We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views! Excellent service! Can't wait to come back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

There couldn't be a more beautiful location for this Marriott! It has it all going on. It sits right on the bay. Gorgeous views of the Bay, marina, Pool area, and City. We did have a executive suite that faced the pool , marina, and bay. The room was immaculate. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The sitting room had a large sectional, end tables, lamps , desk and huge flat screen TV. A very large door wall and balcony that you could go out and sit on and watch everyone at the pool, boats going in and our of the harbor. You could even see across the water to Coronado . The front desk was super nice! Upgraded our room for us. Offered us Chocolates and made sure we had everything that we needed in our room. Valet was also very friendly offering us cold water bottles and retrieving our vehicle quickly. The hospitality room staff was also very nice and accomodating, great food. They also have a food court that you can go down to the main floor and grab a quick coffe, bite to eat. There also were restaraunts on the premises .

Down town San Diego was a GREAT time! The Gaslamp district had a lot to offer as well. It was within walking distance but we did take a bike taxi. They are all over and they get you to where you need to go while still seeing all the sites. The BEST place to stay in San Diego for sure! WE will be back in the spring!!!

Room Tip: Seems like every room would have a wonderful view! San Diego is beautiful and this hotel is the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,442 - 2,448 of 3,951 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have found out that mariott charged $500 when I reviewed credit card statement.

When I called to find out, they have said that it was for local phone that room has made.. but phone # that was used only for 9 digits (non sense).
I definitely did not make the call.

customer service rep said it will take upto 5 business day to investigate.

No one follow up for the case in 5 days and I have called several times and left message in house account..

I called sep 6 2013 and asked status and they said they are still working on the issue and will inform me when it gets cleared.

I got the credit back to account when I checked the bank statement, however no one called or emailed about the case and explained how they charged $500

I would like to ask you to review the card statement carefully after visit from marriott hotel. If I did not find out, I would have been charged $500 that I did not spend..

Also I am very disappointed marriot's poor customer service.. No one even contacted us to explain as of today.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Tomandjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel does it right in all areas to review. Comfy beds, impeccably clean, attentive staff, tasty food, great parking. You name it, they have it covered. Lots to do along the water or in the Gaslamp District. Excellent locale, excellent water views with patio! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passport-Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

II stayed at the Marriott Marquis and Marina this weekend for a conference. The north tower had no water this morning, I was to be in the South Tower. So some might not have the same degree of satisfaction that I do. The lobby is light and airy; check-in and checkout were painless; the staff, friendly; the food in the restaurant tasty; the beds, good; and there were plenty of towels for conference attendees sharing a room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a smaller convention sept 12-14. The hotel is beautiful and the view is gorgeous whether you face city of ocean. The service needs motivation and enthusiasm. The wait staff in the restaurants are very inattentive, so much so that several people in our party missed lunch because they could not serve us within an hour, and the restaurant was only 1/4 full. The bar staff inside and out seem quite snobby. Overall the visit was fine but this hotel seems to lack leadership and quality service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate twice in the Marina restaurant during a recent trip to San Diego. We had two lovely meals - fabulous food and very good service. On both occasions it was fairly quiet but didn't detract. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfrtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent experience. The food in the Marina Kitchen is very good. Daily brunch is plentiful and has something for everyone. For dinner, definitely try Roy's. Some may think it is pricey but the quality is well worth it.

Great place for staying when attending a convention at the adjacent San Diego Convention Center which we were attending. Staff was very accommodating and the bell captains and valet were fabulous. Both department were top notch.

Room was nice. A few maintenance issues in the room but nothing significant.

If you ship anything to yourself, there is a UPS Business Center and they are very accommodating but be aware that they charge a pretty significant handling fee per package.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqueJ-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,326 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $203 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing