We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean-Front Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Front desk service was friendly and helpful at check-in. I was given a king room, as promised, and had a gorgeous view of the bay and pool area. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a spacious shower and a mini fridge was provided.

I would have enjoyed bottled water in my room at check-in. I was thirsty from travel and I don't care for tap water. I also would have liked a daily newspaper (weekdays at least) at my door, but I had to hunt one down from the gift shop.

The pool area is fantastic! Fire pits and large chairs are situated around the bar area and plenty of seating was available around the pool and hot tub areas. Waterfalls and palm trees finish off the lovely outdoor space.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamburger_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,926)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,665 - 2,671 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

First, the negatives, and they are minor.The only complaint I could have about this hotel is the charge for internet access. I think it's about time for hotels to just include it, as they do a phone. Charging $13 for 24 hours of slow internet is like charging extra for showers.
I also should point out that if you're using Firefox on your laptop, the redirect that forces you to log in is possibly going to cause your default home page to get blocked. That's really annoying, but it happens in some hotels. If it does happen to you, go into advanced settings and check the "no proxy" option to restore your homepage.
That said, all other things you normally want in a good hotel room are here. The rooms are quiet, the beds are comfy, the view is awesome, and the staff is helpful, efficient, and cheerful.

The location is the best thing, though. A short stroll out the lobby front door, bearing right, will take you to the gas lamp district, where you have an endless choice of great food and entertainment. Or go out the back to the pool area and out the gate, and you're on the walkway to several beautiful park areas, and a village of shops, restaurants and street people - the latter being the non-annoying kind, including artists, performers and of course, phony psychics.

The wife and I had been told to be sure and have fish tacos at least once, and it was good advice. These are now tied for first place for the best fish tacos I've ever had - and I've had some good ones. I guess the best thing about this area is that you can't go wrong with the food - everything is clean and prepared perfectly.

I expected to have to deal with a constant presence of homeless spare change artists, as in any tourist area, but they're well controlled here. I did meet one lady who directly solicited, but the arrangement seems to be that they have one appointed guy (clean and in uniform) politely collecting for the homeless at an intersection. Graffiti is controlled, there are restrooms at most strategic locations which are kept clean and functional. That's not insignificant, Bucky, because most cities give up on that because of the expense.

I enjoyed my stay, and spent a lot of time strolling by the bay and eating my way across the village. On the one cold day, I stayed in the room just enjoying the magnificent view from the 22nd floor. I'd love to go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hold-the-Elevator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really enjoy this property! I stay at a lot of Marriott Hotels as well as many other brands - yes, travel a ton for work. The location of this property, the comfort, the views and especially the people make it one of my favorites. Stayed here last week and really was invigorated every morning to wake up facing a beautiful harbor - this view is really incredible! Give it a try if ever in SoCal

Room Tip: Water view....do it
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Marriott goes all out for their visitors. The room was beautiful, clean, up to date, and spacious. The Beds were extremely comfortable and the view from the 8th floor balcony was superb. The staff were helpful & friendly and the Marina Kitchen buffet was yummy and elaborate. Love Love Loved the fire pits out by the pool. Made the cool San Diego nights even more delightful. Look forward to another visit at the Marriott.

Room Tip: North tower has the balconies.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLuv2Trvl511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stay started with excellent staff at check-in. Room with a view of the water was perfect. Everything is modern and extremely neat and clean. Didn't eat in restaurant but if the concierge is any indication, it must also be excellent. On the water and across the street from the Gas Light District.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbinsjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travel to San Diego at least twice a year and THIS is the place to stay. I have traveled with and without kids and it is great for both. It is a huge hotel and personally I enjoy the hustle and bustle of it. It has a resort feel when you are out relaxing at the pool. I love it because I feel like I am on a cruise with the servers coming up to my lounge chair to take my order :) There are also kids' activities all throughout the day. The rooms were remodeled/redecorated a few years ago and they all look very nice and are spacious. It is right next to Seaport Village which has fun shops and restaurants. If that is not your "thing" the Gaslamp Quarter starts right across the street, which has more stores, hotels, dining, and nightlife. The only cons would be the price of parking each night and the breakfast buffet that didn't have enough choices. Other than that, book your room now!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monchichi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week. Very quick check in even with a long line. Room was very clean and everything functional without issue. Higher floor got good views of the marina or city. If you are attending a conference on site, make sure you ask whether the conference is hosted in the North Tower or South Tower, then request a room in the same tower. That save you quite a bit of walking each day, particularly if you want to take a short break and go back to your room. (In my case, I literally walked from the exibit hall to the guess room elevator in 50 steps. Nice!) There is a nice and large swimming pool area for folks to hang out. Roy's is just across the pool if you love their famous chocolate lava cake. There are also many restaurant in the downtown area within 5 minutes of walking distance if you like to explore. Also you can enjoy a very nice walk with your family in the marina area.

Because I got the conference discount room price, it was a great bargain for staying there. The only thing I dislike is that "down" comforter!? Got so hot and woke up several times at night. Why do hotels management think that customers would like this?

Room Tip: High floor facing the marina gets you good view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memedutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $210 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing