We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good! ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Let me start of with this: THIS IS NOT A RESORT PROPERTY! Yes, there is a very nice pool and great restaurants BUT it is also a Business hotel... Meaning that there are a lot of people there not going to relax. But here is the actual review. I thought the rooms were very nice and our view was spectacular. It is 2 blocks from Petco Park and Horton Plaza and right next to Seaport Village. The Staff was friendly and easily approachable. The pool was beautiful and it had a great tropical area around it. This is obviously a huge problem in every city but specifically this one. This problem is that there are lots of homeless people just out of the gated part of the hotel. While I have nothing against them, they got annoying if you would not respond to them. I think I might try the Hyatt next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Palmtree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,924
    1,320
    364
    132
    99
See reviews for
698
760
116
1,779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for two nights (Sat. and Sun.) on the July 4th long weekend. We had booked a room with 2 queen beds but when we arrived on Saturday night the room type we had booked was no longer available. The gentleman at reception was extremely helpful and offered us an alternative room plus a $100.00 credit towards the room. Since we were only staying two nights we accepted his offer.

The room (room 1232) had a king bed with a pullout sofa bed and a balcony facing the marina. This was suitable for our needs but not large enough if we were staying longer. The bathroom was extremely small. This room is at the end of the hallway and due to the shape of the hotel, not very spacious.

Despite the room size, the hotel is located in an excellent location. There is also Hertz rental car right in the hotel which is very convenient. The Hertz staff was very accommodating and helpful.

As it was the July 4th long weekend it was not possible to get into the restaurant (Marina Kitchen Dining) for breakfast as there was always a long waiting list. Also there was no a la carte breakfast and only a buffet was served. We had dinner on the patio at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion and the food was excellent.

This is a very large hotel with two towers, a large pool and deck and many amenities. However, because of its size getting around can be daunting.

This is an average hotel with nothing specifically wrong. This is not our preferred type of hotel. Too busy and too impersonal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the hallway not at the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
The 4th of July holiday is a very festive time for our city and our hotel that overlooks the Fireworks event. I appreciate that you chose our location to celebrate the holiday. I am sorry that the room type you had requested was not available during your stay. I hope you were able enjoy the bay view and that you were able to see San Diego’s Big Bay Boom from your balcony room. As you were able to see first-hand, we are centrally located to the Gaslamp District, Sea Port Village and so many other dining options and attractions. I am sorry that you weren’t able to dine at our Marina Kitchen but hope you were able to venture out to one of the nearby great breakfast spots within walking distance of the hotel and experience a little of our city. We hope that your travels will bring you back to San Diego.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Staff who seem more focused on just completing tasks, not smiling, saying thanks or even really acknowledging the guests. And I can't believe management doesn't issue instructions to staff like "don't walk in front of them rudely when you are moving around the hotel facilities" or "smile, say hi, and ask if the guest needs anything". Really lousy service overall.
A room service meal that is never delivered, but IS charged to the room.
A staff member who responded "let me check and call you back" instead of "sorry for that I'll be glad to remove it from your bill and to ask the room service staff to do a better job".
And that same staff member calling back saying, and I quote "I checked it out and removed it from your bill. Thank you." but no apology for it happened (I was hungry that night and went to sleep hunger) nor for it being charged to my room.
The worst bank of elevators (South Tower) in all of creation. At morning rush hour it can literally take 15 minutes to get to the lobby.
They have converted room service to a glorified take out joint. Not appealing.
The restaurants are way over-priced, loud, and with ho-hum menu items.
The concierge lounge is tiny and crowded and feels like a cattle car operation.
Supposedly this property is one of Marriott's flagship properties.
The manager listened politely, looked grim, apologized, and gave me 10,000 points in my account. I guess that was nice, but she didn't really seem to make me think that anything would change.
After 22 years of regular visits to San Diego - it's time for a new favorite hotel.
From a lifetime Marriott Gold member.

Room Tip: The south tower is more convenient to getting out to the convention center and the Gaslamp district...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, Executive Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello John,

I really wish I’d been given a chance to meet you in person and truly extend the level of hospitality that you are accustomed to when staying at our hotel. I appreciate your candid comments and have shared them with our Hotel Manager and Hosts. I am very sorry, that on this occasion your, impression of our hotel was changed. I hope that you understand it’s our sincere interest in gaining your confidence with the friendly service you have grown to trust Marriott with. Perhaps you would consider our hotel the next time you are in San Diego so that we could show you the warmth and hospitality that all our guests deserve when staying at Marriott.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Decided to try this hotel since my husband and his work all have Marriot cards. My husband is an Elite member wanting to grow points, so he convinced me to stay despite me being a loyal Hilton member. First, the Manager for the Food and Beverage is by far the worst! I ordered a drink the first day, just to be told they were out of it. They were out of Mt Dew, out of Rum, out of A-1 sauce, out of Stella Artois, the list goes on. Tried orderingroom service from their in room service, only to be told once AGAIN, they do not have room service!. another shot down! The dinner at their restaurant for three of us was over $130. Extremely overpriced! The irish coffee I ordered was $12! We dined at the Cheesecake Factory and had better food and drinks for half the price! And guess what? They were not out of stock in anything! For the price we paid for the rooms and food was ridiculous! Suggestion to the hotel, find yourself a Food and Beverage manager that knows how to stock and be prepared for their customers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Josie,

I appreciate that you and your husband chose to stay at our hotel over your preferred hotel. I am very sorry that your impression of our hotel fell short of what your husband has come to expect in service when staying at a Marriott Hotel. I have shared the details of your dining post with our Hotel Manager and Director of Food & Beverage for their review. I regret that when you inquired about our room service that you were not told of our In-room Dining program. Fortunately our location is centrally located to so many dining options and attractions. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy dining at the new Headquarters at Sea Port Village. It’s one of the newest attractions in San Diego, within a short walk from our hotel and offers some excellent dining choices like Season’s 52 and Mozza. I do hope that your travels will bring you back to San Diego and that you would consider our hotel once again for a much more memorable stay.
Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the best hotels to stay in, in San Diego. The location is perfect, the view to die for, and the ambiance and neighborhood the best to be at for a short, quick trip in the downtown marina area. Perfect.

Room Tip: The best views are bay views, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

By Marriotts admission and harbor police who helped investigate, this was not the first time bikes were stolen from the hotel parking lot, and previously an individual was caught in the act with wire cutters attempting to detach a bike from a car. In our case 2 expensive carbon fiber triathlon bikes were stolen, bike rack vandalized, on Sunday, in broad daylight, within a hour of us leaving to get lunch. Bikes were secured to car with cable locks. We returned to find locks cut and both bikes missing. Police reports were filed, Marriott claims came back with "...we never took possession so we can't help you...". Same apparently applies to anything you leave on Marriott premises without explicitly asking them to securely store it.

It would seem reasonable for Marriott to secure its parking lot, especially after repeated incidents of theft, but that would require caring about its customers and their property. It may be reasonable to assume that this level of neglect is not limited to Marriott's parking lot, but I certainly would not feel safe leaving anything in hotel room or parking lot (car included), and would opt to stay in a hotel that doesn't shy away from their responsibility to guests. We currently looking into filing with small claims. In retrospect paying extra for a more secure hotel would have been worth it. At $5,500+ it's an expensive lesson.

Room Tip: Don't leave anything of value on hotel property that is not insured (cars, electronics, jewelry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Stan,

I want to assure you that we take the safety and security of our guests and their belongings very seriously at this hotel. Our team of Security Officers conduct random patrols of the parking area. We offer our guests the opportunity to secure their personal belongings left on the exterior of the vehicles with our Bell Stand. This is a complimentary service that we extend to our guests for the safekeeping of their oversize items. I am sorry that in your case this incident occurred and would like to advise you that we have been in contact with Harbor Police to try and assist with the recovery of the bikes.

A member of our Security Team will be reaching out to you under separate e-mail in response to the correspondence you received from our Marriott Claims office.

Kind regards,
Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here in April, beautiful hotel and great staff...location was perfect to walk to the Gaslight District. The hotel has a wonderful pool and cafe. The views were excellent, especially on the rooftop. I would recommend staying here if at all possible when you travel to San Diego!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4,831 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing