We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great property. Poor recognition of Elite Marriott members” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #36 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great property. Poor recognition of Elite Marriott members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property because the conference that I was attending was on site. Nice location. View of the harbor. Close to the ball park and restaurants.
No complaints except that they inexplicably gave the 2 of us that are Marriott elite members worse rooms (no balcony / smaller) than those who were not elite members that checked in at the same time. They could not offer an explanation beyond that is was a regrettable error. Something to watch if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhsoxfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    1,170
    325
    119
    81
See reviews for
614
665
107
1,528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent location right next to the convention center. It is a 10 minute walk the the Gaslamp district.

Rooms are clean a quite. I was able to get great sleep there. Would recommend a bay view room with a balcony. The rooms are decent size, but the bathrooms are very small. Good luck trying to catch the elevator when a meeting gets out.

No turn down service, no bottled water in the room and no mini bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located right on the water in San Diego. I was attending a conference at the convention center and it was right next door. Also, easy walk to the Gas Lamp District and Petco Park. I had a corner room in the North Tower so I had a view of the water AND a view of downtown San Diego. The pool area was really nice. The room was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had not been to this hotel for over 2 years. I was always very pleased and satisfied with this hotel. This stay was the best. It appeared that it had been recently renovated. It looks real good! This location is my favorite in the San Diego area, convenient to everything.The staff is the absolute BEST! Could not have been better. The rooms were large with a good view. It was quite comfortable. I look forward to another visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 2nd time staying here. The first time was some 2 years ago. The location was great then, and of course still is. The hotel has gotten a facelift, and even though it was quite nice before it was even better this time. The staff is very friendly and quite accommodating. Pool was great and the night movie pool thing for the kids was very welcomed. The only downside (if you can call it that) is that parking is expensive, and wifi comes with a charge (but there is wifi in the pool area and the lobby area free).

Room Tip: Bay looking rooms all the way. 8th Floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank languer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
193 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't get me wrong...if you like HUGE hotels and don't mind being a bit of a hike from the Gaslamp then you'll probably be okay here. I was here for a conference and found this hotel to be lacking compared to the nearby Hilton (where I'd stay next time, for sure).

Our room was on the small side (there were two of us sharing and it was a tad cramped).

Cleanliness was spotty; there was gum stuck to the wall behind the nightstand (ick).

Hair in the tub upon arrival and the cleaning wasn't exactly top of the line (they never did remove the gum)

Internet was $12.95 for 24 hours and during peak times, it was EXCRUCIATINGLY slow. Sadly, I was stuck using it as my MiFi (Verizon) had terrible connectivity.

Room service had decent service, but was pricey. Think $25 with fees and tip for a decent breakfast. The nearby restaurants or even the Starbucks in the lobby is cheaper.

Gift/sundry shop was well stocked and not horribly pricey. Go to the little bodega in the Gaslamp across the street from the Hilton Gaslamp. They have EVERYTHING as really good prices.

Staff was nice; bellman and valets are extremely accommodating.

Would I stay there again? No. There are better, more intimate hotel choices with better on site services and lower prices in better locations. It gets fours stars, but it's not for me.

Room Tip: If you can get a water view with a balcony, good for you! We didn't have one but we heard those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room on the 20th floor. The view of the San Diego harbor was wonderful. This hotel is a short walk to the Gaslamp district and the San Diego Harbor Walk. Marina Kitchen has good food and service and they have a Starbucks which opens early. The pool area was beautiful and has lots of outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the sun or the evening. All the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good place to stay in San Diego.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,219 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,436 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing