We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I stayed here for a conference I was attending at the San Diego Convention Center. It was very convenient as the convention center was right next door. The views from the marina side of the building were beautiful. The first night there we stayed in a room with a city view and you could hear the trains but I didn't think it was that bad. We switched to a room across the hall so we could have a marina view and then we never heard the trains again. Great walking access to shopping and restaurant. Staff seemed very accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    1,328
    369
    133
    99
See reviews for
707
771
116
1,794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st. croix USVI
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I like my cigarette and cup of coffee in the morning. When I booked, I asked for a smoking room and was told the entire hotel is non-smoking. Asked for a room near an exit so I could comply. They gave us a room with a balcony and I used it for my vice. The weather was chilly so there weren't a lot of people utilizing their balconies (but we observed people in the other tower (w/out balconies) cracking their windows to get in a few puffs. If this had been summer, I would have requested a top floor room so that the smoke would drift up because if the room above had been occupied and they used the balcony, they could have been offended - it all turned out fine. Great room, view and location for our business travel was great. $22 to self park/day.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcarp626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Spent five nights at the Marriott Marina during a conference at the SDCC which is next door from the hotel, right down from the Starbucks by escalator. Hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport by cab (USD 15) and just minutes from the Gaslamp Quarter, so there was no need for a rental car during these days.

We had a Standard Double on the 21st floor of the North Tower, with a partial view of the bay, was up to the usual Marriott Standards with nice bedding (gotta buy me one of those pillows anytime soon…) and spacious layout. Had a small balcony, towards the Hyatt, which we did not use (chilly nights in January).

Did wake up the two first nights of the train horns at night at appr 03:30 - the rest of the way I was not bothered. Is not the hotel’s fault that the freight trains pass right through San Diego at nights… would feel worse if I had bought one of those condos on the other side of the railroad!

For most evening meals we headed down to the Gaslamp Quarter where there was much to choose from – only a ten minute walk from the hotel.
At the hotel, we had dinner once at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion which was f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c and something that we can recommend!
Also the DW’s bar featured a nice bar meny, reasonably priced, plentiful, and tasty. The breakfast buffet at LW was only fair, only used it once – settled for a grab n’ go from Starbucks during the conference days.

Can also recommend the Seaport Village, which is a five minute walk, for nice lunches outside of the hotel in a nice atmosphere.

To summarize, a good hotel for conventions and business, in the heart of San Diego, close to the main attractions in San Diego. When in San Diego again, I'll be back!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Train horns but the same sound all over this area...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

While this appears to be primarily a business hotel, it was very nice and the location can't be beat. Staff was very helpful. I'm not sure I'd opt for the additional cost of the conceirge level again, though. I'd also ask for the North tower with a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinAnyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed at the Marriot Marina and Hotel for a week in January while attending a conference at the San Diego Convention Center.
Arrival at SD airport was easy. Picked up my luggage and went out to locate a cab. The cab area was very well organized with an airport official providing assistance and the line moved quickly.
A short cab ride and $12.00 later, I was very warmly greeted by the Marriot bellman. My check-in was early, smooth and my messages and pre-arranged packages conveyed promptly. Return to the airport was similarly quick and efficient.
I had a standard King on the Marina side. A million dollar view. The room itself was comfortable, well kept and the window opened for some lovely sea air. It was not special or spectacular but very comfortable and serviceable. Soft water in the showers. Good bed and linens.
The best part was its location right next door to the convention centre. I'm not one for breakfast, so I grabbed a Starbucks coffee and croissant and went off to my sessions. for early morning sessions, or returning to the hotel after the Gala dinner the convention centre the location could not be beat. For extra conference excursions it was located right near SD's Fifth Avenue and the Gaslamp area. It was a short walk to Macy's, Nordstrom's and Ralph's and an excellent restaurant area. Notably NOBU, which might have been worth the trip in itself. The hotel also is located on the sea walk area, also very pleasant for lunch or an early morning walk.
The DW's bar/restaurant was casual and reasonably priced with generous portions. Roy's Hawaiian Fusion for finer evening dining, excellent as well. On the last day, I did the full breakfast at the LW. I was informed that the buffet was not available due to low occupancy. I was warmly greeted and offered coffee and juice which I accepted. It added $8.00 dollar to my breakfast bill that came in at 25.00 and change before tip. It was very generous (too generous, what's with the ginormous US portions?) in size and OK, but I wouldn't have it again. All service contacts were friendly and consistently good.
Nice gym, rather awkwardly located but with a lovely view of the Marina. Pool area was nice enough, though only the small, shallow pool was warm enough to get into. Nice hot tub. Gift shops were good. ATM and Hertz car rental on-site. All in all, it was an excellent location and a very good base to the convention center, a good place to conduct business and meet and entertain clients. Promised a professional product and delivered. Don't think I would choose it for a "personal" resort vacation.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed here for four nights for a conference and loved my stay. If you are a Marriott Elite member, this hotel has one of the best concierge lounges I have seen. Excellent staff, very knowledgeable and nice, and great location within walking distance to the Gaslamp district and a grocery store. Pricey add-ons, however, with internet and parking being an absolute rip-off, but that is standard throughout the Marriott chain. Directly next door to the convention center and the Grand Hyatt where a lot of other conferences locate.

  • Liked — Views, nice beds
  • Disliked — Costs of add ons
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at end of Dec 2008, before heading to Rose Bowl. Location is great, walking distance to shopping in San Diego and many bars/ restaurants esp Gaslamp area. Our room overlooked the city. Room had king bed, very comfy. Room was corner room so kind of weird shaped but it worked fine for us. Hertz rental car in lobby was convenient as well as Starbucks. Pool area nice, but a little too cool to get into water. Nice marina area. We found to staff to be very friendly and accommodating. No complaints except trains outside of hotel can be a bit noise during night if your room faces city. My husband slept right through it, but I am more of a light sleeper. WOuld still highly recommend hotel though.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,325 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,888 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,999 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing