayed there on a business trip and the Marriott is a nice hotel but not worth the amount of money that it costs to stay there. On the positive side, it is walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter and Seaport Village and has a Starbucks inside the lobby. The pool is nice also. On the negative side, valet parking is $24 a day, self-parking is $18 a day and the rooms are the size of any other hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2005

Stayed at the Marina Marriott the week of 4/4 for a business meeting. Everything was fine - room was clean and comfortable, nice view of the harbor. Luckily I was traveling for business, because I felt like everything (beyond the room rate of $189) was very expensive. For example, Marriott charges $9.95/PER DAY for a high-speed internet connection in the room. Apparently a wireless connection is the same. The restaurant and room service food was expensive (room service breakfast cost about $25 for a simple Eggs Benedict, and a pot of tea was $8, before adding the requisite 20% service fee.) I used an ATM in the lobby, and the cash advance fee was $3.00. Note to self: Don't stay here for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EarlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

The rooms were clean and really nice and I think they all have balconies...which is nice. But I was afraid to leave the sliding door unlocked b/c ppl could climb over the wall between rooms etc...that was a little scary, but otherwise the views are wonderful. I had room service and they were great and the concierge was very willing to help and offered up great suggestions. I think they are remodeling and it looks great, the furniture is really nice and modern, but still comfortable. All in all I would rec. ppl to stay here. The location is close to everything and right on the water so there is a nice place for a morning or evening stroll.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank timmylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

This is the perfect place to stay in San Diego. Walk out the back door of the hotel and you're walking bayside through the harbor, where you can ogle the sailboats, take a ferry to Coronado, eat at one of the numerous outdoor cafes, shop at the Seaside Village, or walk down to see the Midway aircraft carrier. Walk out the front door and a few short blocks away is the gaslight district. The San Diego Trolley stops just across the street from the hotel and can get you to the Zoo, Balboa Park, or Tijauna. On top of all that the rooms are beautiful, recently redecorated, and every one with a balcony overlooking either the city or the bay. The staff are very accomodating, let us check in very early and upgraded us to a bay view room with a king bed. They also have an excellent concierge service and extremely friendly and helpful staff, as well as a starbucks and several nice restaurants in the hotel. It just doesnt get any better. We'd never stay anywhere else in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank mettadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2005

My family and I spent three night at the hotel in December 2004 prior to picking up a cruise. The whole experience was excellent; the room we had in the south tower had been refurbished to a good standard, the bay view from the room was very attractive. The bell boys and concierge staff were all very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is very well situated for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2005

I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Marriott Marina. As others have said, the bayside view is great. The pool is attractive and well landscaped. Almost all the rooms in the North Tower have balconies, but only a few in the South Tower do. The North tower is finishing being renovated, most rooms have been redone. Staff is professional.

This is a high volume hotel that does a lot of conferences, so the lobby and adjoining hallways are often quite busy. It lacks much personal touch or attention to detail. Unless you have a suite the rooms are on the smaller side. The fitness center is nice but it is on top of the conference center on the next block, so it requires two elevator rides, stairs and walkways to get there - a challenge for anyone in a wheelchair. Food is decent corporate-hotel quality generally and the YatchClub restaurant overlooks the Marina.

This is billed as a resort but it doesn't quite live up to that for the average traveller. If I had a boat and was staying in the suites I might like it better. If I were staying for business or booking a conference I would consider it, but for personal travel I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,627 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing