We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property. Poor recognition of Elite Marriott members”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property because the conference that I was attending was on site. Nice location. View of the harbor. Close to the ball park and restaurants.
No complaints except that they inexplicably gave the 2 of us that are Marriott elite members worse rooms (no balcony / smaller) than those who were not elite members that checked in at the same time. They could not offer an explanation beyond that is was a regrettable error. Something to watch if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhsoxfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent location right next to the convention center. It is a 10 minute walk the the Gaslamp district.

Rooms are clean a quite. I was able to get great sleep there. Would recommend a bay view room with a balcony. The rooms are decent size, but the bathrooms are very small. Good luck trying to catch the elevator when a meeting gets out.

No turn down service, no bottled water in the room and no mini bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located right on the water in San Diego. I was attending a conference at the convention center and it was right next door. Also, easy walk to the Gas Lamp District and Petco Park. I had a corner room in the North Tower so I had a view of the water AND a view of downtown San Diego. The pool area was really nice. The room was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had not been to this hotel for over 2 years. I was always very pleased and satisfied with this hotel. This stay was the best. It appeared that it had been recently renovated. It looks real good! This location is my favorite in the San Diego area, convenient to everything.The staff is the absolute BEST! Could not have been better. The rooms were large with a good view. It was quite comfortable. I look forward to another visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 2nd time staying here. The first time was some 2 years ago. The location was great then, and of course still is. The hotel has gotten a facelift, and even though it was quite nice before it was even better this time. The staff is very friendly and quite accommodating. Pool was great and the night movie pool thing for the kids was very welcomed. The only downside (if you can call it that) is that parking is expensive, and wifi comes with a charge (but there is wifi in the pool area and the lobby area free).

Room Tip: Bay looking rooms all the way. 8th Floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank languer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't get me wrong...if you like HUGE hotels and don't mind being a bit of a hike from the Gaslamp then you'll probably be okay here. I was here for a conference and found this hotel to be lacking compared to the nearby Hilton (where I'd stay next time, for sure).

Our room was on the small side (there were two of us sharing and it was a tad cramped).

Cleanliness was spotty; there was gum stuck to the wall behind the nightstand (ick).

Hair in the tub upon arrival and the cleaning wasn't exactly top of the line (they never did remove the gum)

Internet was $12.95 for 24 hours and during peak times, it was EXCRUCIATINGLY slow. Sadly, I was stuck using it as my MiFi (Verizon) had terrible connectivity.

Room service had decent service, but was pricey. Think $25 with fees and tip for a decent breakfast. The nearby restaurants or even the Starbucks in the lobby is cheaper.

Gift/sundry shop was well stocked and not horribly pricey. Go to the little bodega in the Gaslamp across the street from the Hilton Gaslamp. They have EVERYTHING as really good prices.

Staff was nice; bellman and valets are extremely accommodating.

Would I stay there again? No. There are better, more intimate hotel choices with better on site services and lower prices in better locations. It gets fours stars, but it's not for me.

Room Tip: If you can get a water view with a balcony, good for you! We didn't have one but we heard those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room on the 20th floor. The view of the San Diego harbor was wonderful. This hotel is a short walk to the Gaslamp district and the San Diego Harbor Walk. Marina Kitchen has good food and service and they have a Starbucks which opens early. The pool area was beautiful and has lots of outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the sun or the evening. All the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good place to stay in San Diego.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,326 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $206 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing