We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located between the bay and the Gaslamp disctrict”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Centrally located between the bay and the Gaslamp disctrict”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a nice enough hotel, if not outstanding in any particular way. My one complaint was that the largest hot tub by their pool was broken and they had no recourse to repair it as they were missing a part immediately before a major group event moved into the hotel. However, they were very apologetic and the manager went out of his way to make up for the misstep in any way he could.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyLScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    1,319
    363
    131
    98
See reviews for
696
760
116
1,776
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

the amenities and atmosphere set this hotel apart. while the rooms are decent and had ample size, we really appreciated the great food options which were plentiful and the pool which reminded me of a Vegas pool with the vibe. The food at the outdoor tequila bar was great as was the takeout from the main restaurant downstairs. Drink service was also good. There was a concert for some event taking place outside our room which was frustrating for my wife who had to do some work that night but the front desk offered up a noise machine for free which did help a bit. The hotel has a great energy and I would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, very centric, the view of Coronado and the bay is amazing, the rooms are very comfortable and the pool area is beautiful, the gym is excellent, there is a Starbucks in the lobby and other food services, its right next to the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter. Kind of expensive but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to San Diego on a family trip and had a great time at the Marquis. The property is close to the marina and is in walking distance to restaurants and shops. The room we got was a king size bed and everything was clean with a great view of the city. We specifically requested a room not facing the train and they provided an immediate room change. My family and I enjoyed the swimming pool as well as the pool side bar. The drinks were reasonably priced and the food was delicious. We would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed down the road for the first two nights at the Marriott downtown (not marquis). They overheard my bday was coming from my conversation with my fiance. They left me a card under my door offering a free appetizer with a very kind note! My bday was going to be during my stay at the marriott marquis a few blocks away. They didn't acknowledge the notes in our reservation about my bday. They did nothing special and claimed allowing us a king size bed was for my bday.

This place doesn't offer much. The window was so dirty on the outside we could hardly see our view. They lied and said their pool was heated it isn't and it's broken if it is. They also lied and said the hot tub was 85 degrees (I'm pregnant and can't go into tubs above 100 degree) I was so excited only to find a sign stating no pregnant woman 104 degrees. Why would the front desk be so lazy! No happy bday, no 10 second research into the pool.

To top it off the cleaning staff skipped our room. Now my grandmother cannot speak english before you label this racist and I do not speak Spanish. We are capable of some communication through gestures and basic words. Even I memorized functional Spanish for my job to service Spanish speaking patrons. I memorized words purely based on my services to them nothing more but it can service them. I had to flag down the cleaning staff because they skipped my room. The woman kept saying "no one, no clean?" I said no. Then she asked again three times and I answered. She was ready to walk away when a non cleaning staff translated she was asked to come back to clean in 30 min. She entered as I was putting shoes to leave she kept saying "no clean, no clean" then tried to leave. Not until I demanded "limpia ahora!" Thank god I remembered those words or I'd have a two day dirty room. She was not with it, no training or common sense.

There isnt a spa of any sort so arrangements for a bday pedicure was done at the hilton a ways down the road. I wanted a light meal with fruits and vegetables so I went to their kitchen (a restaurant-ish lounge area) and I asked specifically for the light food items with fruits and vegetables, another lie they smiled and said yes. I asked to see the menu and there wasn't anything I described, I asked if they could point out the items they said they had and the hostesses said, "Oh, yeah we really don't have any. But one has beets" beets aren't light. I'm terribly bummed. This place is pricey and they smile and lie through their teeth. They barely clean your room when they do and the outside of the window is covered in so many dirt speckles it ruins the view you paid extra for.

Pay much less for a hotel down the road for much more in amenities, treatment and cleaning. Thanks for the mediocre bday. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aylaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pleasant high rise hotel on San Diego Bay. Rooms are clean and well appointed and the view is great. However room I had at a Springhill last week was much larger and half the price. Bathroom was just way too small for two people, but partially redeemed because it had a great shower. Really disappointed to have an old fashioned coil mattress as so many hotels now have coil and foam mattresses.

Nice pool complex behind the hotel for families.

Room Tip: Beautiful location and I usually love Marriotts but this one not so much. Ask for a room on the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjb4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really well located, with incredible views. We were upgraded to an executive suit, with a huge living area and balcony with an amazing view. The bedroom area was really small as was the bathroom. The area with the shower and toilet had a mirror on the door that you looked at as seated on the toilet if the door was shut. In my opinion this was poor placement.

However,the balcony was amazing with an incredible marina view which makes up for the weird mirror in the bathroom.

We went to the Marina Kitchen for appetizers it was nice with a great view.

We went to Roy's, it was awful. The food was bad, my husband's fish was cold and the service was so incredibly slow that he was worried he would have no food if he sent it back so he ate around it.

I asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation , she first recommended Roy's and after another question recommended the Top of the Market, which was great see my review,however she gave me a business card and told me they did not take reservations, which was wrong as they are on Open Table.

If not for the experience at Roy's and the concierge this would be a five rating, as the rest of the staff, bell and restaurants were great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,823 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing