We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, can get really busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #36 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, can get really busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Marriott Marquis is in a great location, and many rooms offer sea views. I would find it ideal for business conferences, as it has all you need for a conference but still gives you somewhat of a vacation feel with the beautiful gardens and pools.

The only downside when we were there is that we went on a family trip over Memorial Day weekend, and it was really, really crowded. It was so busy, we even had some of our stuff stolen, which of course ruined it for us. But (I presume) that's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    1,170
    325
    119
    81
See reviews for
614
665
107
1,527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Hotel staff is very friendly and courteous. They appear genuinely happy to work there. We enjoy the location ( seaport village) and the room with a great city view. Pool is gorgeous and tropical and the room was very clean and modern. I would have given 5 stars but we had a very annoying experience with a male barista at the Starbucks located in the hotel. We also got charged twice for overnight parking.. It was a mistake and the hotel corrected it immediately. No fault of theirs.. We exited through a parking gate that charged us the second amount, confusing parking structure..anyway, lovely place. We will be back again but will visit the Starbucks outside of hotel next visit. :)

Room Tip: City view is very pretty. Had a marina view on a different trip also, both are equally pleasing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkKimono13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I was overwhelmed when I arrived at this Marriott by its size. I arrived the day Comic Con was ending and it was somewhat crazy. The next day and for the next 7 days it was a large hotel in size but didnt feel so large in any areas of the hotel. The restaurant staff in Marina Kitchen, Roy's and Tiki were excellent as was the Sales team at the hotel. Actually so was the front desk, bellman, valet parking housekeeping. You cant beat the bay views. Centrally located marina area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LexyNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel the first night of Comicon a couple of weeks ago. The hotel was really nice. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms and a very nice view of the bay. It is right across the street from the train station and Petco Park. You are also a block away from the Gaslamp District. The hotel itself has a few restaurants (including Roy's) a Starbucks and a bakery. The pool looked very inviting as well (although i did not get a chance to use it). If you are attending an event at the convention center, this hotel is ideal as it is right next door. Of course this being during comicon it was not unusal to see Wonder Woman and Iron Man saying a quick "hello" in the elevator....

Room Tip: Since the hotel is on the bay, try to get an Ocean view and ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikepoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I travel to San Diego often for work and I have to say I love the Marriott on the Harbor it's a great location and the rooms are fine .,,, typical convention hotel but awesome views and a short walk to everything . Also great pool and the staff at the pool bar is great . Love the cerviche

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is very nice hotel, recently updated. Service is great, our room on the 15th floor facing the harbor is beautiful. Great view. the only bad was that can't sleep with balcony door open. Also the beds were way too soft for our comfort level. I ended up sleeping on the floor one night. Too much street noise, and a construction site that is going 24 hr a day. Location is great, walk to gaslamp quarter with kids, walking distance to Ralph's grocery store. Everything in the hotel is pretty expensive, including the self park for $28/day, $45/day or valet. But that should be expected given the location. Great gym to workout in the morning. nice pool, but a little crowded. We had our kids, and even I thought there were too many kids in the pool. Not recommended for couples who are looking to relax by pool side. lots of shops and restaurants near by to choose from.

Room Tip: book a room in the North side upper floor with balcony, facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paymon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great hotel with beautiful views of San Diego Bay, which we were upgraded to and enjoyed! However, it would have been better if the windows were cleaned, other than that no complaints. The staff was very friendly, the valet attendants were super helpful & courteous! And having the Seaport Village & Boardwalk to enjoy was another plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryMary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,216 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,434 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing