We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for a "Staycation"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #39 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place for a "Staycation"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there with my husband and 2 kids for a business trip. The pool area was great for the kids. Heated pool, lots of lovely tropical plants. If the kids were younger I may have been able to convince them we were in Hawaii! It would be a great place for So. Cal. residents to go for a quick weekend getaway. The staff was super friendly and efficient. Both of our bellman had worked there for over 25 yrs. and loved their jobs. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. I was very happy with the cleanliness of the shower as well. Looked like all new tile and a nice new shower curtain. Decent water pressure as well. One little issue...the pool area was not kept up as far as empty drink cups and food trays. There were at least 10 empty mojito glasses rolling around...mint and all. And, there were several nacho trays that lingered for well over 2 hours. I finally went up to the bar and told them the cups were about to blow into the pool. Had upper management walked by with all the empty cups around someone would have been in trouble!! Also, the bar gets a little crazy at night with all the traveling business people. Didn't bother us, but thought I would mention it.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower without the balconies have better views. The higher the floor the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMM043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    1,130
    313
    119
    79
See reviews for
586
639
105
1,468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a large busy hotel. We stayed here 4 nights in late March. We drove from Phoenix and had no problem navigating downtown to the hotel. The front driveway, check-in and self parking all made for an easy arrival. The room was nice, clean and spacious; typical for a Marriott as were the friendly employees. There is a Ralph's grocery store within walking distance, so we stocked up on snacks and breakfast items (the hotel food/restaurants are expensive!). But beware: the room's refrigerator is the type that only keeps items cool, not cold. There is a disclaimer on its door to not store medicine, etc. So we avoided any foods that could spoil easily in that environment. Unlike Arizona pools, the pool area was green and tropical; there were even lawn chairs on grass! The pool was lively while we were there: families on spring break, etc. and the pool bar was great-- OK for Happy Hour, but good people watching. The location of this hotel can't be beat. You can walk to the Gaslamp District for good eats and fun nightlife. There are so many bars and restaurants in the Gaslamp, it will boggle the mind! And you are at the marina with walking paths in all directions for leisurely strolls. Another perk is the water taxi: Marriott runs a small boat across the bay to the Coronado Marriott dock. Its is $6 per person and takes 7 minutes to go across the bay. We hopped on and charged to our room, rented bikes on Coronado for the day, then returned via water taxi-- super convenient! Every morning we went down to Starbuck's on the first floor, then sat around with everyone else to use the free WiFi (we avoided the extra charge for Internet in the room). All in all it was a great stay-- we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Although we were above the train tracks, the noise did not bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here in march for 2 days with my husband . Beautiful hotel . Rooms were very comfy clean and modern with great views . Location
Is perfect with the gas lamp quarter steps away with nightlife and shopping . Great outside bar with fires . Only negative we were shocked to pay 55 dollars for the buffet breakfast in the hotel ! !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prendep2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful time, great hotel - the rooms are large and public areas spacious, clean and attractive.The staff are attentive and keen to help and always smiling. Excellent value and well worth staying here.

The pool area is a particular highlight - it is large with plenty of space for sunbathing.

Veldig bra. Sentralt og lyst beliggende! Lekkert hotell og fine, ganske store moderne rom! Anbefales!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haddajoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had an event at the San Diego Marriott Marquis and its location and staff were both excellent. Often this hotel is super busy with meetings due to its generous meeting room space so the lobby and bar are packed quite a bit. The rooms were nice - both times I stayed there I was facing the bay -- I would recommend asking for bay side rooms. The Mexican poolside cafe is quite nice. The room service menu was a little blah. The hotel itself is well taken care of and really close to the gas lamp district. Also a great location for anyone going to the convention centre. Not sure this is where I would stay for personal travel but absolutely great for work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a convention in early April. The hotel was beautiful from the lobby to the pool area to the room. I had a really nice room on the 24th floor with partial views of downtown and the marina from the balcony. Room service was good and the food was as well. I was a few steps from business at the convention center and a few blocks away from fun all around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikofTime76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here because I had a conference... thought it would be good value. Bar drinks so overpriced, Dinner was overpriced and we had a room with 2 queen beds, well they were supposed to be queen. so very small. Probably should have asked for a king room, Very overpriced, but then it was on the water and close to the city to walk. $28 a day for parking on top of $279.00 a room was very expensive and then the internet was very poor.. Extremely poor. On our return to San Diego we won't be staying here. So many other choices to select from that would be less expensive and still close to the harbour and Gaslamp district

Room Tip: Unless you have an unlimited budget, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanine S, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we value the opinions of our guests! We apoligize that you felt that you did not receive a good value in the amount paid at our property, and had trouble with the internet. We would like to speak to your personally so we try to arrange another future stay. Please contact our Director of Sales & Marketing for future assistance Jan.Hulahan@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#65 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,049 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,263 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing