We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #40 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 4 nights here for a conference. I would rate this an excellent property. Service was exceptional. I arrived on the last day of the Comic Con convention and it was chaos. Yet the valet, bell station, and registration desk were calm and managed the situation quite well. I had a room in the south tower with a balcony overlooking the pool and bay. If you have a choice you should try to get one of these rooms. The room was exceptionally clean. Brilliant HD TV, walk-in shower, mini-fridge, and king bed.

I was there for a conference so I did not get a chance to try the restaurants as the conference covered all of our meals. I did get a chance to buy a cinnamon roll and bottle of water from one of the coffee shops and it cost me $7. That was a rip off.

Outside the heated pool was beautiful. The two hot tubs were great if not a little too hot. In the evenings the fire pits at the outdoor bar kept you nice and warm and created a really neat atmosphere.

Proximity to Seaport Village and USS Midway was excellent. If you simply want to stroll along the waterfront you can do that too. It's right outside.

Only real problem we had was that the wireless network cratered during the conference which created a problem.

Otherwise everything was wonderful.

-Roger

Room Tip: Be sure to get a bay view room with balcony. You won't be disappointed. Being able to relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    1,269
    353
    127
    91
See reviews for
667
729
113
1,700
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Marriott was crazy-busy when we stayed there for the San Diego Comic Con, but I was very impressed that the hotel ran really well. Our room was cleaned early every afternoon and all public areas were clean and well-run even though very full of people.

All elevators ran well.

So - my conclusion that this is a really well-run hotel if it can cope at this crazy period.

I'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: South tower is nearer convention center. North tower's rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am a platinum rewards member with Marriott. I travel for work every week and look for a brand that is loyal to their customer base. I traveled to the San Diego Marriott Marquis on vacation for Comic-Con weekend. This is their busiest weekend. My first stop after check in was the concierge lounge. I was so disappointed with the changes they have made. The staff stated that corporate had cut down on concierge appetizers.... they were serving fried poppers and cheese with crackers. This was a huge downgrade from previous stays..... I told my husband it was no longer worth it to be a Marriott customer and made the decision to move to Hilton after our vacation.

I will tell you what changed my mind...the staff. Don't get me wrong, I paid a hefty price to stay at this hotel. However the service is what really made the difference. The front desk staff, housekeeping, the concierge lounge and bell desk were AMAZING. It reminded me why I am loyal to Marriott. So what ...they cut back on lounge items. Would you give up service for a few extra appetizers... not me. Thank you Marriott Marquis for making my stay magical. We enjoyed our vacation with you and will look forward to our visit next year!

Forever loyal,

Shownein

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shownein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My stay with the Marriott was during the San Diego Comic Con. With thousands of people attending and the hotel full, I thought there would be more noise and clutter left behind. NOT SO! Marriott did a fantastic job of keeping noise down and you would never know so many happy, crazy dressed people were there. Job well done. I love this hotel. It captures the heart of San Diego, walking distance to the Gaslamp, Sea Port Village, Petco Park, the Midway aircraft carrier museum and many fantastic restaurants. The pool area is a tropical oasis. The Marriott is a great romantic getaway and also a wonderful family place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors, facing the ocean, overlooking the pool. There are two towers. We stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a recent conference and felt it was a good hotel choice. The hotel room was very nice with a balcony that faced the water and had terrific views. Room was very clean and modern and was refreshed daily. The pool was a very nice feature, large and felt very tropical with the landscape and was nice to have waitresses walking around taking food and drink orders. Food at the restaurants in the hotel very extremely pricey but typical of a large hotel I suppose. Thankfully I didn't have to pay for the room or else the almost $400 a night charge would be completely ridiculous. The only complaint that I had is that the balcony doors did little to reduce noise from the pool area or your neighbors sitting out on their balcony and was sometimes annoying. Otherwise I felt that this was a nice hotel and would recommend too other business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Mariott does not disappoint. This hotel is gorgeous and convenient to the conference center. The views are great, the pool is beautiful and the exercise area is amazing. The rooms are very well appointed with large bathrooms and Bath and Body Works toiletries. The bed linens are luxury and bright, white clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhasslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, the luxury rooms, the very good wine selection at the 2 comfortable bar areas were topped only be the great location: Right on the water, close to the Gaslamp district. All of these made for a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGuyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing