We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Marriott Marquis very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed At San Diego Marriott Marquis from June 30 - July 3.
Very nice - Of note:
1. The registration desk is insufficiently staffed; you have to wait. There are two lines - one for regular people and another line for super human beings or something where they get more benefits. But on a Sunday early eve had to wait about 20 to 30 minutes. The registration area is not set up for more than a few people at the desk. There was one person for the regular people group and two for the super-duper group. Businessman behind me lookedd liked he was going to blow a gasket.
Not good Marriott and not typical of Marriott hotels.
2. Cleanliness Yes very
3. Bartender at outside bar - young with hair combed in a little peak - excellent and welcoming. Latino gentleman - did not get name - terrific.
4. Marriott mattresses are so soft with the mattress top they put on.
5. Would be nice to have shower caps in room instead of having to ask for them.
6. Arrangement with Hertz is far better than over at the next door Hyatt - You pick up and drop off right at the front. Hyatt you have to turn it in at the top of a deserted garage with very limited guidance of what to do with keys or mileage - not a human around - very nice lady at desk in lobby - but exactly what you are supposed to do with the car is unclear - Marriott far better.
7. Heated pool wonderful.
8. Grab and go and Starbucks there very helpful.
9. Valets at the front have a "give me a big tip for saying hello" look. Otherwise, staff are great.
10. Room service excellent and precise down to the the exact order. On time and efficient.
11. Housekeeping staff efficient and very pleasant, helpful, and friendly.
12. Internet free zones should be in rooms - not just lobby and by pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebitfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,921)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,552 - 2,558 of 3,921 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Family of 5 (3 kids).
Pros: Outstanding views and top notch pool for kids and adults; Amazing atmosphere at the restaurant near the south tower. Friendly staff. extremely clean and spotless. THE best hotel gym I have ever been to.

Cons: Self parking $28 a day??? Valet $40 a day??? That is ridiculous. Since it is right next to the SD convention center, it gets so busy that you may not even find a parking spot in the self parking. believe me, I drove around almost half hour before giving up.

TiP.... park across the street overnight for FREE on any public street (10pm-8 am) Then you can pay for an hour or 2 for the meter before you head out for your adventures... We stayed for 6 nights x $28 self park at the hotel,,, well you do the math.....

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor with a Bayview.. South tower is more lively and loud and north seems to be...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a two night stay at this property, Sunday – Tuesday. Our family makes yearly trips to San Diego and usually stay in La Jolla or the Gaslamp area. This was our first experience on the marina and we really enjoyed it. Having the feel of a tropical vacation but being so close to the Gaslamp and Seaport Village was ideal. The public areas of this hotel are very open and accommodating to any type of traveler. The clean lines and modern look was refreshing. Our kids enjoyed the pool and water play area even on a partially cloudy day, as the water is heated. Overall service was average. This being a convention hotel it was too busy for my liking. However, it is a great choice for a quick getaway for the family. Rooms and the bathrooms are on the small side. Bathrooms (specially shower/tub area), could us a further renovation as they appeared aged. This is a solid 4 star property that I would definitely returned to.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We were given a nice room overlooking the Bay Area. The room was renovated and clean. Hotel lobby is very nice and has nice Starbucks and restaurants. Staff were very professional. The swimming pool is amazing, the kids had such great time. The location is just amazing.
My only comment concerns the concierge lounge, the hours were very limited as it is closed Saturday and opens after five on Sunday. These are the days I wished to use it and enjoy the services offered for us. Also, the concierge lounge does not nearly offer what other Marriotts do. I have to say we were disappointed with this lounge. Otherwise our stay was very nice.

Room Tip: Book a room with bay view and high floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We checked in yesterday for three nights. We are Marriott Platinum Elite members attending a conference at the Hyatt next door, but out of loyalty and many years of Marriott membership, we opted to stay at the Marriott. Big mistake. Upon checkin, we were told that the concierge lounge would be closed for our entire stay due to a "plumbing" problem (which would be miraculously resolved after the 4th of July!) Since this means no complimentary breakfast, snacks, evening hors d'oeuvres and desserts, we asked for the complimentary breakfast credit usually provided when concierge is out of service. They said no. We asked to speak to a manager, but the manager was "too busy" to speak to us, however, we were then offered $54 for two people, for our entire stay - $9.00 per person per day, $1 short of a small pot of coffee in the room. After saying this was unacceptable, they threw in the cost of self parking.

Upon arriving to our room, it had two beds although our preference is a king. We asked for a king and were changed to another room. The bed was a nightmare. It sounded and felt like sleeping on a broken chain-link fence! The air conditioning clunked on and off and has to be set at 62 just to get 70. The in room refrigerator rattled like a clap-trap train all night. Suffice to say, no rest was had in room 1725 last night. It felt like we were sleeping in a prison.

This is the worst bed we have experienced in 30 years of travel - (honestly! I am stunned that it is in this hotel.) The noise in the room and aching back all night meant for a restless night. Platinum elite means nothing here.

The view from the room is lovely - unfortunately, it disappears at night and suddenly you are very sorry you are here.

Room Tip: Room 1725 has a bed we like to call "the rack."
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksbeachlover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

In town for 5 days, made reservations in February through convention site. I wish I read trip advisor first, I checked in & was told I had a great view of the San Diego skyline, which was true but they do not tell you about the constant train track signals going off all night. Definitely ask for bay side. Room was clean , small , tub shower , nothing special, no separate sink area. Bed very comfortable. Even at $239 convention rate it was over priced. Add another $25 bucks in taxes. PooL was nice, wireless not included in room

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great stay at the Marriott Marquis. I love a big hotel, and this is just that. Check in was relatively efficient, and the room was nice. Nothing spectacular, but was good size with a great view from the balcony. We were in the north tower, and it has awesome views
The location is also walking distance to so much --- Gas Lamp, the marina, a great bagel shop, and much more. If you are into fitness, take a walk or run along the marina. Beautiful boats and scenery. The gym is also really nice....great equipment and plenty of it.
The lobby bar is great for drinks and always happening. The menu there seemed great for foodies, and got good reviews, but we never ate there.
The pool was perfect....nice chairs, scenery, wait staff, fire pits with padded seating, and the best pool bathroom I had ever been in. Meticulously clean!
If we ever get back to San Diego we will stay again!

Room Tip: North tower ocean views are great
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $210 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing